We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor entertainment, awful food, good pool area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Las Piramides to your Saves list
Las Piramides
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Americas S/N,, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor entertainment, awful food, good pool area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Me an my husband went here for our honeymoon (last min booking)
When we arrived we was put into a room which was unbelievable noisy, people banging on the door all night. Screaming and shouting. The next day we asked to be moved as was to a much quite room. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool however no chairs or tables for the evening to sit out. The food was very repetitive and not of a good standard paella most nights, but they do have a good salad variety! Entertainment is poor. I would say if your young and are wanting to party this is the hotel for you, if you would like a quieter and mores sophisticated holiday dont!

Room Tip: Facing the baby pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    468
    448
    193
    269
See reviews for
321
569
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First time to Tenerife. Weather was amazing while we were there and the local area was great. The hotel however was poor. Advertised check in was 2pm. we arrived at 1pm and where instructed we couldn't check in, which is totally fair enough so we went and had lunch and returned about an hour and a half later only to find out our room still wasn't ready, which usually wouldn't be a major issue however when you have got up at 2am and travelled nearly 6 hours to get somewhere things seem a lot worse then they really are. Bad start. We woke up the next day and wanted put the bad check in behind us. Breakfast (as all meals) was really good, Lovely choices and plentiful. Lunch and Dinner where the same, we liked the choices and we didn't eat out once while we were away as we felt the food quality was really nice. Cant fault that! The room was basic (as expected) too hot (as feared) and the beds were terrible. We felt as if we were on camp beds, I would have had better nights sleeping on a washing line. The people that the hotel attracted unfortunately were not always brilliant there was plenty of fights and shouting in the middle of the night (not really the hotels fault) but it didn't help that when we finally did sleep in the camp style beds we were constantly woken. Finding a cockroach on the floor outside our room wasn't ideal either really! Generally the staff were miserable and unhelpful (bar a few lovely ones). The drinks were seriously watered down, you need to drink about 300 in order to feel any effect of alcohol so we spend a large amount of time at local bars an pubs, not just down to the weak drinks but also the fact that you had to sit on the floor round the pool at night as they only provided 10 tables with chairs. Also maybe I am an alien but I have NEVER paid to go all inclusive (or any other board) and had to pay for not only WIFI but to watch TV! PAH! Overall I understand if you pay less you cant expect the Ritz, however the bare basics were missing and the staff were not good. So actually we were quite glad to go home!

Room Tip: none of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I went here 9-16th of september, website recommended it as a family hotel, 800m from the beach with aircon and entertainment. The hotel itself wasn't too bad apart from the rude staff and NO entertainment! Not good for a family with a two year old! There wasn't any noise from Veronicas Strip thankfully, as there was no aircon we usually slept with the balcony open. The pool area is lovely, and the best thing about this holiday was the cleaners! Playa de las americas was a lovely place and if i was going on a holiday with my friends this hotel would have been great but for a young family i definitely would advise you to stop elsewhere. We stayed all inclusive and couldn't fault the food and the amount of choice, all in all i think it's good value for money but its unsuitable for a family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Firstly have to say that this hotel was not my first choice in Tenerife - The holiday company that we booked with changed our accommodation at the last minute due to overbooking at our chosen aparthotel and re-located us to Las Piramides - My initial reaction was pretty negative as I'd read some poor reviews, but on arrival at the hotel, I can honestly say I was very pleased. The staff were welcoming and accommodating, our 2 bedroom apartment was clean and modern, and the roof terrace was perfect for our group of 4 adults.
We were all inclusive and enjoyed all meals - There was a very good choice of meals and a good variation each day. The pool bar area, although small, had quick and efficient staff, all of whom were extremely friendly. The rule of 2 drinks per person is a great idea as this stops the queues from getting too backed up with people ordering too many drinks at a time...
Las Piramides is in a great location, close to all the bars and restaurants, but not too close to be troubled by lots of noise. Also, a short walk to the beach.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Thanks very much to all at Las Piramides resort
Nicola x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited Las Piramides for a week all inclusive in mid September, just me and my boyfriend. (19 & 20 years old) Before heading on holiday we were a but skeptical about this hotel but its perfectly fine. We have no major negatives about the hotel... The rooms are spacious and our room looked onto reception so we had to close our curtains when getting changed. Our room was clean other than a little bit of mould on our curtain which isn't going to kill us!!! They are cleaned every single day with mew towels too. For all inclusive you are well looked after. You are fed well and very often! there is a variety of food, catered for vegetarians and children. The pools area is lovely. We spent most of our time around the main pool and we didn't have to queue for beds at all!!some days we didn't get down there till 11am and got 2 beds straight away! Location is absolutely perfect. 2 mins from the beach and the strip. The strip is very english orientated and there are many english restaurants & pubs. Please do not listen to any negative reviews. If your looking for an enjoyable hotel that is situated close to everything with a clean bed. Then this is perfect. People are way too picky. After all this is only a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First and foremost, this part of Tenerife is more suited to younger groups of friends than families with young children. I went to fuerteventura last year and for the same money you get a lot more / a nicer hotel and all inclusive etc.
Playa de las Americas is all about the nightlife - and this hotel caters for that. You are a few minutes walk from the strip of bars and a basic beach. A slighter longer walk (~10mins) is a nicer beach and more up market restaurants / bars etc.
Location is great for this.
The room is basic, no air conditioning - but we stayed middle September and sleeping with the balcony door open and keeping the curtains drawn in the daytime (2nd floor) made it cool enough to sleep etc. I saw some people get fans from reception but we didn't need it. The shower was powerful, and the room / bathroom was big and clean. The notice said they cleaned the room every day, changed the bedding and towels once a week - but oddly we found they changed the towels everyday but only cleaned and made the beds every other day. No bother as I prefer clean towels to a made bed.
The room had a fridge, kitchen sink, and mini hob although we were all inclusive so only used the fridge for water and chocolate :).
The TV is pay as you go with a coin slot - 50cents per half hour. Some English channels available.
We had all inclusive, which was fine. Again fairly basic but to be fair you can't expect too much for such a cheap package deal!

The breakfast buffet:
Fruit table
Cooked breakfast selection (baked beans, sausages, bacon, eggs fried, hard boiled or scrambled, cooked tomatoes etc.)
Other cooked items like pancakes and spanish omelette
Tea / coffee / juices
Cereals
Pastries
Breads and a toaster

Pool bar snacks: Only thing which was a bit disappointing, but if you get up too late for breakfast that's the price you pay until lunchtime :)!
Dried up ham and cheese sandwiches under a heat lamp
cheese & tom pizza slices (were ok)
dried up looking hot dogs, buns, onions

All inclusive drinks:
All day long (until 11pm) you can have any local alcoholic drink (wine, beer, spirits) and soft drinks
Also do all inclusive mini pots of strawberry, vanilla, or chocolate ice cream

Lunchtime and dinner time (very similar):
fruit table
Salad bar (sweet corn, onion, lettuce, cucumber...a bit dried up but dig to the bottom, chopped tomatoes, olives etc.)
Mixed salad bar (coleslaws, and pre mixed salads, fresh avocados and mangoes to take and prepare yourself)
Cheeses and hams
Pasta and selection of 2 sauces (at least one always vegetarian)
chips or cooked potatoes
Huge paella thing to help self to
"nice" cooked meats - fish in sauce, chicken / turkey / beef portions sometimes plain other times in sauce
"processed" meats - fish fingers, chicken nuggets, battered squid rings
Bread station, fresh baguettes and butter
2 soups to choose from (at least one always vegetarian)
desert table - ice cream, cakes, fruit salads

I found the staff all very helpful and nice, especially the reps in the hotel reception - we shopped around the attractions etc. and everywhere gives the same price
Also there's a little supermarket inside the hotel which again is fairly priced and not trying to rip you off (although bottled water is slightly dearer than local supermarkets ...supermarkets NOT corner shops note! But it's worth it for a small lug back to the room)

In the reception there are pay as you go internet computers if you want to access emails / facebook etc.

The whole place does end up cluttered with used paper cups from the all inclusive as other guests tend to just leave them lying around in the evening time and not put them in a bin - but by the next morning it is always cleared away.

The pool is ok. Much smaller than the pictures, but to be fair this isn't really a family hotel so it's alright for adults only. I think children would be bored here.

Other than the hotel:
Definitely recommend doing the catamaran cruise to see the whales and dolphins (be warned though the "all you can eat paella, rice, salads, bread etc." is not all you can eat or that varied. It is a tiny portion of chicken paella, 1 piece of chopped tomato and raw onion, and a tiny piece of stale bread. This was not good for me as a vegetarian but I've had this happen on boat trips before so took a cheese roll with me which I made from the breakfast buffet. Also you can buy ice creams on board. The all you can drink bar however is true!!! Plenty of beer wine and sangria and soft drinks which was wonderful. The dolphins were amazing and made it worth it, and we had a little conga line and dance off to the music on the way back to port.

Massively recommend Siam Park (better than aqualand which we drove past and paled in comparison just by looking at it.) The adult flumes are AMAZING. Big wave machine to rival Florida's typhoon lagoon. AMAZING kids water park area with lots to do. Gentle doughnut ring rides for the fainter hearted. On site restaurants are a bit pricier than the rest of Playas de las Americas so take home made / supermarket bought if you are on a budget. Free bus there and back to lots of points around town.

If you go - have a fab holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

a year on and just returned from another great holiday. must admit that our original room was situated right above the main entrance and we heard every coach and taxi pull up to drop off and collect so didn't get much sleep the first night. we expected to have to cause a fuss to move rooms, but a simple request was dealt with by mid-day and the room we were moved to was by far the best we've seen in the hotel in three visits. the location of the hotel is perfect for those who fancy a night out. 800mtrs from veronicas strip and 800mtrs from the gaelic corner and lots of smaller quieter bars

Room Tip: always ask for rooms in a quiet part of the hotel, but its always pot luck who's around you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Address: Avenida Americas S/N,, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Piramides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.