We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undesirable clientele” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Las Piramides to your Saves list
Las Piramides
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Americas S/N,, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Undesirable clientele”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked a week all-inclusive here and have recently returned. I can honestly say it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and not worthy of a 3 star status. If you are a couple or a family, this is not the hotel for you as it is largely occupied by stag and hen parties and rowdiness is the general theme. We were awoken every night by other guests running up and down the corridors, shouting and slamming doors. Music blared from rooms with doors wide open in the evenings and guests were happily spitting from their balconies and wolf-whistling at passers-by whilst we were trying to enjoy a quiet drink on our balcony. We found no common decency from several other guests, notably on several occasions when we left our sunbeds to go for lunch to find our
towels thrown aside and our sunbeds now occupied by other people. One afternoon we witnessed a young girl being led away from the hotel by the police- hardly the scene of a respectable family hotel. The all inclusive was a waste of money as the food was poor and tasted of nothing. The drinks were watered down, therefore we ended up eating out towards the end of the week just to enjoy some decent food and alcohol. The soup was cold and there was little selection of food overall. We found some of the cutlery and crockery was dirty also. The entertainment was non- existent unless you like to see the odd parrot and play bingo in a tiny, stuffy room with no air-con. A lot of people had to sit in the pool area on sunbeds in the evening due to lack of space and chairs. There was only one bar open in the evenings with two bar staff (if you were lucky) which made queuing a large part of our evenings. The poolside had no lifeguard on duty from what we saw, this is a hotel with 4 pools. Although the bed linen and towels
were changed regularly we don't think our room was ever cleaned during our stay as dirt built up on the floor and the furniture was caked in dust. We also found a lizard in our room one evening, which I can happily say was sorted out straightaway by the staff. The general cleanliness of the hotel was poor, the outside dining area was littered with cigarette butts, the poolside area was dirty and the sunbeds black with dirt. One occasion my partner visited the poolside toilet to be greeted with faeces up the tiles. I have visited Playa de las Americas on a number of occasions over the years and found it to be a nice holiday destination in the past, however the resort seems to have gone to the dogs and become rundown.The walkways are filthy, littered with used condoms and animal excrement. If you go out in the evenings be prepared to be harrassed by a never-ending procession of street vendors, restauranteurs and excursion salespeople. All of this contributed to the worst holiday we have ever had and we will never be
returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    468
    448
    193
    269
See reviews for
321
569
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have visited Tenerife around fifty times and stayed in various hotels within different price ranges. Las Piramides is very good value for money. The food was excellent and fresh at every meal time. The drinks were readily available and served by friendly staff. In fact all of the staff made us feel very welcome and we are looking forward to returning to the hotel with our family this August :-)

Room Tip: Rooms in the appartment block are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stay here for a week with my girlfriend.. we took the all inclusive package.. food was great, the drinks were great.. staff are very friendly and helpful.. rooms are clean and well presented.. Location of hotel is perfect.. just off the main strip which means its quiet at night but its close enough to walk every night.. 5 minute stroll from the beach also.. havent a bad word to say about this hotel and would defs stay here again :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.. handy in the morning when you want to see if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Before arriving to the hotel I was kinda worried after reading the reviews, as some of them was really bad! However there is nothing to worry about, staff are so friendly, pool area was great more than enough sun loungers, food was lovely we went all inclusive and couldn't complain, rooms are quite big and very clean and the location is brilliant, very close to main strip.

For the people who was complaining they must of been to picky because I can't complain. Would definitely return to the hotel, had a a brilliant stay and amazing holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I fly out 13th of june to this hotel and just neeed a few questions answered?

are there hair dryers in the apartments?
how far away are the veronicas from this hotel?
is there a shop for food stuff at the hotel?

thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The first night we stayed here it was VERY noisy. It was also noisy the 2nd night. It got to a point were we felt if you can't beat em' join em!!
This isn't a family hotel. I'm not even sure it's a couples hotel. It's a hotel for clobbers and groups of fun loving younger people. We were a group of 8 so it fitted our needs. The rooms were fine- but the pool area got a bit grubby. If I were writing a report I think it would say "could do better"

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and were a wee bit disappointed. On arrival there were people drinking and playing cards in the lobby. We thought they were waiting to go home but it was a regular thing each night. The room was very clean but a little dated and as we were half board we didn't expect a kitchenette. The food was average and nothing special and on our first night, we couldn't buy a drink at the bar cos there was no till and only catered for the all inclusive guests. So if you want a drink with your dinner, take your own with you. The staff were very, very nice and helpful and spoke perfect English. At night there was quite a lot of noise in the hotel but you have to expect that on holiday. We still had a good time but the next time I think we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Address: Avenida Americas S/N,, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Piramides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.