We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for siam park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Oro Negro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Oro Negro to your Saves list
Catalonia Oro Negro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent base for siam park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel in conjunction with a pass for siam water park for my children age 12 and 14. The free bus was a few minutes walk away or walking took 15 mins. We asked to change from our room overlooking the pool for a room on a higher floor with a sea view which we loved - the hotel were very helpful in arranging this for us. The staff were lovely, friendly and polite and we very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and dinner.

It took me a few minutes to understand that we could only have drinks with dinner if we paid separately. ..instead we had drinks in our room before and after dinner, (my travel kettle came in handy) we noticed other guests doing the same ..overall I would have preferred less choice in the buffet and availability of drinks with the meal even if it's only water/juice etc

Overall excellent value and pleased we came here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear adcj,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us in Trip Advisor.
Your comments are very useful

We take note of what you said about less choice in the buffet and availability of drinks with the meal even if it's only water/juice.

We are happy you enjoy your holidays with us and hope to see you soon

Your sincerly,

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    400
    175
    36
    20
See reviews for
166
500
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Myself and my partner (both 30) stayed at the hotel last week. On arrival we found the room very clean and spacious. However our balcony faced on to the main road which is very loud and busy! Although when we seen it in daylight there was a nice view of the golf course. The balcony doesnt get much sun. We also realised there was no fridge in the room. Previously whatever hotel we stayed in has always had one so we were suprised by this. Not good to have warm water when you wake in the morning! We werent willing to pay for one either.
The pool area is nice. Difficult to get a bed at the pool but plenty of others on the upper section. We didnt have a problem with this.
The bar does not have a great selection of drinks. Not a great variety of beer or breezers etc.
Wifi is not good! We could only get in hotel reception or very weak signal in the pool. Not ideal! This meant we spent a lot more time in cafes etc outwith the hotel that had this service.
The resort its self is nice. Left and down the hill takes you to beack and lively strip. However we found the area next to hard rock cafe/fountains etc alot more pleasant. Great restaraunts there including Bianco!
Overall we had a nice stay at this hotel and for the price we paid and found it good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Kocon10,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us in Trip Advisor. it help us a lot to improve our service

I'm happy to tell you that we will have WIFI in our rooms from November. After reading your comments we though was important to update the wifi signal.

About the fridge in the room, we have Premium rooms with little fridge and other facilities more just for 20 euors more a day.

Thanks for choosing us and hope you come back soon

Best regards,

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned home from an enjoyable 2 week stay at the Oro Negro (Aug 1st -15th)
We arrived after 11pm so it was dark and the Thomson transfer bus dropped us off opposite the hotel in car park so we had to cross a very busy road to get to reception as there is no where else for buses to stop even the taxis get beeped for stopping outside.

Check in was quick and we were given room 356 a family room on the second floor facing the pool free aircon with a 20 euro refundable deposit for the control.
Safe hire £18 euro per week with a 10 euro refundable deposit was also reasonable.
We were informed we had missed dinner and nothing had been kept for us no water or even a sandwich which I thought was a little poor so I made them transfer the meal we had missed to our check out day so we would have lunch before our 18:50 transfer pick up.

We were half board and found the food quite good with chicken,pork,beef,steak,burgers and fish on offer throughout our stay we always managed to find something we liked and that's unusual as me and my daughter are fussy eaters.
I would say that the kids food selection is almost non existant compared to other hotels we have stayed in but with my daughter being 12 we managed ok.

Breakfast 7:00 -10:00
Lunch 12:30-15:00
Dinner 18:30-22:00

No dress code enforced and we didn't have to wait for a table once over the two weeks we were there which was good so didn't have to rush or have a strict mealtime timetable.

Great pool area with plenty of sunbeds which remain locked up until 10:00am so no dawn towel runs required (great idea)
The lifeguard is very strict so no diving or balls are allowed in the pool but rings and airbeds are fine,the brown tiles around the pool can be very slippery when wet so be don't let your children run by the pool!!!
There is also a quiet area for sunbathing just up from the pool area with lots of beds and a pool and table tennis table.
As there we three of us me my wife and daughter we found the family room big enough with two bedrooms (4beds) and two showers my only gripe was the balcony because the aircon unit was smack bang in the middle of it and it was leaking leaving a white stain on the floor and it was very hot and noisy adding to the fact you cant actually see the pool from room 356 due to the roof of the dining room stretching out in front so we didn't use the balcony except for drying our towels and swim wear which was disappointing.

The entertainment team worked very hard and over the two weeks the hotel had a few good professional acts for the guests
Special thanks to Remo and Diego for making the days around the pool and evenings fun with games and banter which the three of us really enjoyed I hope the management of the hotel realise how important you are and shorten your daily hours a little as they are far too long!

After reading some of the negative reviews about the Oro Negro I find it hard to believe what there is to complain about because it does what it says on the tin its a very good "3STAR" hotel not a 4 or 5 so you cant expect it to be!! Also some of the positive reviews are a little over the top in regards to the food and rooms being excellent in my opinion they are 3star good no more.

Would I stay at this hotel again ? the answer is yes for the right price because its just far enough away from the nightlife and noise but with walking distance if you want to venture out with decent food and good sleep quality beds so if your a couple or family id say go for it and enjoy.

Ps if you are travelling with Thomson don't expect a rep on the transfer bus either way (poor service)

Room Tip: High room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it

We are happy you enjoy your family holiday with us.

We hope to see you soon in CATALONIA ORONEGRO

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed in room 558 in June we are returning on 31st August how do we request same room ? The room was excellent on the 5th floor over looking the pool. Also can you tell me how to upgrade to a superior room Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Glen B,
You can contact us calling to 0034922790612 or sending an email to: orone-gro.reservas@hoteles-catalonia.es, requesting your upgrade to Premium Room or sending your Special request. If you book in this momento an upgrade to Premium Room you get:
Renovated Room
High Floor
Swimming Pool view and/or Sea View.
Tea and coffee-making facilities
Bathrobe and slippers
Extra Pillows
Bottle of water and chocolates
Free Electronic safe deposit box
Do not hesitate in contact us for any doubt

Best regards

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have recently returned from a week's stay at the Oro Negro (July 14). The hotel is excellent value for money. We had a family room which is basically two twin rooms stuck together on the 2nd floor. Each room had a bathroom which was great with two teenagers! The food was very good, breakfast included full English, loads of choice. There was also a great selection at dinner, different meats/fish grilled as you wait every night, you were spoilt for choice. You could change a dinner to a lunch (you have to give reception a days notice) if you wanted to go out for a meal in the evening instead. There are plenty of sun beds, although if you want one with good wi-fi get one by the pool. You can get free wi-fi in the lobby (that's where my teenage kids spent most of the holiday - as you know they cannot survive without wi-fi!) Evening entertainment was a bit limited. There was plenty of day-time activities to keep the kids busy e.g water polo, table tennis, crazy golf. The entertainment staff at the hotel were great. One of the best features was the kids pool is separate from the main pool (round the back of the hotel) so you don't have to listen to little kids bawling the place down! The only suggestion I have for improvement is to have a fridge in the room, we got used to drinking warm drinks for most of the holiday. I understand why they don't put them in rooms (half board ones) because they want you to drink in the hotel bar, but if there was one in the room I would have rated the hotel 5/5. The only downside is the area. Las Americas is grubby and needs a good clean. It's very nice down by the beach but on the way to the beach you do need to dodge vomit from the night before - disgusting! We spent the majority of our evening in Los Christianos, about 15 minutes walk down the road from the hotel, a lot cleaner and has more of a family feel to it. We will definitely return to the Oro Negro, a great place to relax with a mixture of families and couples.

Room Tip: We had a family room on the 2nd floor and the balcony overlooked the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Jeanmarie1971,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us in Trip Advisor. Your comments help us to improve our service.

I agree with you about how good would be a little fridge in each room, however this hotel is still a 3 stars hotel ( even if it looks better than a 3 stars hotel). We don't have the same facilities as a 4 stars hotel. Neither the same prices.

Having said this, I recomend you for the next time to book one of our Premium rooms that has little fridge and you will be even more confortable during your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.
Your sincerly

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Oro Negro hotel. This hotel is great value for money, after reading some of the reviews I was a little worried but there is nothing to be worried about. We were on the 8th floor looking onto the pool, the room was modern and spacious and was kept clean. The food at this hotel you can not fault, every night there was always something for everyone and even better you can watch fresh meats/fish being cooked infront of you to order.
The hotel is situated in a really good location, only a short 10 minute walk to the shops and bars. There was never a mad rush for sunbeds in the morning, never struggled to find a few.

The only downside's about the hotel was our room only had 1 plug which was in the bathroom, which wasn't ideal. Also there was no fridge which really wasn't great.

Overall I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Samlet-1993,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions give us support to continue improving our services and help us very much.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your 2 week stay at our hotel and you think this is a nice hotel in a good location.
We are working now to add more plugs to our rooms so I hope that in your next visit you will find it better.
At the moment we just include the free fridge in our Premium rooms but we give the option of rent a frindge per 30 € per week for all our guests.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel, thank you very much for your nice words

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just be aware all rooms are not good.we emailed just before we went asking for a top floor room if possible,when we arrived for our 2 week stay in July we were given room 114 on the bottom floor on the corner of building,this room was very grubby with a double bed single wardrobe tiny bathroom and totally depressing could only fit my husbands clothes in there mine had to be folded on the shelf's.we asked for a room change and told we had to go on a list so we spoke to Thomsons rep who got the room changed next day (thankyou Jen).we were moved to 556 which was a lovely room,so please be aware some rooms on bottom floor are not nice.everything after that very good.

Room Tip: No bottom floors ,pool view best
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Oro Negro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.