We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Oro Negro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Oro Negro to your Saves list
Catalonia Oro Negro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at Oro Negro for 10 nights and had a great stay. Our room was in a quiet part of the hotel, opposite the Oro Blanco apartments. Rooms were cleaned daily with daily towel changes. The good was great - so much choice I cant believe they can make any profit - with a huge choice of hot and cold food, plus lots of vegetables, chef cooks a meat and fish dish, plus carved meat. I cant believe that people have commented previously about lack of choice but hey some people expect The Ritz for little money. Bar prices are very good with great service too in particular from Paula who is an asset to the hotel with a friendly and helpful personality and very hardworking. The pool are is large with many sunbeds and it was funny to watch the OAP's queuing up for their beds for the same spots each day! Guests were friendly with a high percentage of repeat bookers from the UK.
Outside the hotel turn right and walk for 10-15 minutes to come to Parque de la Paz area which is strip of bars (plus nice Chinese) with live shows every night. It is just and a few minutes walk further on to the beaches of Los Cristianos. The famous Veronicas and The Patch are about 10 minutes walk as is the main beach so the location is great. The few negatives, which are minor, were lack of electric sockets in the bedroom and the chefs don't cook the sausages enough (pointed out several times but to no avail) but those are the only improvements I can suggest to be made but overall we would return and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oro Negro.

Room Tip: pool view is quieter or side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear marmarisestateagent ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you enoyed our services and you think this is great value for money.
We take note of your comments, and about lack of lockets, we are working in it to get improvement.
Thank you very much for your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    401
    175
    36
    20
See reviews for
166
501
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-sea. Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Recently returned from a holiday at this Hotel, and can't wait to go back. It's a very good 3* Hotel, and you can't fault the food. Yes sometimes the chips cold have been a little hotter, but continental food is often luke warm, but overall the food was of a very high standard. There was a very good selection of either hot or cold food both morning and evening. The comment of NO table cloths is true, but there were runners, which were. adequate. Yes, you had to pay for water, but you do at most Hotels. Although a lot of the staff could only speak a little English I found virtually all the staff very friendly. My wife fell over in the bath, and I asked if a hand grip could be fitted to the wall, and this was done. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, this should ensure you get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Duffer65 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services. It is nice to read that in general you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I sorry your wife fell, but I stay happy that we gave you solution to your request
Thank you very much for your feedback
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week in early Sept. It was a lot better than we expected. The rooms were clean and to a good standard. We went half board and the food was to a good standard. Not much variety but enough. The location of the hotel was brilliant. It was only a ten minute walk from the nightlife but enough of a distance away to be able to get a good night sleep. Only major issue for us was the heat in the rooms but with the glorious weather that couldn't be helped.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Allie B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think our hotel is really good for the Price, because this is one of our principal aims.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

just back from 7 days in hotel oro negro.was what we expected from a 3 star hotel.food was good . room was ok and cleaned regularly. my wife sayed the bed was hard but i found it ok.lovely pool area although the water was cold.hotel is across the road from the golf course and is about a ten minute walk from the beach but is in a good area away from the biz but beware of the ''ladies of the night'' offering you special services.is handy for plenty of entertainment.overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear robert g ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you enoyed your stay and you got what you expected.
Thank you very much for your feedback

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We are returning to your hotel for the third time on Xmas eve. As the weather turns cold in scotland we are looking forward to the usual warm welcome we get at your hotel. Your hogmany banquet is fantastic and Iam a fussy eater, but look forward to going into your restuarant. By far the best 3* hotel we have stayed in. See you soon. Dougie & Mags, East Kilbride Scotland.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear weeblue1,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue working and it is nice to read that you think this is the best 3* you have stayed in.
We are waiting to welcome you again this xmas!
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here Aug 2013, family of 4 (teenage boy 13 and girl 15). We had a brilliant room, which was actually 2 separate rooms. One with a full bathroom and the other with an en-suite. Not much of a view from our balcony but quite private. Couldn't fault the food, we stayed half board and we all always found something we liked. Staff in the restaurant were ok, but not overly friendly, apart from the lovely lady who escorted us to the table each night. The entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The Team were lovely and always tried to please but I think they were working with limited resources. The Portugese ( I think) lady was a gem, and we joined in with the games , to help things along. Not much happening for the kids but they coped for a week
(free wifi in reception helped). It was pretty quiet (even though it was mid August) and we always managed to get a sunbed- it's a really good set up, with the beds locked up until 10am to avoid sunbed hogs. We would return to this hotel as there really wasn't anything to find fault with. However, if you are looking for somewhere that caters mainly for the British families,in terms of kids clubs and entertainment, you might want to look elsewhere as this hotel has a more continental client base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear 2JAGS5,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services. It is nice to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our family rooms. We take note of your comments to get improvement.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After a first visit in March 2013 we decided to return despite the 'Sunbed mayhem' from back then. The situation had improved, we got beds every day more or less where we wanted them and a brolly but as people wise up they were down before 9.00 am waiting for them to be unlocked. The food was as good as ever. Hadn't changed significantly, mostly hot but there is a microwave that's easy to work which helps if you want it hotter. Custard is there most days but no pudding, shame. The wine was still 5.50 euro's a bottle really cheap. The entertainment was good some nights. A magician, some African dancers and a music quiz show. The team try their hardest. We didn't have flat screen tv as per a previous review nor free water or cocktail vouchers or fridge but did have some free shampoo. This is a good 3 star hotel. No fountains or magnificent reception areas but it has what we needed. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear mandyegg2k ,
Thank you very much for sharing your second experience in our hotel. Your nice comments give us support to continue working every day to get our guests´ satisfaction.
It is nice to read that you think in this second visit the sunbeds system has improved, because the principal aim of our daily work is to continue improving our services..
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Oro Negro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.