We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Oro Negro

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Oro Negro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 7 nights half board. The hotel was a fantastic location for us, a 10- 15 minute walk to the beach and the same to the nightlife. We didnt stay around the pool area but it looked nice with plenty of sun loungers.
The room was comfortable with everything we needed, lets face it you dont go on holiday to sit in the room all day!.
The food in the hotel was fantastic especially as I am a fussy eater! i still found plenty to eat and it was all lovely. My partner is more adventurous with food and he enjoyed all the different food on offer.
Overall the holiday was fantastic and i would recommend it to anyone, and we have booked our next stay here for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear cooley02,
Thank you very much for your comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to improve our services. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and especially that you enjoyed the quality of our food and restaurant service.
I hope to welcome you again next year
Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    334
    158
    33
    21
See reviews for
138
421
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleethorpes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just had a week back at this hotel and its still as good as ever. We new the quality of the rooms and the food would be good. The staff are nice as ever. What made it friendlier was, there wasnt a lot of Germans staying. The sunbed reservation society meet every morning at 0830 to wait for the staff to unchain them. No complaints AT ALL. Cant tell you about the entertainment at the ORO, We went out every night, Try the Wigan arms. Go and see Crystal Star and the show they put on, Its free to get in and a 5 Min stroll from the hotel. Enjoy your stay, We did and will going back next year.

Room Tip: rooms 557, 558, Double balconies sun all day. 558, Overlooks pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear CleethorpesLonny,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again next year.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

our first room was 367 which was very disappointing, with an unusable balcony due to being closely overlooked by apartments next door, and a noisy generator outside. be aware of rooms 365-369 which share this location. fine if you've booked last minute and paid cheap, or want to party out all night. we compliained about the noise and were moved next day to 10th floor, much quieter and amazing veiws. hotel itself is comfortable, food is excellent. plenty of choice , grill area for freshly done meat and fish. each room has its own air conditioning and a ceiling fan. remote for air conditioning needs a deposit which is fully returned. fridge can be hired ( we didnt) sun loungers in two styles, hard plastic with mattress or blue woven ones without mattress. no pool towels available (this is only 3 star) pool biggest i've seen in small hotel, shallow end neck deep; deep end separated by rope and is very deep. small childrens pool, well separated from big pool. freindly helpful staff.

Room Tip: avoid room367 and adjacent unlessyou dont want to use the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear durhamtravelingjan,
Thank you very much for your comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you felt comfortable between us and think that our staff is friendly and our food is great, because these are two of our characteristics which we are more proud of.
I hope to welcome you again soon
Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel rooms are a little dated. However bathroom with full size bath, lots of hot water. Rooms cleaned every day. Bed was a little hard for me, but room 207 was quite big. T.V. in room 4 english channels. Sun on balcony in the afternoon. Hotel is on the main road and it takes 5 mins to walk into centre of Las Americas. Hotel food is good, always beef, fish n chicken served every night. Desserts the same most nights but ok, fruit, cheese, jelly, ice cream and fruit salad tinned. Had a problem with the lock on room inform them on the way down to breakfast, fixed by the time we returned from breakfast. The staff n hotel try very hard to make you stay enjoyable. Resturant needs to have music piped in to it, table are scratted a roon the room, so you have lots of people walking around you. Went from 15th nov to 22 nov 2012, heat +24 - 29ish, started to get a little chilly at night last couple of night before we went home. We booked half board, breakfast was conitental, full english plus ommlets cooked fresh every morning. Overall a nice chill out holiday. Husband went 20 years ago, changed from then, they have humunized it now, lots of green walk ways. Avoid walkways at night, as you would at home, keep to main streets at night. Did check trip advisior reports before booking hotel, only found 1 small cockroch in our room, never seen any other around hotel at all.

Room Tip: Room 207, was quite a large room, on the end. Sun in the afternoon on balcony, a quite room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear angelahawkins1,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services. We work hard every day to get all our guests’ satisfaction and our guest’s feedback helps us to go in the right direction. Your suggestions will help us. I hope in your next visit your will appreciate improvements.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Oro Negro on many occasions over the last four years even recommending it to family and friends. The main reasons for our continued visiting were the cleanliness and the very good food (Half-Board option). Whilst on this visit the Hotel was still extremely clean the standard of the food had gone decidedly downhill. The evening Dinner choices were uninspiring, repetitive and on two occasions just so wrong!! I'm talking about Fish Fingers as a main dish (dry and hard) and what was intended to be a Shepherd's Pie but looked like mash on top of gravy!! I'm no culinary snob and I'm sure many people enjoy the odd fish finger back at home but to be offered this in a 3 star hotel and having paid a fair amount of money for the holiday just seems like they are taking a lazy option. This is a country remember where the fresh fish is plentiful and delicious.
Just a couple of other observations regarding the replenishment of Breakfast items. If the eggs were there - the bacon wasn't and vice versa. People were waiting up to 10 minutes for an omelette to be cooked.
My final disappointment regarding the Restaurant was the way I was spoken to by the young woman who seats you. I apparently did a terrible thing by walking up to her before she had waved me forward! I was told "No you must wait till I call you we are short-staffed and very busy" Sorry but neither problem is my fault and there is surely a way of saying what she wanted to say politely without making me feel like a chastised schoolchild. Fellow holidaymakers we spoke to even suggested that when this woman had her time off the Restaurant ran smoothly and more efficiently.
It's sad that the hotel has disappointed us as we have had really good times there but I don't think we will visit again - there are many good hotels in Playa de Las Americas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Favisse,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services and avoid mistakes. I Sorry that you after some visits to our hotel didn’t enjoy so much your stay last time, we continue working everyday to get our guest full satisfaction. Thank you for your comments about food, you can be sure that we will pass on your comments to our Chefs because we are proud of our very good food and restaurant service and want it continue in a high level. I would like to apologise if you felt someone was rude or not polite enough with you in the restaurant, but when the hotel is full if there is not an order in restaurant is very difficult to work and to give the good service that we try to give
I hope you will give us another chance to show you we still have a high standard of services
Waiting to welcome you soon again in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

For our 1st visit to Tenerife my wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Oro Negra for the week Sat 27th October to Saturday 3rd November 2012. The hotel itself is situated away from the sea front and is on the upper edges of the resort, this is ideal for us as we like to walk around alot. We stayed half board at the hotel and the food was really good and plentiful. You could buy a bottle of house white with your evening meals fo 5.50euros, which I feel is good for a hotel.The Hotel was clean and well ran, and all the staff where very polite and helpful. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool area which we found to be very good. The room was clean and well maintained, although you had to pay for airconditioning if you required it. Entertainment at the hotel was done by a team and some nights it was really good. The only downside is that on a morning the " oldies " placed their sunbeds in most of the best spots unless you beat them at their own game.The local supermarkets sold very cheap drink which you could bring into the hotel to consume,but not in the restaurant.We are returning in Feb 2013.

Room Tip: If you want a view choose 10th floor,or otherwise go for a pool view on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear david1029,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your satisfaction motivates us to keep working every day to improve our services and satisfy all our guests. I am very pleased that you had a good first visit to Tenerife and first stay in our hotel, and enjoyed our hotel’s services, cleanliness, food quality and entertainment activities.

Thank you very much for your feedback

I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.


Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My partner and myself have stayed several times at the Oro Negro, and have always enjoyed our stay. We love the food which is always fresh and a wide choice of dishes to choose from. We were half board.
We requested a high floor room looking onto the Golf Course which we got!! The room was fantastic had a nice large balcony looking onto the Golf Course, fantastic view.
We like the location of the hotel as we go to the beach everyday and either walk to los Cristianos or la Vista Beach.
All staff at the Hotel work really hard and aim to please, have no faults with the Hotel and will be returning Soon fingers crossed.

Room Tip: We like a high floor room looking onto the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 79KarenM79,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stays in our hotel, and that you felt comfortable between us. I will pass on your comments to our staff.

I hope to welcome you again soon

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Oro Negro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.