We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kn Columbus Aparthotel to your Saves list
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Blackburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisiest Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to get any sleep at night then don't go to this hotel. It's like a zoo at night with the drunken yobs running riot ,shouting and banging on and slamming doors, the staff did nothing about it.When we complained the reception staff were arrogant, unsympathetic and unhelpfull.They told us to ring reception to complain. When we rang at 4.30 am the following night there was no answer.They served young people with alcohol when they were clearly drunk !
There is only one bar and the seating around reception is uncomfortable and there are nowhere near enough tables and chairs around the pool for evenings.There are not enough sunbeds and most of the ones they have are broken.
There are charges for safe (40 euro), air-con ( 70 euro for air-con + safe), gym ( 20 euro/hour) and TV ( 1 euro/hour)
On the plus side the hotel is kept clean, the food is what you would expect, the staff in the bar and restaurant are pleasant and helpfull. The hotel is in a good position with plenty to see & do in the area.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    601
    522
    317
    373
See reviews for
442
664
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we arrived here 21/9/12 on arrival the very very very rude receptionist frew us r room key without any information and wasnt welcoming in the slightest when we arrived in our room we found it to be standars and clean we then tryed to turn the air con on n the tv none of which worked we went down to the reception which told us we had to pay 50 euros for the air con and 20 euros for the tv remote as we are young girls on holiday we didnt have this money to part with when i questioned this as we were not aware of it before hand we were then told very rudely if we didnt like it we could get out and thats exactly what we did after the vile breakfast the nxt day we fnd home n family members payed for a next hotel for us called sol tenerife which may i add was a proppa hotel with polite an welcoming staff great food and no hidden cost n a perfect location over lookin the sea if you like a benidorm type trashy place this is the place for you i wldnt advise any1 to go here if they want a good holida i repeat DONT GOOOO

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

OK here it is, the facts plain and simple. Rooms functional but basic. Reception area particularly sofas very tatty. Air conditioning a must but not provided in self catering studios. Good size and clean swimming pools but insufficient sunbeds many of which are broken. Pool 'rules' say no reserving of sunbeds but hotel seem to accept the towel reservation with many people getting up at half past seven reserving their beds and then going off for the morning. Buildings act as a natural ampitheatre so nights sleep disturbed by late revellers every night so you either boil in rooms with doors shut or have to put up with inane claptrap from late night revellers. Arguing young couple in room above disturbed us for several hours and when asked to be quiet merely resulted in the threat of having my lights punched out. When we phoned for security backup phones were not working. Row and hairpulling continued well into the small hours. Staff do appear surly but have to put up with a lot of grief from rude customers. Felt sorry for other couples looking for a quiet holiday. We found simple courtesy was appreciated and by and large found hotel reception to be more than accommodating.

Room Tip: Avoid self catering as no air conditioning and avoid pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This has been the first holiday i have been to so my expectations were not high. The self catering rooms were very basic but cleaned everyday, the maids did wash the dishes at first but as the week went on they did less and less things. by the end they threw away our confirmation of our shuttle bus which i was slightly annoyed the doc could of been anything I.E our boarding passes. There were 1 or two bugs but was not too much of an issue. The hotel itself is beautiful, if you do want a sunbed i would claim one by 8:30am the latest as they are all taken up and pick a sunbed on the right side of the hotel as the building does block the sun later on in the day and half of the sunbeds are in shade. Some of the staff were lovely and some were plain rude rolling their eyes at you. This hotel is more for younger people as there is a bar underneath the rooms and people can get lary till 4am then you hear the maids making a racket at 6am. the atmosphere was lovely at the day time. the other people staying there were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Me my husband and 6year old son arrived at columbus aparthotel on the 9th october stayed till the 16th after reading so many bad reviews I was very nervous going I have to say don't know what is up with ppl!we were all inc everything was perfect rooms cleaned fresh bedding everyday staff were very friendly would defo go back again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I got back week ago after spending fabulous 10 days holiday. I was on all inclusive and I had air condition, nice modern apartment which was cleaned every day. The staff was very nice both in the bar, restaurant and at the reception. In first day I had problem about rooms, because we pointed that we want to have rooms close together with our friends and the reception man gave us this room. The food was delicious, the location is great, the pools and jacuzzi are nice. The disadvantage was sun bed which you must occupy early morning and not too many tables in the bar so very often we must sitting on the sun bed.
That was very nice holiday and i will book for next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived at hotel 22:00 hours with wife a small child. Sofa bed not made up for child, no spare pillows for sofa bed. Asked at reception, but none provided that night. The next day this had been sorted. But they should have known this requirement ahead of our arrival.
All inclusive bar shuts at 23:00.
Staff appear overworked, many are there long hours which could account for there impolite behaviour at times.
Design of hotel means that noise travels, and echos. Security trys to keep the drunks quite, but limited by number, 1. Holiday Reps getting hard time about noise issues.
Food is not extravigant, but is cooked well. If you like typical british food its okay with plenty of choices, but there isn't much of the variety of theme or seafood that we had hoped for.
Pools are okay and appear well cleaned each morning. Lack of sunloungers in area for size of hotel. Good sun lounge area on top floor, but again a limit of sunloungers.
Rooms serviced okay. Air Conditioning all okay, but had to get remote control from Reception, (Also TV remote), note deposit required.
If going out for day, remember to ask for early breakfast the day before as breakfast opens at 08:00, wouldn't let us in before this, because we hadn't arranged it.

Room Tip: change hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kn Columbus Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.