We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sir Anthony

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sir Anthony to your Saves list
Hotel Sir Anthony
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have holidayed in Tenerife many many times, and watched while this hotel went through it's
Renovation, and we always said we would like to try it. Price wise it is one of the more expensive
Hotels, but a true enough saying is "you get what you pay for" and we certainly did. From the moment we arrived till we left, which was very ear(3.30 am)there was a smiling cheery member
Of staff waiting to be of assistance. It was one of the best , if not the very best hotel we have
Stayed in Tenerife and hope to repeat it again.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea which is another added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear June L,

Let me send you a very special thank you for your kindness sharing here your positive feedback about your recent holidays with us. I’m glad to know that you have given us the chance to show you what we are able to do. After the hotel renovation we implemented a unique concept of service that we have been applying and developing since its reopening 4 years ago. We still have lots to improve, but comments like yours show us that we are on the right way, and that’s the best encouragement for all our team, so thank you again! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    60
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
246
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After a miserable winter at home we returned to Tenerife for a well earned vacation of one month at the Sir Anthony Hotel together with one of our daughters and her husband. This hotel has become our natural escape from the cold winter and the bad wheather of Northern Europa. We were rather surprised of the great improvements management has achieved over the last few years, since we celebrated our 60th wedding anniversary with our children and grandchildren at the Sir Anthony in October 2011. The friendly reception by all the staf could not be better. A very great improvement has been achieved in the quality of food turned out by the kitchen. A change of personel has had the right effect, resulting in more diners in the diningroom in the evening, where the service has become a lot better and faster then before. This was not only our opinion, but was shared by several repeat guests, who we have come to recognise from previous visits to the S.A. There is in our opinion no other hotel on Playa Las Americas that can beat this hotel in the field of service and atmosphere. We therefore booked our next holliday again for a full month in Ocober this year at the Sir Anthony hotel, where we hope to meet several old acqaintances again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear jaguar361,

First of all let me thank you for your detailed and positive feedback, where you have shown an extraordinary observation and analyse capacity. Certainly, we have made important changes to improve services that seemed stuck in old damaging habits bad for our service and far from our quality standards. Although we must still adjust the service, I am glad to say that we have achieved some important goals and now our guests can enjoy better facilities and attentions while in the hotel. This is why we appreciate so much our guests opinions, as they are the best tool to detect where we are failing and take action to improve. I’m pleased to know that you will soon be back and hope to continue offering a service up to your expectations.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good hotel with private swimming pools. Linked to other hotels in complex with better bar facilities. Very private. Nice pool. We went for a weekend with no children so the hotel was perfect for this.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear James123England,

Let me thank you for sharing here your positive feedback. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our quiet hotel Sir Anthony. Although it’s located within the resort, we wanted to keep it exclusive and private so only Sir Anthony guests can use its facilities. This ensures a very relaxing holiday away from any possible annoyance. Do not hesitate to let us know whenever you decide to return, we will be happy to take care of your reservation.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Decided to book a 6 day break in this hotel for my husband & I based on the positive reviews I read on Tripadvisor. I have to say, neither of us were disappointed. This hotel 'ticks all the boxes!'
The hotel only has approximately 70 rooms, therefore the hotel is quiet, intimate and incredibly tranquil. Its a perfect retreat for couples (of any age!!) to sit back, soak up some sun and enjoy the restaurants that both Playa Las Americas & Los Cristianos have to offer. We will definitely return….

Room Tip: Definitely try for a Garden Level room, these each have a huge terrace with a table/chair set and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear McCannGlasgow,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and detailed information about our services and facilities. Reading comments like yours is the best encouragement for all of us and it gives us the strength to continue working hard on the research of new and better ways to improve our guests holiday experience. I’m glad to know that you have enjoyed the tranquillity and exclusivity of the Sir Anthony and knowing that you intend to return is the best prize! Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just back from another brilliant stay at the Sir Anthony, this is the 7th or 8th time we have been to the hotel and the second since the upgrade. The staff could not be more welcoming and attentive.

I would recommend the upgraded rooms on the third floor where you have your own private roof top area with plunge pool. Very private and secluded. I would particularly compliment the reception and breakfast staff who could not do enough for you, were pleasant, professional and seem to thoroughly enjoy their jobs

We will be back shortly

Robert & Celia Pettigrew

Room Tip: Spend the money and upgrade to the top floor with rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr&Mrs Pettigrew,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. The entire team appreciates your nice words regarding their service and they all hope to have the chance to continue offering you the best attention in future stays. I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty throughout the latest years, best testimony of your appreciation for our service. We will be happy to welcome you back as soon as you wish.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We really loved this hotel the rooms and beds are fantastic and we loved the whole feel of the hotel. My only problem was my iPhone 5 went missing from the pool area, it was early evening when we left the pool and my phone was under a towel the only people left were an elderly couple and the pool boy ( not the regular man another younger one) unfortunately I didn't miss the phone until the pool boy had cleared the towels by which time the phone had been switched off and unable to be found on my app on my iPad. The only conclusion is that someone clearing the beds found the phone kept it removing the SIM card first. The staff did help us look for it but didn't really believe us almost ignoring the whole situation. I did expect from a 5* hotel to go straight to reception and my phone be waiting for me was totally shocked. I would have given Sir Anthony a 5 star rating but under the circumstances it gave it 3 star.
Apart from this unfortunate experience we had a lovely stay and really appreciated our upgrade on arrival and Oliver was extremely helpful - we would stay again but be more careful not to leave anything lying around.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Sir Anthony Hotel for one week at the beginning of April. First impressions were good and Sandra on the reception was very friendly and helpful. We had a third floor room which was lovely and the balcony area was great with fabulous views. The pool and gardens are well looked after but it was difficult to find a sunbed most days as almost all had been 'reserved' before breakfast, so we used the roof terrace a lot during the week which was nice and peaceful although it would have been nice to spend a bit of time enjoying the pool too!
We couldn't fault the breakfast - pretty much everything on the menu you could possibly want!
The location is perfect - a lovely walk along the promenade to either Playa de las Americas or Los Christianos - and so near to a great variety of shops and restaurants.
If we return to Tenenife we will certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Anne W,

thank you very much for your time sharing your impressions about your holidays with other travellers. It makes us very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. However we are concerned about the reservation of sunbeds, it is a fact that in periods of high occupancy it is much more complicated to control it but we will continue working hard to eradicate this issue.

I would also like to thank you for your nice words towards Sandra of staff team I will transmit your impressions to her, she will be most satisfied.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in a near future again at the Sir Anthony Hotel.

Bests regards,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sir Anthony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Anthony

Address: Avda de las Americas | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sir Anthony 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront boutique hotelon the stunning Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, this luxury establishment has 70 sumptuously furnished rooms with a terrace, offering a panoramic view of the beach. The attentive staff provide personalized VIP service with unparalleled attention to detail. Located only a few steps from the largest entertainment and shopping area of the island, it is the ideal spot to spend a perfect dream holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sir Anthony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Anthony Hotel Tenerife
Sir Anthony Tenerife
Hotel Sir Anthony Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sir Anthony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.