We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this bar like the plague!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Rose

The Irish Rose
Calle Colon, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
683590707
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this bar like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just back from Tenerife and was looking forward to returning to The Irish Rose. We arrived on Saturday night and found to our amazement that the place was closed! Thought that was a bit odd so went back the following night. This time it was open but there was nobody in apart from a couple of surly looking barmaids and 'Alan from Dublin' on stage singing. This bar used to be bursting at the seams every night for years. Okay maybe the entertainment was a bit cheesy but the customers loved the bingo and the quizzes and the nightly cabaret with an MC. Also used to get a great welcome from Dan the barman and his girlfriend who served great food. Can't understand why the owner would change a winning formula as the place was a goldmine! Perhaps it has changed hands or perhaps 'Alan from Dublin' is part of the problem! I for one will not be back!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonya_martin, Owner at The Irish Rose, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello thank you for visiting the Irish Rose. Whilst Graham was a very good MC finding a replacement with similar people skills proved impossible. At the same time that he returned to the Uk to further his career there most of the hotels around us changed to "all inclusive" to retain their business. This effectively killed the night life in Puerto Colon overnight. Whilst the Irish Rose continued to try and provide entertainment as you described the authorities on Tenerife took a less tolerant stance and started to clampdown on such. To that end it was decided to provide free entertainment in the form of a singer. Several have been tried some more successful than others. We continue to try and improve the bar and welcome all reviews good and bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bad Beer!! Miserable, Arrogant Bookmaker, Dirty Hole, Avoid At All Cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The beer yes is only 1e per pint but it is foul and gassy and horrible, the glasses are dirty and the food is fairly poor standard, the restaurant which is directly opposite puts this place to shame, the place inside stinks and the toilets are a mess, the bookmaker that sits on the stage like some form of entertainment is just an absolute misery its like he is doing you a favour taking your bet, watch out if you win he doesn't like paying out either, I had a winner and it took me 20 mins to get my winnings meaning I had to stay in that dirty rats nest for a bit longer, we went in once and wouldn't go back ever again, there are so many nice bars in that area that have a lovely view and are sun traps, don't waste your time in the irish rose it is full of dirty old men and some women, to sum up the staff are really miserable, its dirts, the beer is sub standard and the food is poor, the bookie needs to change profession I think cos his attitude stinks, maybe the irish rose should close its doors!!!!
sorry had to be honest its a dive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Alan, knows how to sing and does a fine job of it. A good night out, but beware, if you ask for a Malibu, they will give you the cheap coconut liquour and charge you for the original.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely british food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

good value for money ...fresh and hot.. good location...lovely view over beach...great fish and chips, great service

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very dirty restaurant. Everything you ask the staff is too much trouble and the old lady wearing glasses behind the bar is the most obnoxious person I have met.

I hope this review will help the owners to re-establish themselves with their customers.

The bar has a great location and just needs some TLC!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Rose also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to The Irish Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.