We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daniel's Cafe

Daniel's Cafe
Av. Rafael Puig, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
+(34)922788928
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sheffield
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“ok, but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We decided to give the place a try after not enjoying the breakfasts at El Cedro's as much as previous visits.

One of the waiters was a little abrupt when we asked whether the place was open for breakfast as there were no other customers and another waiter was laying tables.

Breakfast was ok, although it was nothing to shout about. It was unclear what you got for each set breakfast. For example, a number 1 breakfast when it arrived was a full English with 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 2 eggs, 1 tomato, beans plus a slice of toast.

Because one of the members of the party asked for scrambled eggs with their breakfast, we were informed that this was a number 2 breakfast. However, this didn't include beans. This wasn't made clear with the menus we were given and when we queried this with the waiter he replied "no beans, but if you want them, no problem, but you need to pay extra for them "

Having not tried the evening meals here, we couldn't pass comment on them. They may be a better experience than breakfast but after this experience we may not make a return visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    7
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were hustled in by a street salesman and didnt like it at all. Service slow, food poor (think there were rubber bands in our paella!) and just a bad taste left. Plenty more nicer places around to choose from.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went here on our first nigth in Tenerfie. There was a big group of us (8 - 4 boys 4 girls) First of all they wanted to put us out on the street to sit, not a good start. The food was average not exactly amazing and prices where average as well. The they service was terrible. We waiters were just plain rude, menus were just thrown at us, drinks were slow. The male waiters were also very rude to us girls in a very crude way. Did not visit back to this place and i would avoid.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food but average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food was good and reasonably priced but lack of charisma staff. Would go there again as so cheap and food was good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We visited here last week. We ordered a Garlic Mushroom each for starter, I had a lovely Peppercorn Steak and chips which was cooked perfectly and the person I was with had breaded chicken with chips and salad which was also nice. The service was good and the rep outside told us of some meals which had been reduced in price and what he recommended. The cost was very good. We had 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 drinks and 2 cocktails for less than 50 euros. The cocktails were superb - I think it was 2 for 7 euros, we had a Mojito and Harvey Wallbanger and they were lovely. If you're looking for a cheap and good place to eat i'd recommend here, it is a little dated and the food is basic but nice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel's Cafe also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Daniel's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daniel's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.