We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Tenerife to your Saves list
Sol Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in the Sol last week in January .We booked through our travel agent .It was a pleasant stay overall .Beautiful weather contributed to our stay .Sol Tenerife is a very big hotel with 2 blocks of accommodation .We were allocated 11th floor Block A ..Rooms are small but spotlessly clean .Housekeeping staff were courteous and helpful .As we stayed on Bed&Breakfast basis I cannot comment on lunch and dinner menus .Early arrivals at the dining room is the better option as it can be extremely busy late morning .Lots of queuing but we managed and varied selection of fruits ,cereals ,hot plates ,cold platters,breads were available.Pool area definitely busy with huge demand for pool chairs.Entertainment during the day at pool was nice also had aqua aerobics. Yoga etc.
The NOISE from the strip into early hours of am has to be an issue of concern for this fine hotel.When I say noise I mean Thump Thump Thump that was continuous from music system .It wasn't the holidaymakers but the music at top decibels.As we were in block A it did affect sleep .Sat and Sun night went on until 430 am .We did ask to change rooms but not available until day of our departure .
However we needed the break so much that we still enjoyed our stay in the Sol

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear MaryterB,

It is always a pleasure to have you here and we are glad to receive your positive feedback regarding your stay with us because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention for make your stay a memorable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you in a near future, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    484
    366
    184
    145
See reviews for
224
696
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The noise levels from the bar just outside the Hotel after 8pm make sleep impossiible. This is an ongoing problem and the owner of the bar is aggressive if you ask him to turn down the volume. The hotel staff can't help and I ended up calling the police. The noise was so bad I couldn't even hear the TV in the room. It goes on into the small hours of the night. If offered a room in Tower A, on the side adjacent to Las Americas, you will not sleep, and should refuse the room. It is a shame as, in the daytime the hotel is extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: NOT tower A on the Las Americas side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Edward B,

Thank you for writing you review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that your expectations were not fully met and we kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologizes for this. We truly hope to welcome you again in the future, and I ask you to contact me directly upon your next stay in Tenerife. I would be glad to personally manage your reservation at Sol Tenerife and welcome you at your arrival.

I'm at your complete disposal for any information and requests.

Best regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel from 8th - 15th February. Room 912 was on the 9th floor and was the quiet side of block A. Nice pool and sea view. Rooms were clean and have an under-counter fridge which is ideal for storing water, juice etc. No tea/coffee facilities are provided so remember your kettle if you like your cuppa in the morning. Reception staff were helpful and polite. Internet was 30euros for 7nights and was only useable at reception as it cut out everywhere else in the hotel. The restaurant was hectic and unless you are waiting for it opening, you will find it hard to find a table. Breakfast and lunch were okay but each evening we had to eat out. We went into the dining room each night to see what was on but their was never nothing which suited us and we are not fussy eaters. The amount of food which is stolen at breakfast is horrendous and I have never witnessed this, to this extent, in any other hotel. People taking their rucksacks and quite happily make up their rolls n cold meat, cakes, fruit etc, wrap them in the thick napkins and load them into their bags. Why is this not stopped. Waiting staff did not bat an eyelid and their are no signs stating food should not be taken out the restaurant. I found this most disturbing as it will only result in the price of the holiday rising to cover the cost. Clearly these people were not on an AI basis as they did not have the red band on. Would I return to this hotel - no, however I would return to the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mitchnfiona,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your last stay with us. Our hotel is in an incredible location in the South of Tenerife because we are in a strategic position: Close to the beach and the best shops.

We hope to welcome you again in Tenerife, please contact us directly for any information or visit the website melia.com to be updated with our best promotions!

Best Regard ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed in Sol Tenerife for 4 nights in Feb14 and my fiancée and I were happy overall. On the plus side the hotel is situated on a great location close to everything really in las Americas, we both loved the breakfast, the staff were really helpful and polite. We had a room with a pool view and so there was little or no noise coming from the strip. On the minus side the hotel did look dated and not quite a 4* hotel in our view. I would overall recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Iulian T,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have a good experience during your stay at the Sol Tenerife. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so comfortable.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Read on internet that this hotel was in a very noisy part of town.We thought how bad can it be in januari?But it was bad...
There was so much noise,every night till 3 or 4,weekend till 6.Asked at reception for poolroom.And that was perfect!Breakfast was very good. Pool was nice. And if we can get a poolroom directly the next time we will come back.

One thing i was surprised about,at the check in we directly asked for a quiet room,but i think she just wanted to test us first if we would complain about the noise? That was weird. But after changing rooms Sol was perfect!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Michelle B,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sol Tenerife. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests because it helps us to improving each day for provide our best to our guests.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa De Las Americas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

hotel situatied in perfect location, on the beach, fantastic views, shops and bars walking distance, second visit to this hotel, both times in winter months but always fantastic weather, hotel very clean, staff great

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Kevin Ernest F,

Thank you very much for posting your experience in the Sol Tenerife.

We are glad to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in order to provide you with the best of our attention, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good location near to the strip as previous reviews you can hear noise until the early hours.. I stayed here for a few nights with a friend and pleased it was just a few nights. Good location for what we wanted, food was ok however I am quite fussy! Good cocktails! Rooms were ok - not 4* however clean and tidy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Claire920,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Tenerife, as well as for taking the time to share your opinion with others travellers. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests because it encourage us to continuously maintain the standards you have experienced.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.