We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martin & Gosha 1013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Tenerife to your Saves list
Sol Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Martin & Gosha 1013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I want to keep it short and simple. Excellent hotel with amazing STAFF, all you need is there. Good food, 2 swimming pools, ocean behind hotel gate, helpful staff, good size room with air condition and nice weather and cold drinks. Lots of entertainments supply by hotel staff as well as day and evenings. We had the best holiday so far and I will always recommend this hotel to everybody.
Sylvia! You was great, thanks for all your help and we wish you all the best!!! (you should be a manager there). Hopefully see you soon
Martin & Gosha

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Martin and Gosha,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at Sol Tenerife.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy your holidays in our hotel with our offered services and location. Furthermore, we are glad that our staff could satisfy you. We work hard every day to give our best to our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    485
    367
    184
    145
See reviews for
226
697
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights from 9/7/13 to 17/7/13 with my 19 year old daughter. On arrival we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and we were offered an alternative hotel for 2 nights in exchange for upgrading us from half board to 'all inclusive' for free. What a bonus! we took advantage of this offer as I understand it would have been approx 47 euros per day if we had paid for this upgrade.
I have to give a particular mention to Barbara, one of the receptionists. She was so helpful, friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for her. In fact all the staff were pleasant.
On our return from the 2 nights at the alternative hotel we requested a quiet room and Barbara gave us block A, room 409. This side of the hotel has a sea/pool view and there is no noise after midnight and therefore quiet enough to sleep.
Breakfast was best, lunch was cheese toasties etc from 11am to 6pm but from 1pm to 3pm you could also eat in the restuarant. Dinner was excellent and we always found something to eat, including my daughter who is very fussy!
Mostly russians and spanish staying at the hotel, very few brits but that was not a problem to us.
Probably the only negative thing I have to say is that as there was only one bar at the pool for day and evening the queues could get a bit long!
On the day of depature we checked out at 12 and left our suitcases in the luggage room. We wanted to book a late check out room for 30 euros as our coach wasnt picking us up until 5.30pm but unfortunately the hotel was still overbooked. However they gave us half hour in a complimentary room which if you shower and dress quickly was just enough. You can book this free half hour slot on your departure day.
Overall a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Block A anything 4th floor upwards on the sea/pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear N s,

Thank you for spending your valuable time writing about your review about your stay in Sol Tenerife.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy your holidays and that the stay in the other hotel did not affect your holidays negatively. We are glad that our staff, who always tries to be helpful, could satisfy you. We will inform Barbara about your positive feedback. Furthermore, we are pleased that our offered food was delicious.

One more time, thank you for your comment and we hope to welcome you and you daughter again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review now from my room, can't fault this hotel it's perfect for people here to party as it's right on the Veronica's strip and close to the starcoe block of bars/clubs aswell - it is noisy on a night but isn't as bad as what some people make out, just close the balcony door and it's ok. Can't fault the maids for their service - had our towels changed everyday apart from one. It's best coming to this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis as there is so many restaurants to choose from for tea here and its reasonably priced. This is now my 3rd trip to las americas in 3 years and would definately return to this hotel again. The nightlife is amazing if you just want to go out and party, the pr's are easy to get on with they're all really friendly - do you drink offers etc, shot girls, end of day they're only here to make a living like we do back at home. The only downside to las americas is the lucky lucky men so annoying - they're try to flog you anything from stupid bracelets - drugs. If you do buy off them no matter what it is don't pay more than €5. On the whole this resort is quality but on a night it is full of drunken people but what can you expect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear borobarmyjoe,

We are very thankful for your comment trough Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that our location and services could satisfy you, especially as you have spent also other holidays in Playa de las Americas.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

CHECK IN - Stayed here for 4 nights from 12/7 - 16/7 with my bf. On arrival it was very busy, only 2 people behind the desk and they looked miserable and stressed. After waiting 40 mins we finally checked in to be told we had to wait another 4 hours for our room. He didnt ask for our bags or tell us (which we later found out) that we could leave our bags in the luggage room. So he sent us away. I however waited at reception to speak to another girl when I was called over and told we had a room ready (VERY lucky)

ROOM - Room was good, clean, decent, no problems.

POOL AREA - Hotel has three pools, however, there will be no beds left round the pool if youre a late riser, so get out quick.

FOOD - I thought the food was pretty decent. Theres the main hall for all guests and main meals and then theres a separate hall for all inclusive if you get nibblish throughout the day (however this is limited to cheese toasties, burgers, chips etc) but not a problem for us.

DRINKS - As we were all inclusive I was thought it was an absolute rip off that there were only TWO free cocktails which are included in the price. All the rest were a couple of euro. That really annoyed me and was pretty dissapointing. Obviously we wanted to drink loads before going out, but with the choice of two rubbish cocktails and even more diabolical tasting vodka and rum, it wasnt worth it. There was always a huge queue at the bar, but there were waiters who would take your order and they were quick enough. The wine was also horrific.

LOCATION - Couldn't fault it, its right beside the Strip, and right on the beach if you go out the back. Noise issues werent a problem for us as we stayed out late most nights. You can if youre prepared walk into Los Cristianos from here along the coast, which took us 30-45 mins

ENTERTAINMENT - Was pretty ok. There were loads of activities during the day - yoga/pool sports/darts which people did participate in. Nothing spectacular in the evenings, but your usual Grease/acrobatics stuff/magician acts.

OVERALL - Service was pretty poor in the sense staff always seemed busy, miserable and kinda did everything with a huff. There was one girl behind the desk who did seem a bit more chipper, but that was it. There weren't many Brits here. Mostly Russians, French and locals. Wouldn't say it's really a hotel for families with little ones, pretty much everyone was 18+. I cant fault the size of the room, or the cleanliness or the food as I had no issues with it, however there was nothing about this hotel which made it stand out to me or give me a fantastic time. The very limited "all incl" drinks also let it down big time. Its ok if you can't find anything else, but would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear l_weeza,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to know that our location and facilities satisfy you.

We are very sorry about your negative impression of the hotel. Also we are sorry that our All Inclusive could not satisfy your expectations in connection to the drinks and especially the cocktails. Our All Inclusive includes a wide variety of local drinks. In our bars we offer premium Brands but these are not included in this package. Because of this, we have a Gold All Inclusive that includes it.

We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

me and my partner stayed here 25th-02 july 2013, on arrival we were told by the hotel they were fully booked and would we like to stay at another hotel free of charge and the hotel would pay for our taxi's and upgrade us to gold all inclusive to which we declined.

our room was on the small side but was clean and tidy. The food was nice with fresh chicken / steak cooked for you while you wait. but i wouldnt say this is quality meat.

The entertainment was brilliant with shows like beauty and the beast fire blowers ect.

although we were all inclusive we did eat out twice at Toni Romas and empire steak house and i must say the empire steak house was out of this world.

the hotels location was perfect right on the veronicas strip and close to a mcdonalds which offers free wifi.

would go back !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear girls186402,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay in our hotel Sol Tenerife.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy your holidays because of our location and food. We are glad to know that our animation could satisfy your expectations, because our animation team is always willing to entertain our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a week al inclusive on the 08/07/13 me my husband and our 4 sons ages 16 13 11 & 5 we booked this hotel before reading all the reviews all the bad ones are true so don't be fooled buy the good ones I think they must pay people to write them
This is defantly not a hotel for family's or ealderly or any one that does not want to get drunk every night as I think that is what you would have to do to get any sleep the only meal that is ok is the breakfast
Lunch and dinner are just disgusting the snack bar is ok for the kids as it has chips nuggets and burgers every day the same so if you do still go here only go b&b as you still have to eat out for all other meals none of the staff can speak clear English the only up side to the hotel is that it's close to the beach
This hotel is really not for family holidays but it's perfect for 20 something's who just want a clubbing holiday as its rite at the centre of the main night life the music dosent stop until about 6am
The rooms are really small and old

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Bethanywishes,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry that you and your family had this bad impression of our hotel. We apologise for the external noises, as the bars do not respect the noise level regulations.. We are also sorry that our buffet could not fulfil your expectations.

Thank you for your comments so that we can improve our services. We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at sol Tenerife with a friend from 6-13 July. Hotel is is the best location possible, so central to bars, clubs, beach and everything else Las Americas has to offer. Some of the staff were a little miserable, the girl that checked us in was polite and chatty but however tried to sell us a room with a better view, when we refused we ended up with first floor room with practically no view. Rooms are average, but fine, food was pretty good as far as all inclusive food go, plenty of choice, although the snack bar was very repetitive! I never want to see a cheese and ham toastie ever again!
Entertainment was good day and night although very Spanish and usually cheesy, but it's kind of what you expect!
Bar staff were friendly but always a massive queue! I have to particularly praise one lady who worked all day every day whilst we stayed there, she entertained the children, did water aerobics, bingo, sold sangria, a jack of all trades! She was so polite, always said hello and always smiling, she's a credit to the hotel.
Both pools were nice although sometimes hard to find a sunbed, we always found one eventually though.
To conclude I would definitely stay at this hotel again and had a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear luxorlover,

Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel through this web site.

We are pleased to know that our location, entertainment and food could satisfy you.
We are sorry if the Check-in gave you a negative impression.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.