We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL BUT WOULD NOT GO BACK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Sol Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL BUT WOULD NOT GO BACK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just got back from a week in this hotel. Nice hotel not 4* more 3*. Staff friendly and reception staff very helpful. Had to change rooms after first night as we were put in a room over looking Veronicas VERY noisy, music till between 4 and 6am. We do not go to bed early on hols but after coming in ourselves at around 2 ish it was impossible to sleep til music went off. We could always find something to eat at mealtimes although the food was warm not hot.
On our day of departure we went to put our cases in the car on return to our room we found the maid already in there and my belongings that we left for the flight home had been bundled into my overnight bag and put in the laundry trolley under some pillows. The maid seemed very flustered when I wanted to know where my things were. In the main all my things were in my bag,but it was only 11am and check out wasnt til 12 noon. This incident spoilt what was other wise a pleasant stay.
We would not go back to this hotel mainly because of the noise from Veronicas. It is however in a fantastic position in the beach front.

Room Tip: If you want any night time sleep makesure you are in rooms facing away from Veronicas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your valuable time in writing your impressions about your stay in our hotel.

Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our daily work.

We do apologize for possible incoveniences we might caused to you and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to change your negative impression about your last day.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    411
    312
    158
    126
See reviews for
176
579
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was staying in this hotel 24th feb.20012 room 232 for one week of my winter break, I found it very cold at night asked if we could have some heat in room was given two extra blankets! it did not help warm us , but we could put them over our heads at night to drown out some of the disco noise comming from the clubs strip next to our so called 4 star rated hotel ! which went on untill 4 a.m. in the morning, the food was always cold and as we were half board we lost out as we went else where to have our meals .please take my advice do not stay here!

Room Tip: ask for room facing the sea and over looking swimming pools as this is away from the disco club str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mounthill5,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We regret to see that the hotel services didn´t met your expectations. This is not the standard of service that we use to so rest assured that your feedback has been shared with all the staff in order to improve our service. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance that you may need.

Looking forward to have other opportunity to welcome you to the Sol Tenerife.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Okay, lets start by putting my review in context. I wanted a long weekend in the sun for me and the wife so took myself to lastminute.com and up came the Sol Tenerife with half board. Now, its clear from my fellow 'trippies' reviews that this hotel is a bit like marmite - you loved it or hated it & the ranking didn't exactly install me with confidence - so armed with low expectations and sun cream off we went.

Location wise its pretty good - right on the sea front with nice ocean views (from most room). The staff were all extremely friendly and its clear the hotel works hard in this regard as every employee wore a smile and genuinely seemed to want to help. If you check out the reception you will see pictures taken back in 1979 which just about prepares you for the rooms. I'm pretty sure the decor hasn't changed too much in that time. In truth, its grotty and really really lets the hotel down. It was clean - but that was it. If your idea of a hotel room is that its somewhere to sleep and wash - then you'll be fine - but if you want more from your room you will have to choose a different hotel.

Now for the food. I wasn't looking forward to the mass canteen approach and visions of a prison slop queue rushed through my head. Actually though, it was okay-ish. Putting aside the bird soup and the green beans, carrots and chips from breakfast - there was plenty of choice and we managed to eat reasonably well. The food wasn't particularly warm but it was edible. They wont be getting a visit from Michelin any time soon but nor will they by HM Inspectors of Prisons.

The hotel boasts three pools and its absolutely hilarious to watch the early morning mission to secure a sun lounger. Its now a military exercise involving bungy chords - strapping towels to the beds along with plastic chairs and parasols! Be warned - by 8:00 am you have slim pickings left...

Now never let it be said I ignored the other reviews and as such I purchased a nice set of earplugs for the night time and was grateful I had. There is considerable noise from the local bars and clubs which I imagine is pretty horrendous if you are in Tower A facing the strip. So ask for a room in Tower B facing out to sea.

As for the resort itself - it is what it is... beaches are clean and accessible. The night-life has a slightly seedy side with lapdancing clubs handily located next to a Spar and if you want to get a tattoo on your holiday you have a number of choices of studios - again I would struggle to know what you would do for 14 nights but for 3 it was fine.

So if you are looking for a quick and easy long weekend in the sun then its pretty good value but I would caution anyone planning their annual 2 week getaway....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. But if you do stay - insist on one in Tower B facing out to sea and dont forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for spending your valuable time in publishing your experience about your stay with us.

Comments such as yours are always a helpful assistance for us to identify aspects that may exist throughout our Hotel and to take the necessary corrective measures in order to improve day by day our service and our facilities.We take note of your comment about sunbeds reservations and food temperature.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

third visit to the sol tenerife.all inclusive is great value .careful wording of special requests will ensure position of room is to your taste. the staff,position,and food are this hotels strengths.balcony views tremendous both day and night.have allready booked our next visit craig and maureen.

Room Tip: high and poolview are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Craig & Maureen,

thank you for spending your valuable time in publishing your positive experience of your last stay in our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our food and our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were Greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in!! Room was lovely, great view of beach, sea!! We went all inclusive, which was fantastic, need more range of cocktails available on all inclusive tho ;-) entertainment was good, bar staff and waiters always helpful!!! Overall fantastic however there was a lot of noise at night but what Do u expect when it's located in the middle of clubbing central!!! Shame about the weather was a bit cold and very cloudy for February!! Would definately recommend this hotel and planning our next trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review about your last stay with us.

We are really happy to know that you could enjoy your stay and our staff was helpful to make your stay fantastic.

We take note of your comment about our AI service.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed two weeks in this hotel. Those two weeks were the most terrible weeks of all my numerous travels including a dozen trips to Tenerife. We could not sleep at all before 6:00 am due to the tremendous noise that the nightclubs in Veronica call 'music', We changed rooms with no apparent result. The furniture in the rooms was dirty and shabby, not of a four-star hotel. Half of the sunbeds were like 'black holes' the rest dirty. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it. Regarding to your comments about sunbeds are cleaned in a regular basis but we are ckecking every sunbed and we replace sunbeds canves if they are in bad condition.

Once again thank you for writing your comments.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our flight was delayed for 12 hours due to a technical fault and we were put up in the Sol Tenerife by Iberia. This in no respect refelcted on the stay though as they were quick in sorting out the hotel, so well done to them. The hotel was dire through.

The hotel was built ~1979 and it showed. The food was poor (a Harvester salad was better than this, so not saying much) and the worst point by far was the banging night club nearby that ran through the night until 0500 hrs in the morning, so kept us all awake - the other guests also complained come morning.

The room was basic and how this hotel dares to display four stars, I just don't know ? In 1979, then okay, not 30 plus years later - Scandalous. If you go home and say you holiday in a four star, forget it. Think two star UK and you will be on the money.

If you have children, you would pull your hair out with the surrounding night time noise (we were there in Feb 12) so only knows what peak times are like.

Teenagers would revel with the location though, but if you want a nights sleep, then save up and pay extra to stay some where else like Adeje. If you want descent food, even visiting the McDonalds up the road (it was that poor) would be preferable.

Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing your impressions about your visit.

We are very sorry that you left our Hotel with such a negative impression. Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it.

Once again thank you for writing and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Melia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.