We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous new year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fabulous new year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just arrived home from a weeks stay at this hotel. Would just like to say what a lovely hotel this is. OK so its a bit tired. Food was very good our group of 6 always found plenty to eat only criticism is that not all the dishes are labeled on the salad bar! Fresh meat & fish cooked to order at each meal time. Breakfast had extras such as omlettes cooked to order also. Pool area lovely with towels to hire for € 15 deposit & safes were free.Gala dinner New Years Eve was spectacular. All in all a good time had by all & wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Hopefully it will be given the face lift it needs but don't be put off by all the negative reviews on here. Best area in Las Americas too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words and for posting them here on Tripadvisor.

I´m pleased to know of your satisfaction with our services and facilities, especially during our New Year´s Eve Gala Diner. I´m happy to read that you ad your family have enjoyed it.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    587
    302
    130
    68
See reviews for
429
750
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I are just back from a 4 night stay and we really enjoyed our break in the sun at our favourite Tenerife hotel. Yes, it could do with a room refurbishment but it's still our first choice to book when we want to visit Tenerife.
You're welcomed at reception with a glass of Cava and given room card ,free pool towel cards (deposit required to be refunded at end of stay) free room safe key and in our case, free room fridge key. The rooms have super king size beds (little bit hard for me) a television (old style!) with British TV channels - BBC1, BBC2, ITV, ITV2, Sky News, Channel 4, Channel 5, Film 4, BBC World. The hairdryer is basic and not powerful so would advise taking your own!
We always stay on half board basis and find the choice at the buffet is excellent.
The swimming pool is huge but cold (all that sun and no solar panels to heat the water!!) with plenty of sunbeds which unfortunately do get reserved with those dreaded towels! I would advise management to post notices that they will remove items (to be collected from pool attendant) from any unoccupied beds by say 10.30am as some 'reserved' beds were still unoccupied by 11.30am when we were there - unfair!
The hotel is in a great location and guests can use their room card to exit hotel at the back gate onto the coastal walkway and the lovely sandy beach behind the hotel.
On ground floor level there is a small shop selling newspapers, toiletry items and other essentials and a snack bar too and I noticed a vending machine for when the shop is closed.
The staff are always very efficient and the cleaning staff keep the hotel spotless. There are not so many flowers in the outdoor pots and tree bases as there used to be which is a shame but perhaps they were too hard to maintain!
We didn't visit the evening entertainment shows in the hotel as we prefer to have an evening stroll after dinner and soak up the resort atmosphere and anyway previous visits have found the shows to be below par considering the wealth of talent in Tenerife but suits an older and multi national clientele I suppose.
There is a taxi rank just outside the hotel and costs about 25 euro to the airport and on your return journey the hotel has a very useful weighing machine near reception to check your luggage weight for just 1 euro - we found this very handy to move contents between cases to even up the weight and save that extra weight charge at the airport!
While we were there the new Hard Rock Café opened in the 'pyramid' so there's an extra attraction nearby now.
We're now planning when we'll return in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed report.

I´m glad to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty, much appreciated.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again soon. Do not hesitate to contact us through our web page for anything relating your next booking. We´ll be glad to help you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballybofey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

have stayed in med pallace on several occasions and allways found it clean, tidy,good food,excellent staff,but alas this time things took a turn for the worst.we arrived at the start of tropical storm delta,torrential rain (dining room room flooded during breakfast)some of the rooms on our floor flooded,and to top it off the barrier at the enterance came down on my better halfs head.resulting in my wife having pains in her head and shoulders for some considerable time.hotel staff were not overly helpfull as i would imagine they have been advised to play things down in case of some follow up on our behalf.still waiting for some type of apology

Room Tip: maybee a room higher rather than lower might have its advantages,noise etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry at the incident you have described on your review. I understand that it was an isolated case due to the presence of your wife under the barrier of access to vehicles when it was closing. We have several accesses for pedestrians where we can guarantee their security.

I beg you to accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences caused although I recommend you to use the pedestrians accesses in future visits.

You have been unfortunate enough to experience the worst storm we can remember during your stay. I hope that in spite of this you have been able to get some advantage of your holidays.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the future, hopefully in better circumstances.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance with your next booking, we´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harogate
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Found ourselves booking this hotel after a last minute change to our holiday plans. Like some other reviewers had long admired this hotel since becoming a regular visitor to Tenerife but never actually staying there until now. I agree the hotel is at it's life cycle where a good refurbishment is required to re-energise it but we had a very nice time here. Room was fine for our 6 day stay, and was also cleaned to a high standard. bathrooms had been upgraded and nice. we were on a B&B package and the breakfasts were very, very good. Plenty choice and quality food. Pool area expansive and nice, and always sunbeds available.

Super location for the beaches, shops and abundance of restaurants and bars in this part of the resort.
Would agree it's definitely not a 5* establishment and not a patch on some of the other comparable hotels in the Adeje area, but none the less had an enjoyable stay and found the staff friendly and helpful

Room Tip: As it was last minute and at Christmas had to settle for what was left and found ourselves right abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit to our resort.

We know there are some points we must still improove and we are working on it, implementing new services and projects.

Maybe you would like to visit us again in the future. I suggest you to visit our web page where you can find information about prices and availability for this and other hotels within the resort.

We will be happy to welcome you again. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for anything you might need.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wanted to stay at this"glamorous" hotel since it was built. Mentioned this and anniversary when booking for 30th anniversary-wasn't acknowledged, no congratulations! Wished we'd held onto the dream as the reality wasn't good. Public areas very swish but strangely mausoleum -like. Staff fine but absolutely no atmosphere. Pool area crowded.Bedrooms not clean, furniture, tiling chipped, old TV.Food very poor. No veggie choice. Better 3*s in Las Americas.

Room Tip: Dont bother, go elsewhere and pay the same or less for a much better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to know of your disatisfaction with our facilities and services.

We always do our best to provide each guest with anything he can think of although we can not always achieve this goal. Please, accept my most sincere excuses for any inconvenience.

I´m quite surprised at your comment regarding our vegetarian options, as in both buffets we offer more than a hundred products each day, from whom more than a half are vegatarian options. I always encourage our guests to contact with our maitre or staff for any assistance or special need.

I will also take this chance to wish you a very happy Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the med palace for a week. There were 8 of us of various ages from 15 to 55. We were given a warm and friendly welcome, and the staff were attentive and helpful. The location was fantastic close to everything but in a nice area for bars and restaurants.
The rooms were a little disappointing at first, more travel lodge than the ritz, but once we settled in it was OK. The kids loved the hotel I have to say, great pool, great breakfasts, right on the beach with plenty going on. The thing I liked most about the hotel was the retro feel. When it was built in the late 80's It was a top class hotel, and was kitted out with a lavish flair of its time. They do not appear to have changed very much at all since then, the tables the chairs the curtains the flooring lighting etc have all been kept exactly the same, giving the whole place that disco, big hair, feel.
There was even a little display in the reception showing pictures of the opening banquet and some of the items used at that time. If you like the quirkiness of staying in a sort of museum of the 80's as I did, you will enjoy this hotel, but if you are looking for modern luxury, you will not find it here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for your appreciation of our decor and facilities.

I´m also glad to read that the entire family has enjoyed our services and I hope to have the chance to continue welcoming you in the future.

You can visit our web page if you wish information about prices and availability for future stays.

I would also like to wish you a very happy Christmas in the company of your relatives.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am writing this review late as we stayed here in June.
Initially we had booked a standard mountain view room which is basically a view of the main street and very noisy.
The following morning having had a terrible night due to my 2 year old daughter not being able to sleep we decided to pay extra for a quiter room. We were told that a pool view room would me much quiter! What a joke! The noise from the evening entertainment was even worse it was like having a speaker outside the balcony.
We complained the next day having paid extra for a quiter room and simply told that we could have our old room back. Having unpacked twice in 2 days I did not relish the thought of packing and unpacking again. The noise from the music goes on until around 1am which was a nightmare with a 2 year old who usually goes to bed at 7pm. The hotel did not seem to care about this and we felt coned into paying more for a pool view room which was worse
If we ever return it would only be because of the kids club and probably stay at the cleopatra instead as the location is great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to know that you have felt disturbed by the street noise.

As a family hotel we would never allow any music to go on after 11.30 pm, which is the time the shows end and the bars close at this hotel.

Maybe you should try on of the sister hotels as you would still be able to benefit from the kids club and other facilities within the resort.

You can check prices and availability at our web page.

I would also like to wish you and your family a very happy Christmas.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.