We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wanted to stay at this"glamorous" hotel since it was built. Mentioned this and anniversary when booking for 30th anniversary-wasn't acknowledged, no congratulations! Wished we'd held onto the dream as the reality wasn't good. Public areas very swish but strangely mausoleum -like. Staff fine but absolutely no atmosphere. Pool area crowded.Bedrooms not clean, furniture, tiling chipped, old TV.Food very poor. No veggie choice. Better 3*s in Las Americas.

Room Tip: Dont bother, go elsewhere and pay the same or less for a much better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to know of your disatisfaction with our facilities and services.

We always do our best to provide each guest with anything he can think of although we can not always achieve this goal. Please, accept my most sincere excuses for any inconvenience.

I´m quite surprised at your comment regarding our vegetarian options, as in both buffets we offer more than a hundred products each day, from whom more than a half are vegatarian options. I always encourage our guests to contact with our maitre or staff for any assistance or special need.

I will also take this chance to wish you a very happy Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    531
    260
    120
    66
See reviews for
392
683
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the med palace for a week. There were 8 of us of various ages from 15 to 55. We were given a warm and friendly welcome, and the staff were attentive and helpful. The location was fantastic close to everything but in a nice area for bars and restaurants.
The rooms were a little disappointing at first, more travel lodge than the ritz, but once we settled in it was OK. The kids loved the hotel I have to say, great pool, great breakfasts, right on the beach with plenty going on. The thing I liked most about the hotel was the retro feel. When it was built in the late 80's It was a top class hotel, and was kitted out with a lavish flair of its time. They do not appear to have changed very much at all since then, the tables the chairs the curtains the flooring lighting etc have all been kept exactly the same, giving the whole place that disco, big hair, feel.
There was even a little display in the reception showing pictures of the opening banquet and some of the items used at that time. If you like the quirkiness of staying in a sort of museum of the 80's as I did, you will enjoy this hotel, but if you are looking for modern luxury, you will not find it here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for your appreciation of our decor and facilities.

I´m also glad to read that the entire family has enjoyed our services and I hope to have the chance to continue welcoming you in the future.

You can visit our web page if you wish information about prices and availability for future stays.

I would also like to wish you a very happy Christmas in the company of your relatives.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am writing this review late as we stayed here in June.
Initially we had booked a standard mountain view room which is basically a view of the main street and very noisy.
The following morning having had a terrible night due to my 2 year old daughter not being able to sleep we decided to pay extra for a quiter room. We were told that a pool view room would me much quiter! What a joke! The noise from the evening entertainment was even worse it was like having a speaker outside the balcony.
We complained the next day having paid extra for a quiter room and simply told that we could have our old room back. Having unpacked twice in 2 days I did not relish the thought of packing and unpacking again. The noise from the music goes on until around 1am which was a nightmare with a 2 year old who usually goes to bed at 7pm. The hotel did not seem to care about this and we felt coned into paying more for a pool view room which was worse
If we ever return it would only be because of the kids club and probably stay at the cleopatra instead as the location is great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to know that you have felt disturbed by the street noise.

As a family hotel we would never allow any music to go on after 11.30 pm, which is the time the shows end and the bars close at this hotel.

Maybe you should try on of the sister hotels as you would still be able to benefit from the kids club and other facilities within the resort.

You can check prices and availability at our web page.

I would also like to wish you and your family a very happy Christmas.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My Husband and I have been staying at the Med Palace for the last 7/8 years, several times a year and we love it. The position of the hotel is perfect. You have the smart shops across the road and the beach just out of the back gate. The staff are very friendly and professional and will do all they can for you. They have always made us feel very welcome. The glass of cava on arrival and the bellboy taking your luggage to your room is great. We have tried the Mountain View rooms, Sea View rooms and the Suite with a pool for a special occasion. All have their merits. Mountain View rooms overlook the street also, but it's great to people watch. The bars and restaurants mostly seem to close around midnight so there isn't a problem with noise. We would recommend a high floor room for all room types. Sea View rooms are only on floors 5 and 6 but there is always something to watch out at sea and the views are beautiful. The suite with pool is excellent. The lounge area and bedroom are very spacious and the balcony area is huge. Yes, the rooms are dated, but they are comfortable and always kept spotlessly clean by the daily maid service with clean bedding and towels. The manager assures us that they are planning a renovation scheme very soon. The public areas are also kept spotless and the atmosphere is just lovely. We immediately feel relaxed and comfortable. That's what holidays are all about and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Tenerife.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room for great views, whether you want a mountain or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for the time invested on writing such a detailed report and for your positive words.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and location and will be happy to welcome you again soon.

I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty during the latest years, much appreciated.

Hopefully during your next visit you will be able to enjoy the benefits of our new Hard Rock Cafe, due to open during the next days.

I would also like to wish you a very happy Christmas and all the best for 2014.


Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I agree with the other reviews that this should be a 2+ to 3 star hotel

The location is great being very central to all attractions...............but..............rooms are very dated (old TV's, stuff falling off the walls etc.), food and catering was of very poor quality and the staff in the restraint were just not on the ball (when things had ran out). No one in the whole hotel (guest or staff) smiled once during my whole weeks stay!!! The staff were so miserable and when we handed our room cards back the woman behind the desk just grabbed them off us and said 'that's it'. We went in November and the hotel was FULL of rude Germans and Russians who were very pushy and arrogant; one even got out of the lift and left a trump with us - disgusting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to know that the general atmosphere and facilities of our hotel have not been up to your expectations.

I´m quite surprised at your comment relative to our staff attitude, as they receive many praises from most guests.

Maybe on of the sister hotels within the resort would fit better to your expectations. You can find information about them on our web page, where you can also contact us for any querie.

I wish you a very happy Christmas.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, stayed here for 3 nights. All is not in impeccable condition but the positives out way the negatives. Lovely staff, fantastic breakfast, get a pool or sea view. Lovely glass of champagne on arrival, great location next to beach and promenade.supermarket just across road for beverages etc. right in the heart of all that's going on but quiet as well at night time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and for posting them here on Tripadvisor.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and facilities and hope to have the chance to welcome you again during your next visit to Tenerife.

You can find information on prices and availability on our web page, as well as contacting us for any querie you might have. We´ll be happy to help you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Gave this Hotel a miss for 4 Years and Tenerife itself but reluctantly aloud my partner back for 10 days as he likes it VERY much. The Hotel yes does need an update after all this is 25 Years Old and is in much need of a face lift. Rooms are dated but clean we always take our own kettle as we like a drink first thing of a morning I think they could allow you to use the fridge and not charge you 2.85 euros a day,but now the safe is free never used to be. The Television is very old it kept turning itself off just as we were watching Strictly Come Dancing sad people watching television on Holiday.
The breakfast was very varied cannot complain but was like a cattle market they couldn't keep up with the tables been relaid and also the coffee machine was very slow always a wait to get a coffee.The pressure was on even more when it rained and people couldn't sit outside for breakfast.
We still like the pool area's they are always kept clean and tidy we always sat at the Cleopatra
Pool as it was a bit quieter round that pool.
The good points are the location as we like to go walking we went out the back gate and walked to Los Christianos and Adeje and also all the great shops opposite.
We went to the show that the Staff put on in the Theatre must say it was very good and afterwards we went out the back door to a reception of drinks and the live group playing this was excellent WELL DONE ALL STAFF!!!!
The holiday weather was awful but we made the most of it just kept going walking, we had the worst storms on the Monday so went out on the bus to Santa Cruz we had to laugh the bus was leaking all over us and the man in the next seat had an umberella up on the bus. The last 3 days were sunny and made up for some of the bad weather.
Don't think we will be back very soon need to try another Island or Cape Verdi to get the weather

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that you have found some of our services and facilities far from your expectations.

I have read your review very carefully and I promise to imprive some of the points you have mentioned. Your suggestions are very appreciated and I will make a good use of them.

On the other hand I´m glad that you have enjoyed our staff show. They all make a great effort and I´m sure they will appreciate your words.

I would also like to take the chance to wish you a very happy Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.