We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very good holiday at Mediterranean palace th” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another very good holiday at Mediterranean palace th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went June 9th to 20th weather was excellent only two cloudy mornings . Always stay Bed and breakfast .I like plenty of fruit and there was always a good variety ,there is a lot of other good quality food with plenty of choices . I have travelled a lot on business all over Europe and at good hotels and the Breakfast is as good as the very best I have stayed .I like staying at this hotel and have stayed at least 15 times over a ten year spell .The swimming pool is top class with a good system of not allowing anyone before 9 am reserving a sunbed .At 9 am the towels can be changed and that is when you can get a bed .If you come down ten minutes early you can sit at the spot you won't to have your bed but you cannot leave any towels down without you being there till 9 .There is always plenty of beds so you can come down when you like . The hotel is in an excellent location when you walk through front door you have a variety of top class shops , restaurants, and a strip of bars with live music .Every year I go the area improves .I recommend Bianco's Italian restaurant and the Thai two doors away .The four restaurants all next to each other are of the highest quality .They are owned by the same company and if you are eating out they are a must I visited both of them three times each .If you won't to eat Chinese then you can not go wrong with eating at the Chinese between the soul bar and the Highlander pub .People say that the rooms at the Mediterranean place are a bit tired , well they have not changed much in ten years and they could be improved a bit but , they have a safe a fridge and tv that has BBC 1 and 2 and ITV 1 and 2 also English films and channel 4 .The beds are a bit hard for me but the maid brought me a padded sheet to put under the sheets and this made it fine for me .Overall I think they are fine with decent air con and very good maids who keep room very clean and change towels as required .The staff at the hotel reception are very helpful and will do whatever is required to improve anything you are not happy with .There is plenty going on around the pool all day water aerobics , darts , archery , five a side football , table tennis .They have an ok gym which I like to use each day and the staff are very friendly .If you won't to stay at a very well run hotel which is in prime position in an excellent location with plenty to do at night then this is a hotel for you .The only negative this year was the number of Russians who seem to be at the hotel . Hopefully they will start to get educated in manners eg thank you and politeness but this is only a minor moan .

Room Tip: B and B best with the the amount of excellent restaurants and great location with in walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Phil W,

Let me thank you for the time invested on writing such a long report regarding your recent stay with us, much appreciated.

I´m happy to know that once again you have enjoyed the service provided and the surroundings, which, as you say, improve each year.

Although we know our rooms would do with a refurbishment, we intend to maintain a high quality of service in all areas and will continue to do so once the works have been carried out.

I would also like to take this chance to thank you for your extraordinary loyalty during the latest years. That is the best probe of your appreciation to our resort.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again soon. Do not hesitate to inform us of any special need, we will do our best to meet your requests.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    519
    256
    117
    65
See reviews for
389
664
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

my flight home was cancelled so i was put up in the Med. Palace for the night. the reception staff were o.k . the room certainly wasnt 5 star and needs updating. all it had was a bed(a big one) a tiny t.v and a bathroom. the roon was very cramped also. Breakfast was nice but it needs to be organised. everthing is thrown around the place. i didnt get a chance to use the pool but people i know said that they were treated to a champagne breakfast and had lots of room and even a plasma screen. Med. Palace is ok but would only pass for a 3 star.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear James T,

Thank you very much for your comments about your short stay with us.

I am sorry to know that the general impression about our services and facilities has been negative, maybe partially due to the few hours spent in our hotel. I wish you had had the chance to visit the resort and try the different services to get a different idea of our offer.

In all cases, if you ever decide to try our hotel experience, you will be more than welcome by all of us.

kind regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to Tenerife (Arona) 6 times in the last 10 years as we love the weather, food varieties and location. We have stopped at the Med Palace our last two visits as it just enhances all of this!
The location is superb. Right in between Los Cristianos Bay and Playa de las Americas so great access to the beach front and walkways. The facilities and layout work great and the staff are always very helpful/courteous. The reception, piano bar and general ground area is stunning.

Yes some of the rooms and walls could benefit from a slight refurbishment but nothing major!!
I think some people on here need to understand your not paying ultra 5 star prices for this hotel!! Try the hotel next door (Sir Anthony) maybe??

The pools are great and very friendly for children with sloping entrances and child specific pools. There is daily entertainment in the pool (11am) with great keep fit water classes. This doesn't go on all day so no worries if you want a peaceful sunbathing time too. If required you can use the facilities next door at Cleopatra for even quieter location so it covers all requirements.

The food (breakfast) is always hot, offers a good enough selection for all and is available for a long period of time (if you like your lie-ins). The Turtle Club (kids) is first class for all ages (6 months upwards) with full sleeping areas, constant monitoring by staff and lots of facilities (slides/indoor play gym, drawing/colouring etc.) to keep kids happy all day every day.

Overall this is a great hotel especially if you want the benefit of a fully monitored kids club. If you don't have kids then don't worry as it never has loud music or entertainment etc. This along with its location and guaranteed weather is why we will be back again in 3 weeks time for our 3rd visit to Med Palace in less than 12 months! Great hotel that fits "the bill" (££) perfectly!

Room Tip: sixth floor facing the pool/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear fa11ows,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback.

I´m glad to read that your general experience while in the hotel has been positive and you have enjoyed various aspects of our service and facilities.

As you have perfectly noticed the hotel is focused, among others, on families with children. For this reason we have implemented several services destined to make each family member enjoy their stay, with specific areas and activities for everyone.

Being a resort allows us to offer different atmospheres in each hotel, which makes it also easier for our guests to choose a place to stay.

Regarding the room refurbishment, we intend to carry it out as soon as possible, adding extra facilities for our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments here.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been holidaying in Tenerife over the past 30 years and decided to return once again to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, The Mediterranean Place is our choice having holidayed there some 8 times previously. The hotel is first class, is always clean, staff from the front desk to the house maids are always helpful and pleasant, breakfast are plentyful with a choice to suit all palates, we dont lunch or dine in the hotel as its position is ideal for the wide choice of restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets and of course theres the shopping. We have holidayed to some wonderful locations throughout the world, but if you wish for a weeks holiday anytime of the year then I can think of no better place than The Mediterranean Place, you made our 40th memorable, thank you and congratulation on your 25th.

Room Tip: if your booking yourself then compare the mountain view to the pool view costs, ask for a room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear David f f,

Fist of all let me thank you for taking the time to share here your impressions about your latest stay with us.

I am happy to know that we have somehow contributed to the success of your 30th wedding anniversary and we are very honored to be part of the celebration. Let me take this chance to congratulate you in this very special occasion.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue welcoming and serving you in the future. We will be most pleased to enjoy your company.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borntoholiday67
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Looks a lovely hotel but very basic once inside. Dining room like a canteen. Not much choice at breakfast. Was like a free for all. Pools freezing. Rooms basic. Moved rooms as was on the front of hotel and was extremely noisy from one for the bars so spoke to reception and was moved to quieter room on the side. Good position for playa or los cristianos. Many restaurants opposite hotel to eat in, very good food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear borntoholiday67,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately it is not as positive as we would like it to be but I hope that you have still been able to enjoy your holidays in spite of the few points mentioned by you.

Although we offer more than 130 different elements at breakfast each day, it seems that not always we can meet everyone´s requests. Please, let us know your preferences and we will try to get them for you.

I´m glad to know that our reception staff has been able to assist you moving rooms to provide you a quieter stay. We always do as much as we can to offer our guests the best service, according to their preferences and requests.

For us it will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Please, feel free to contact us for any request.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here with my 5 yr old in Feb school holiday .Rooms are so old fashioned and need major refurbishment .The pool area is terrible ,broken tiles,rundown area.
Great location but think hard before spending your money here ,much nicer hotels in Tenerife.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Adele D,

Thank you very much for your short but clear report.

I am sorry to know that our facilities have not been up to your expectations. We have the intention to carry out a full refurbishment of the rooms as soon as possible, adding new and useful elements that will make our guests stay more pleasant.

Regarding the pool area, it has been fully refurbished five years ago and given its constant and massive use, our maintenance team keeps special attention to it, replacing faulty tiles whenever they are harmed by the use of the sun beds, umbrellas, etc.

I hope you will continue visiting Tenerife and its beautiful weather and surroundings in the future.

All the best,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I just fell in love with palace first time I've seen it.pool is beautiful, I enjoyed every minute spent there. Rooms weren't too bad, anyway we only slept there as there was so many things to do so many places to visit (restaurants :) yummy) as the location was great, few steps and we got Spanish restaurant which was lovely.
Staff very friendly, cleanness good. I had there the best holiday in my life :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lidi27,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Reading that a guest has spent here the best holidays of her life is just the most we could ever be asking for and it goes far beyond our expectations.

Now we have the difficult mission of keeping our service up to your expectations and memories, and I hope that we will be able to achieve this with a little of your help.

Please, don´t hesitate to contact us for any special request before your next arrival so that we can take special care of your stay.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.