We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, well run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very good, well run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I agree that some of the reviews of this hotel are overly harsh as it has many excellent points to commend it.
The location is perfect. Walk out the back gate and you are straight onto a beach and the promenade which in 10 minutes oneway takes you into the centre of Los Christianos or hours the other way to...........we never did find out as it goes on forever! It is also ideally placed for a couple of very nice commercial centres with a good range of quality shops.
The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful and work very hard to ensure your stay is not a disappointment. In particular the waiters/waitresses in the dining room deserve a special mention: in the evening theywork SO hard to successfully keep everything moving along smoothly. They could really do with a few extra hands to reduce the frantic pace at which they work.
Buffet dining is very good with everything (and a whole lot more!) you could want. There is a chef to prepare freshly cooked items at breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were on the half board option and especially appreciated the option of taking lunch or dinner, as we like to eat out in local restaurants in the evening.
The pool and surrounding area is very spacious so that although there were a lot of guests we never felt 'squashed'. There were enough activites during the day for those who wanted to participate and for those who didn't they didn't impinge on the serious business of relaxing in the sun. ( Loud music for about 1 hour at midday for the aqua aerobics and not all day long as a reviewer has posted)
And now to the rooms -- They are adequate size, clean and comfortable and have everything you would want----- but yes, The hotel is celebrating its 25th anniversary and room refurbishments are needed to warrant the 5* rating. I think this is why some people have been so critical as the rooms do not fulfill expectations.
Having said that I would happily return to this hotel for all the many positives I have mentioned,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    518
    256
    117
    65
See reviews for
389
662
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is mainly in my view is more suited for families with children. The pool area is taken up with kids and the noise level is very high. Not good if you want to have glass of wine on ur balcony of an afternoon. Music goes on all day with activities for adults and children.So no peace and quiet for that quiet drink till late evening.
There are live shows that start around 9ish and go on till 11.30 on the ground floor. So if you have to be up early for a trip next morning and retire early you hear everything in your room. Very annoying.
Breakfast was chaotic... Didnt matter whether you were early or late going down it was a free for all. Getting a table was a nightmare with no staff organising seating..
Wi-fi was free in all areas of hotel and reception was good for most part. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean and neat.
Overall, great location, right in the heart of things and just moments from beach and fabulous promenade. Would have preferred a quieter hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can't believe the poor reviews about this hotel! My wife and I stayed for a few days last month and found everything just fine. We only opted for the room and breakfast and we prefer to eat out at lunch times and in the evening but this was no reflection on this particular hotel. We found the booking and checking-in process easy. The hotel itself is situated very close to the beach and within easy walking distance of many restaurants and bars.
We found all the staff polite and friendly and very efficient. Our room was a good one with a balcony that caught the morning sun. It was a good size, clean and comfortable.The breakfast was really good with a huge range of dishes. Wifi was free and we could connect anywhere in the hotel. The hotel is part of a complex so entertainment etc is on offer although we didn't take the opportunity to go to any of these organised activities. We would definitely go back to this hotel as we had a great time.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have balconies but It's worthwhile checking. Depending on what you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are a couple from norway, seeking a quiet vacation. the mare nostrum resort is far from quiet..
An ok hotel if you are a family with kids, looking for activities around the clock
Loud music from the pool-area, poolactivities, salsa courses and so on, with extremely loud music all day long. In the evening there are live shows and concerts in thw ground floor, with a volume that reaches you both on your balcony and inside your room.

The food was low standard, the breakfast kantine was chaotic and loud. They do have a variety of food, but the standard is not 5 star.. We also tried ordering lunch at the two "vitaminas bars" and experienced slow waitresses with no english competence, and the food was not very good for that price.

In our room we had small ant-like animals crawling around, the cleeningstaff never dusted, just eashed the floors and madr the bed. We believe we had dirt towels when we asked for new ones. The airconditioningsystem was loud and outdated. So is the TV set and hairdryer in the bathroom.
We saw the need for a drying rack for wet bathingsuits and towels, but had none. The hotel advertises with wifi internet connetcion, but this was so poor and unreliable that we consider it to be non existent.

Room Tip: High floor, oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't fall for the cheap champagne at check-in as its all down hill from here....

The hotel needs a complete refurb,

Faults:

- Lobby is dated, the lighting is falling apart and the chandelers are extremely dirty.
- The rooms are horrible, bathroom is mouldy and the cleaners do not clean the rooms on ocassions.
- The WiFi is free but does not work in the rooms.
- The tv remote does not work and the tv signal is v poor; you might as well hold a metal coat hanger out of the window.
- The hotel advertises a roof top terrace, but this has been closed for 2 years; false advertising.
- The rooms are not entirely soundproof.
- I asked for an iron and ironing board and got half an iron with missing parts and an ironing board that had a ripped cover.

....would I stay here again, absolutely no chance!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Somehow this place ends up looking much better on the photos than in reality.

First, the annoyances.

Room was advertised as “mountain view” and this was the biggest disappointment about this place. For £130 a night, we got a first floor apartment overlooking a busy street. No option to change that, as we were told. Additionally, we had booked a twin room (I was sharing with a friend), and on arrival it turned out that the 2 beds were less than a foot apart, with no option to move them further apart as there were cupboards fixed permanently to the walls on either side of the bed! Again, nothing could be done about that, and the receptionist admitted that they “get this kind of complaint quite a lot”. Ridiculous! The supposed mountain view probably meant “facing away from the sea” i.e. towards the interior of the island, where you can see the volcano in the far distance (it can be seen from practically any point of the island, so the “mountain view” isn’t really anything that you should base your decision on). Needless to say, sleep quality in a room overlooking a busy street isn't the most amazing.

Also the hotel isn’t beach-front. Another, nicer and more expensive, hotel from the same hotel group has access to the beach.

This is a giant hotel (480 rooms or so, as I was told), in itself part of a larger complex of 3 hotels! There must be close to 1000 rooms in total between them. This is not a bad thing in itself, but something to be aware of. It has got its advantages, such as: every taxi driver will know the place; reception will always be staffed; etc. Then on the other hand, you end up in one of the many identical looking rooms set along long, identical looking hallways. Pool does not have any ocean front views, but is practically surrounded from all sides by the imposed multi-story walls with literally hundreds of balconies overlooking the pool. At times we joked that the whole thing looked like taken out of 1960’s film set in a resort in Cuba..

Breakfast buffet has one of the largest selections that I’ve ever seen in a hotel, continental, English, fruit, everything really. Big plus for me. We didn’t try other meals in the restaurant.

Importantly, the hotel celebrated its 25 years since it was first opened, and the interiors really showed that age. Fake black leather sofas, mirrors everywhere, chandeliers as large as I’ve ever seen (those must have been 15 meters long I thought!). Again, not a bad thing in itself, because everything is maintained quite well, but the interiors are definitely not “chic” or “boutique”. For the price we ended up paying, not having either beach-front or even sea-views, and this kind of interiors, I would have expected more.

To be honest, I didn’t really feel like this was a 4 star hotel at all. Yes there was a nice touch in the form of complimentary glass of champagne on check-in, but the rooms were far from 4 star standard, and then there were these minor things such as signs telling you not to take any food from the breakfast buffet outside of the cafeteria, and in fact having a guy stood there checking if guests are sneaking out with the food – not really 4 star service, assuming that most of your guests are thieves, is it?

On the plus side, the reception staff were always really nice. Also we were allowed to stay in the hotel until 2pm on our check-out day, which was nice. Location is reasonably central within the resort (Los Christianos) but then again, most of the hotels in the town are located close to one another.

Overall, not the best value for money.

Room Tip: Mountain view aren't really mountain view, but facing a very busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This will be our 4th time at the hotel, and i can not wait went last year but stayed in a self catering
apt. On arrival made so welcome service great.
I do agree that a little fresh paint in the rooms is now needed and bathrooms.
Room attendents so helpful nothing too much trouble for them,
Hotel well situated for town and sea front. Food very good if you go hungry then you MUST be a
very fussy eater.

The glass of bubbly on arrival welcome after the flight.

Keep up the good work all of you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#24 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.