We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 5 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are a couple from norway, seeking a quiet vacation. the mare nostrum resort is far from quiet..
An ok hotel if you are a family with kids, looking for activities around the clock
Loud music from the pool-area, poolactivities, salsa courses and so on, with extremely loud music all day long. In the evening there are live shows and concerts in thw ground floor, with a volume that reaches you both on your balcony and inside your room.

The food was low standard, the breakfast kantine was chaotic and loud. They do have a variety of food, but the standard is not 5 star.. We also tried ordering lunch at the two "vitaminas bars" and experienced slow waitresses with no english competence, and the food was not very good for that price.

In our room we had small ant-like animals crawling around, the cleeningstaff never dusted, just eashed the floors and madr the bed. We believe we had dirt towels when we asked for new ones. The airconditioningsystem was loud and outdated. So is the TV set and hairdryer in the bathroom.
We saw the need for a drying rack for wet bathingsuits and towels, but had none. The hotel advertises with wifi internet connetcion, but this was so poor and unreliable that we consider it to be non existent.

Room Tip: High floor, oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    479
    229
    111
    59
See reviews for
355
599
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't fall for the cheap champagne at check-in as its all down hill from here....

The hotel needs a complete refurb,

Faults:

- Lobby is dated, the lighting is falling apart and the chandelers are extremely dirty.
- The rooms are horrible, bathroom is mouldy and the cleaners do not clean the rooms on ocassions.
- The WiFi is free but does not work in the rooms.
- The tv remote does not work and the tv signal is v poor; you might as well hold a metal coat hanger out of the window.
- The hotel advertises a roof top terrace, but this has been closed for 2 years; false advertising.
- The rooms are not entirely soundproof.
- I asked for an iron and ironing board and got half an iron with missing parts and an ironing board that had a ripped cover.

....would I stay here again, absolutely no chance!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Somehow this place ends up looking much better on the photos than in reality.

First, the annoyances.

Room was advertised as “mountain view” and this was the biggest disappointment about this place. For £130 a night, we got a first floor apartment overlooking a busy street. No option to change that, as we were told. Additionally, we had booked a twin room (I was sharing with a friend), and on arrival it turned out that the 2 beds were less than a foot apart, with no option to move them further apart as there were cupboards fixed permanently to the walls on either side of the bed! Again, nothing could be done about that, and the receptionist admitted that they “get this kind of complaint quite a lot”. Ridiculous! The supposed mountain view probably meant “facing away from the sea” i.e. towards the interior of the island, where you can see the volcano in the far distance (it can be seen from practically any point of the island, so the “mountain view” isn’t really anything that you should base your decision on). Needless to say, sleep quality in a room overlooking a busy street isn't the most amazing.

Also the hotel isn’t beach-front. Another, nicer and more expensive, hotel from the same hotel group has access to the beach.

This is a giant hotel (480 rooms or so, as I was told), in itself part of a larger complex of 3 hotels! There must be close to 1000 rooms in total between them. This is not a bad thing in itself, but something to be aware of. It has got its advantages, such as: every taxi driver will know the place; reception will always be staffed; etc. Then on the other hand, you end up in one of the many identical looking rooms set along long, identical looking hallways. Pool does not have any ocean front views, but is practically surrounded from all sides by the imposed multi-story walls with literally hundreds of balconies overlooking the pool. At times we joked that the whole thing looked like taken out of 1960’s film set in a resort in Cuba..

Breakfast buffet has one of the largest selections that I’ve ever seen in a hotel, continental, English, fruit, everything really. Big plus for me. We didn’t try other meals in the restaurant.

Importantly, the hotel celebrated its 25 years since it was first opened, and the interiors really showed that age. Fake black leather sofas, mirrors everywhere, chandeliers as large as I’ve ever seen (those must have been 15 meters long I thought!). Again, not a bad thing in itself, because everything is maintained quite well, but the interiors are definitely not “chic” or “boutique”. For the price we ended up paying, not having either beach-front or even sea-views, and this kind of interiors, I would have expected more.

To be honest, I didn’t really feel like this was a 4 star hotel at all. Yes there was a nice touch in the form of complimentary glass of champagne on check-in, but the rooms were far from 4 star standard, and then there were these minor things such as signs telling you not to take any food from the breakfast buffet outside of the cafeteria, and in fact having a guy stood there checking if guests are sneaking out with the food – not really 4 star service, assuming that most of your guests are thieves, is it?

On the plus side, the reception staff were always really nice. Also we were allowed to stay in the hotel until 2pm on our check-out day, which was nice. Location is reasonably central within the resort (Los Christianos) but then again, most of the hotels in the town are located close to one another.

Overall, not the best value for money.

Room Tip: Mountain view aren't really mountain view, but facing a very busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This will be our 4th time at the hotel, and i can not wait went last year but stayed in a self catering
apt. On arrival made so welcome service great.
I do agree that a little fresh paint in the rooms is now needed and bathrooms.
Room attendents so helpful nothing too much trouble for them,
Hotel well situated for town and sea front. Food very good if you go hungry then you MUST be a
very fussy eater.

The glass of bubbly on arrival welcome after the flight.

Keep up the good work all of you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First time i have stayed here supposed to be a five star but i would rate it 4* it most probably was a 5* when it was built 25 years ago rooms were small couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom clean and tidy maid service was v-good. beat bacon i have ate in a hotel in Tenerife nice and crispy " if that'show you like it" nice area nice Restaurants some more expensive than others Bombay Blue if you like Indian. Best day was Saterday the 16th March Because we had a great game of rugby on the telly Wales 30 England 3 had to get that in. Will I go there again, might

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are 85 euros more expensive mountain view is a nice view they also look over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I had a look at this hotel in 2012, liked what we saw, once back home we booked a week at the end of Feb 2013. Never been in a 5 star hotel before was quite excited, had to pay 5 star monies and wait until 2013 before we could enjoy it.
Upon arrival all seemed good, glass of bubbley, a bell boy to help with luggage, smiley chatty reception, that's where the smiles ended. What miserable faces the staff seemed to have, sorry our cleaning lady gave us a couple.
Meal times, food was plenty but didn't think it was 5 star, certainly had better. The staff were after your plate,dishes before you had finished your last mouthful. Not a very calmy atmosphere, we were on holiday to chill out not to be rushed. Had to pay extra for a glass of water with your evening meal( what a cheek )
Our rooms were adequete, could have done with a deep clean and a lick of paint, I expected something alittle special THIS IS A 5 STAR HOTEL, paid 5 star monies.
Worse to come, smell from bathroom that filled all our room 3036 was sickening we had to move,which meant re packing suitcases and then unpacking not happy about, to be far staff were very quick to help and do. Sure management knew of this problem. Other guests complained of smells also in their rooms.
Not going to bore you with any more stuff, but owners and management of this hotel need to open their eyes, look at what prime location they have got, which is excellent, give this hotel some real TLC and make it a 5 star that stands out and to be proud of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What can I say, stayed here for 1 week with husband and family friends. The hotel is out of this world. The staff are fantastic, the pool is beautiful. Breakfast you had everything from English to continental, always being replenished. Situated right on the beach and very close to bars and restaurants. Definitely going back, so sad to leave there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.