We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very large hotel and very busy, particularly at meal times, although the food was good with lots of choice.
Rooms are pleasant although a little tired looking.
Staff are friendly and helpful
Joined in the water aerobics at the pool, I was on the beach at the time so that will indicate how loud the music was, so not the most relaxing place to stay. On the whole I think the loud music was the only negative experience for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    468
    229
    104
    58
See reviews for
338
578
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

THE GOOD --- The Mediterranean Palace Hotel (like The Cleopatra) is in an excellent location – probably one of the best in Tenerife. Part of the Mare Nostrum Resort - i have now stayed in both hotels.
All members of staff are extremely friendly and keen to help – however they are reactive rather than proactive as would staff be in a true 5 star hotel.
We went Bed and Breakfast and cannot fault choice or quality of breakfast – it was excellent.
Booked a pool view room and that’s what we got and we never really had a problem getting a sun lounger (despite the early birds putting towels down)
Entertainment every night – not of the highest standard but it was of a mixed variety and they all certainly tried their best -- there even was a mini market one of the nights selling mixture of goods – why – in a 5 star hotel?

THE BAD -- The Mediterranean Palace Hotel may be 25 years in existence and obtained a 5 Star rating but I suggest the 5 star rating was based on what it was like 25 years ago.
This hotel is very dated and is in need of maintenance (skirting boards hanging of walls in restaurant), a good painting (stairwells and corridors) and a rigorous cleaning starting with the bedrooms -- providing fresh towels and tyding rooms every day is not enough – some of the surfaces and doors in rooms and throughout the hotel were never cleaned during our stay
The extras in the hotel are a bit of a joke – you have to pay to use room fridge, 15 euro deposit for pool towel, vending machines with possibly the highest charges in Europe, chargeable water with evening meal, 1 euro for 30 seconds for checking weight of suit case (other local hotels free) AND if you want to use the table tennis (two extremely worn bats and a ball) you must pay a 5 euro deposit. These ‘extras’ / levies are a joke and The Mediterranean Palace Hotel must realise its 2013 not 1988.

I had serious problems with noise from another room on two subsequent nights – 1st night a party (we didn’t report) to ~04:00 – the second night with a TV at full volume we contacted reception at 02:00 – noise stopped at 02:33 – interesting when I enquired with customer relations the next day they had NO record of me contacting reception. They did contact me later to say that security had been unable to locate the source of the noise. They told me if any more issues to let them know -- a proper 5 star would have been proactive -- showed they cared and contacted me and at very minimum asked at check out.

SUMMARY -- Overall this is a pretty good hotel in a superb location. It’s quite expensive for what you get. I have stayed in numerous 5 star hotels and The Mediterranean Palace Hotel in my opinion does not qualify as a 5 star hotel / resort -- the attenion to detail is missing. Concern re individual issues are not addressed. At best I believe it’s probably a decent 3 star.

Room Tip: I stayed in pool view room -- suggest you need this as a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our 3rd stay in the Mediterranean palace from Feb 21st until March 2nd. Absolutely love this hotel because of the comfort around the pool, plenty of space and never had a problem getting a sun bed at any time of the day and because of its prime location right on the beach front.
We found all the staff most helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the lady that cleaned our room everyday went above and beyond what one would expect, even folding my pj's and putting the neatly on my pillow. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms need updating but the room has everything you could want with lots of English channels such as itv2, channel 4, film 4 and all the news channels. We loved the huge selection at the buffet breakfast and especially that it was served until 10.30am each morning. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked into Laguna Park II by travel agent stayed one night and was able to use late rooms to transfer here. Hotel Very helpful, due to industrial action had to stay for further night. Hotel staff gave us same discounted rate for extra night. Very clean has been decorated. Did go to Cleopatra on visit no soul there. This is nicer hotel. Very nice location at top of resort away from strip.

Room Tip: Chose pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, General Manager at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear MR x2x,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about the Hotel Cleopatra Palace with us.

The Cleopatra Palace is one of the tree Hotels that are part of the Mare Nostrum Resort. Each one has a different atmosphere. For example the Mediterranean Palace is a much more familiar Hotel with an incredible Kids Club divided into different ages, daily sport activities as spinning, stretching or aqua gym. The Cleopatra Palace Hotel however, offers a very calm atmosphere. You can go from one hotel to the other without getting to the street and use both swimming pools or the gym facilities no matter which hotel you have booked.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you in Mare Nostrum Resort during your next visit to Tenerife.

Bests regards,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Cleopatra last May and returned to Tenerife for Christmas but this time stayed in the sister hotel, the Mediterranean Palace (the blue and white one)
The cleaning standards are very good, with fresh towels daily but this hotel is a lot noisier than Cleopatra.
From about 07.00 you were woken every day by the noise of them cleaning the sun beds - this took about 2 hours we had paid extra for the pool view to avoid the noise of the busy road.
In the afternoon they have very loud music, which almost seems inappropriately loud for the hotel and its clientele, so having a siesta to catch up on sleep was also ruled out! If you want a peaceful swim or sunbathe then go next door to the Cleopatra.
The maid service could have been excellent as you had an evening turn down service, where they came back at night to change your towels and stock up your room for a second time - unfortunately our maid came between 18.00 and 19.00 so was inconvenient as we were often getting ready to go out at this time, so could not take advantage of this.
Our balcony door did not lock properly and although we were on a high floor it would have been easy enough to hop the balcony and get in
The restaurant was very noisy and more like a school canteen so we went to the Cleopatra for breakfast, a much more relaxing affair and an excellent choice of food. This is probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a holiday hotel - fresh pancakes, omelettes, toasties to order - a delicatessen to get your cold cuts of meat freshly sliced, a vast choice of fruit and at least 3 freshly squeezed juices every day, champagne, salmon, and much, much more...
I did enjoy my holiday but I would book the Cleopatra next time

Room Tip: stay in the Cleopatra - or at least have your breakfast there - much more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr / Mrs. KateandNeil1,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments, much appreciated as they help us detecting where we are failing and therefore continue working hard to satisfy you and make your stay an exceptional one.

It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace.
It´s true that the Mediterranean Palace is a more active hotel than the Cleopatra Palace with daily activities as aqua gym, spinning, live music, etc. But if you think that the music is too loud we beg you to speak directly with our Guest Relations and transmit your impressions in house.

I would take the opportunity to explain you that the noise you have mentioned of the cleaning machine has unfortunately to be don as hygienic measures , but this happens a couple of days every two or three months and starts approximately at 8:00am. We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

In reference to the maid service at your room we also hope you have contacted our staff during your holidays to transmit them your desire of making the maid come before 6pm of after 7pm, as it is at this moment when we can take the proper measures to make your holidays the best experience ever. The same happens with the balcony door. The rooms are checked before the entrance of our guests but if you detect something does not work properly we beg you to transmit it immediately to our staff.

Nothing could please us more than knowing that you will be returning to Mare Nostrum Resort in the near future.

Bests regards,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay for a week in feb from the glass of cava on arrival to check out the staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble,room on the first floor was very nice bed little hard but this is just a personal preference ask for extra pillow on way out to dinner by the time we got back the pillows were in our room.pool towels were supplied plenty of sunbeds and a very good poolside bar all of the staff just couldn't do enough for you always with a smile.you have use of the pool and spa at the cleopatra hotel next door, had a massage there it was excellent, we wouldnt hesitate in going back we book bed and breakfast great choice of breakfast though a little busy later in the morning

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with pool view as the front facing rooms face the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. christine s,

first of all thank you very much for the time you have invested writing such a nice review. It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Mediterranean Palace.

We would also like to thank you for your nice words towards our staff I will transmit your impressions to the team, they will be most satisfied.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.

Bests regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel may have been 5* 20-30yrs ago but it definitely is not now. I don't think the rooms have changed since it was built and they need upgraded. The bed was hard and it was very difficult to get comfy. Our room had a plug socket without a front on it that showed bare wires and the glass on the side table was chipped. The room was clean and big enough and the towels were good quality.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic at the weekend as the hotel was busy but quieter during the week. The food was fine and breakfast ran from 6.30-10.30am which was good as you could have a lie in if you wanted.

The hotel is in a good location and there is a gate to the beach which is handy. There are restaurants and bars across the road and a good car hire place that you could park your hire car in the car park underneath the shopping centre directly across from the hotel. Thai Botanico is worth a visit as are the other restaurants owed by the same chain.

The hotel charge for just about everything. If you want to use the gym you have to pay €6 per day. I would have thought this should be included in the hotel price. You also have to pay for the fridge in the room @ €2.75 per day which I thought a bit ridiculous. If you want to have breakfast in the Cleopatra you also have to pay extra. I decided after seeing all the charges I would not spend any money in the hotel at all so maybe these charges work in opposite in the long run.

Checkout is 12.00 which gives plenty of time to get packed. The hotel also gave us a courtesy room for 30mins later on which was good to get a shower ect.

Unless the rooms were upgraded I would not stay at this hotel again. However it is in a good location and the staff were very polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.