We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as its sister hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“not as good as its sister hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Cleopatra last May and returned to Tenerife for Christmas but this time stayed in the sister hotel, the Mediterranean Palace (the blue and white one)
The cleaning standards are very good, with fresh towels daily but this hotel is a lot noisier than Cleopatra.
From about 07.00 you were woken every day by the noise of them cleaning the sun beds - this took about 2 hours we had paid extra for the pool view to avoid the noise of the busy road.
In the afternoon they have very loud music, which almost seems inappropriately loud for the hotel and its clientele, so having a siesta to catch up on sleep was also ruled out! If you want a peaceful swim or sunbathe then go next door to the Cleopatra.
The maid service could have been excellent as you had an evening turn down service, where they came back at night to change your towels and stock up your room for a second time - unfortunately our maid came between 18.00 and 19.00 so was inconvenient as we were often getting ready to go out at this time, so could not take advantage of this.
Our balcony door did not lock properly and although we were on a high floor it would have been easy enough to hop the balcony and get in
The restaurant was very noisy and more like a school canteen so we went to the Cleopatra for breakfast, a much more relaxing affair and an excellent choice of food. This is probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a holiday hotel - fresh pancakes, omelettes, toasties to order - a delicatessen to get your cold cuts of meat freshly sliced, a vast choice of fruit and at least 3 freshly squeezed juices every day, champagne, salmon, and much, much more...
I did enjoy my holiday but I would book the Cleopatra next time

Room Tip: stay in the Cleopatra - or at least have your breakfast there - much more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr / Mrs. KateandNeil1,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments, much appreciated as they help us detecting where we are failing and therefore continue working hard to satisfy you and make your stay an exceptional one.

It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace.
It´s true that the Mediterranean Palace is a more active hotel than the Cleopatra Palace with daily activities as aqua gym, spinning, live music, etc. But if you think that the music is too loud we beg you to speak directly with our Guest Relations and transmit your impressions in house.

I would take the opportunity to explain you that the noise you have mentioned of the cleaning machine has unfortunately to be don as hygienic measures , but this happens a couple of days every two or three months and starts approximately at 8:00am. We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

In reference to the maid service at your room we also hope you have contacted our staff during your holidays to transmit them your desire of making the maid come before 6pm of after 7pm, as it is at this moment when we can take the proper measures to make your holidays the best experience ever. The same happens with the balcony door. The rooms are checked before the entrance of our guests but if you detect something does not work properly we beg you to transmit it immediately to our staff.

Nothing could please us more than knowing that you will be returning to Mare Nostrum Resort in the near future.

Bests regards,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    485
    230
    111
    59
See reviews for
359
603
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay for a week in feb from the glass of cava on arrival to check out the staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble,room on the first floor was very nice bed little hard but this is just a personal preference ask for extra pillow on way out to dinner by the time we got back the pillows were in our room.pool towels were supplied plenty of sunbeds and a very good poolside bar all of the staff just couldn't do enough for you always with a smile.you have use of the pool and spa at the cleopatra hotel next door, had a massage there it was excellent, we wouldnt hesitate in going back we book bed and breakfast great choice of breakfast though a little busy later in the morning

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with pool view as the front facing rooms face the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. christine s,

first of all thank you very much for the time you have invested writing such a nice review. It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Mediterranean Palace.

We would also like to thank you for your nice words towards our staff I will transmit your impressions to the team, they will be most satisfied.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.

Bests regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel may have been 5* 20-30yrs ago but it definitely is not now. I don't think the rooms have changed since it was built and they need upgraded. The bed was hard and it was very difficult to get comfy. Our room had a plug socket without a front on it that showed bare wires and the glass on the side table was chipped. The room was clean and big enough and the towels were good quality.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic at the weekend as the hotel was busy but quieter during the week. The food was fine and breakfast ran from 6.30-10.30am which was good as you could have a lie in if you wanted.

The hotel is in a good location and there is a gate to the beach which is handy. There are restaurants and bars across the road and a good car hire place that you could park your hire car in the car park underneath the shopping centre directly across from the hotel. Thai Botanico is worth a visit as are the other restaurants owed by the same chain.

The hotel charge for just about everything. If you want to use the gym you have to pay €6 per day. I would have thought this should be included in the hotel price. You also have to pay for the fridge in the room @ €2.75 per day which I thought a bit ridiculous. If you want to have breakfast in the Cleopatra you also have to pay extra. I decided after seeing all the charges I would not spend any money in the hotel at all so maybe these charges work in opposite in the long run.

Checkout is 12.00 which gives plenty of time to get packed. The hotel also gave us a courtesy room for 30mins later on which was good to get a shower ect.

Unless the rooms were upgraded I would not stay at this hotel again. However it is in a good location and the staff were very polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Check in - pretty seamless and the glass of cava was a nice touch. Had a pool view room on 3rd floor - lovely view of pool and sea. Yes rooms are a little dated but very clean. Bed was huge and comfy. Free WIFI which my daughter appreciated.
Pool was clean - if rather cold (not heated), however as the weather temp was rising through the week , the cold pool was a welcome relief. You had the usual "towels on sunbeds at breakfast", however plenty of sunbeds available no matter what time of day.
Breakfast - plenty of choice and chef making omelettes, pancakes to order.
It can get a little crowded at breakfast depending on time but what do you expect from a large hotel. Location of the hotel is spot on - no need for a car. Excellent restaurants across the road from the hotel in The Safari centre and access to the beach is via a gate just throught the pool area.
Beach - kept very clean and is sheltered so the water is very still/calm. If you want waves, then a short walk to the right you reach another beach with rock pools, waves and a surf school.

My only criticism is the entertainment room - salon imperial - we only experienced it once and that put is off for the week. It was so dark and the chairs were so uncomfortable. No bar in the room, only waiter service. Im sure much thought had gone into the design and planning of this room but Im sorry it just didnt work for me. For such a large hotel the room was pratically empty and I believe this to be the design of the room and not the entertainment - a shame really.

Overall - hotel is clean, spacious and in an excellent location and I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in Cleopatra Palace last time, thought we'd try Med Palace this time, room very dated, could have been cleaned more thoroughly, had to wash patio table ourselves, breakfast was a shambles, no comfort , plastic chairs and tables, tried it for one day then went to CP for breakfast, Much nicer!! We had a room with plunge pool, old fashioned TV's, no plug in bathroom, cleaner rang about it when we showed her, but nothing happened. WiFi connection was poor and very inconsistent in our room, but ok in reception. Can't fault location, convenient for everything. Definitely not 5*

Room Tip: Go to Cleopatra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Arrived by car plenty of parking spaces. efficient check in with welcome drink .
room clean and mountain view as booked. Very good evening meal in hotel restaurant.
A little noise from the strip but not enough to cause a nuisance. Very enjoyable
Bottle of wine from the hotel. Breakfasts a bit noisy but enough room to eat outside.
Good variety of food at breakfast. Vry quiet at lunchtime with a good selection meal was very relaxing and enjoyable outside eating. Rooms cleaned daily very efficiently.
Everywhere very clean. Am returning to sister hotel next month!

Room Tip: Afternoon sun on pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a perfectly adequate hotel, very well located, but is misrepresenting the facts claiming that it is of five star quality. The facade, entrance and public areas give a really encouraging first impression of promised opulence, and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. However the rooms are really pretty basic three star, again acceptable enough, but not appointed to five star standard (one sign of this is the small square box old fashioned CRT television with grainy picture) which were ‘cleaned’ daily, but only a very cursory run round (made the beds, not a lot else). On the plus side, free safe and mini fridge.
Breakfast was a bit of a cattle market. Plenty of choice but nothing special in terms of quality, and not quite enough staff to keep up with table clearing. We were B&B so can’t comment on other meals. As I said, very well located, right by the beach and with massive choice of bars and restaurants close by. Entertainment in hotel was not to our taste, but we were surprised that in a hotel of this size there was nowhere to relax with a nightcap on returning from our evening walkabout. Communal areas like a ghost town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.