We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - but not 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location - but not 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Check in - pretty seamless and the glass of cava was a nice touch. Had a pool view room on 3rd floor - lovely view of pool and sea. Yes rooms are a little dated but very clean. Bed was huge and comfy. Free WIFI which my daughter appreciated.
Pool was clean - if rather cold (not heated), however as the weather temp was rising through the week , the cold pool was a welcome relief. You had the usual "towels on sunbeds at breakfast", however plenty of sunbeds available no matter what time of day.
Breakfast - plenty of choice and chef making omelettes, pancakes to order.
It can get a little crowded at breakfast depending on time but what do you expect from a large hotel. Location of the hotel is spot on - no need for a car. Excellent restaurants across the road from the hotel in The Safari centre and access to the beach is via a gate just throught the pool area.
Beach - kept very clean and is sheltered so the water is very still/calm. If you want waves, then a short walk to the right you reach another beach with rock pools, waves and a surf school.

My only criticism is the entertainment room - salon imperial - we only experienced it once and that put is off for the week. It was so dark and the chairs were so uncomfortable. No bar in the room, only waiter service. Im sure much thought had gone into the design and planning of this room but Im sorry it just didnt work for me. For such a large hotel the room was pratically empty and I believe this to be the design of the room and not the entertainment - a shame really.

Overall - hotel is clean, spacious and in an excellent location and I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    648
    329
    135
    73
See reviews for
485
827
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in Cleopatra Palace last time, thought we'd try Med Palace this time, room very dated, could have been cleaned more thoroughly, had to wash patio table ourselves, breakfast was a shambles, no comfort , plastic chairs and tables, tried it for one day then went to CP for breakfast, Much nicer!! We had a room with plunge pool, old fashioned TV's, no plug in bathroom, cleaner rang about it when we showed her, but nothing happened. WiFi connection was poor and very inconsistent in our room, but ok in reception. Can't fault location, convenient for everything. Definitely not 5*

Room Tip: Go to Cleopatra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Arrived by car plenty of parking spaces. efficient check in with welcome drink .
room clean and mountain view as booked. Very good evening meal in hotel restaurant.
A little noise from the strip but not enough to cause a nuisance. Very enjoyable
Bottle of wine from the hotel. Breakfasts a bit noisy but enough room to eat outside.
Good variety of food at breakfast. Vry quiet at lunchtime with a good selection meal was very relaxing and enjoyable outside eating. Rooms cleaned daily very efficiently.
Everywhere very clean. Am returning to sister hotel next month!

Room Tip: Afternoon sun on pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a perfectly adequate hotel, very well located, but is misrepresenting the facts claiming that it is of five star quality. The facade, entrance and public areas give a really encouraging first impression of promised opulence, and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. However the rooms are really pretty basic three star, again acceptable enough, but not appointed to five star standard (one sign of this is the small square box old fashioned CRT television with grainy picture) which were ‘cleaned’ daily, but only a very cursory run round (made the beds, not a lot else). On the plus side, free safe and mini fridge.
Breakfast was a bit of a cattle market. Plenty of choice but nothing special in terms of quality, and not quite enough staff to keep up with table clearing. We were B&B so can’t comment on other meals. As I said, very well located, right by the beach and with massive choice of bars and restaurants close by. Entertainment in hotel was not to our taste, but we were surprised that in a hotel of this size there was nowhere to relax with a nightcap on returning from our evening walkabout. Communal areas like a ghost town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This must be our 8th visit to this hotel and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Tenerife. We love this hotel for its staff, food, location, cleanliness and always being able to find a vacant sunbed no matter what time of day.
The bedrooms are now just a bit dated but provide all you need - superking size bed although a little hard, television with BBC1, ITV and a few other English channels, safe, fridge and air conditioning. Bathroom towels can be changed every day and bed linen is changed every 3 days. Toiletries are provided but the hairdryer in the bathroom is not very efficient so perhaps take your own.
You pay a deposit of 15 euros cash per pool towel at reception which is refunded at the end of your holiday. During your stay you can exchange your towel as many times as your like with the towel station at both pool locations - Mediterranean and Cleopatra.
We always stay on a half board basis as we find the food and choices excellent both at breakfast and dinner.Cava is provided every morning if you fancy it - not for me though. At dinner there are two choices of both meat and fish every night on the grill counter together with a choice of either meat or fish on the carvery. In addition to this there are other choices of meat and fish both on the cold counter and hot counter so something for everyone - vegetarian as well. My favourite is their rice pudding which I always look forward to even though it's served cold.
There is a snack bar at both the Mediterranean pool and Cleopatra pool (guests at the Mediterranean can also use this pool). A new feature this time is a small 'convenience store' where the old ground floor shop used to be. Here you can buy your papers, toiletries but also snack items - we found the ham/cheese small baguette for 2 euros very good value but toiletries expensive and better to visit the local santiago supermarket down the road on opposite side for better value and more selection.TIP - buy your suncreams in the UK as very expensive in Tenerife.
The nearest currency exchange we found to be at the side of the hotel Vulcano which is about 4minutes walk away.
There is a taxi rank outside the hotel which charges about 25 euros to the airport one way and takes approx. 15-20 mins.
If you fancy an afternoon tea and cake I can recommend La Barca - out of the hotel turn right pass the Compostela Beach Complex to the Vista Sur shopping centre where La Barca is. When we were there they had a choice of about 20 magnificent gateaux - spoilt for choice and about 3 euros a slice.
Gelatomania - the best ice cream parlour ever is near the hotel Gran Tinerfe on Geranium seaside walk where I counted 96 flavours the day we were there - well worth visiting.
There is entertainment every night in the Salon Imperial with the resident band and some guest acts but it was not to our taste so most nights we visited the local bars.
The nearest local bus stop is across the road and a little further up to the front of the hotel Vulcano.(Bus stop is called Guardia Civil)
Looking forward now at some future date of staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 3 week stay at this hotel. It is a lovely setting and was once a premium hotel ,however it is now a bit on the jaded side .When we arrived were made to stand and wait 30 mins to check in, then shown to a small double bedded room on the main road, on the round about, they call mountain view room .We rejected this and were charged 400E extra for a pool and sea view. We were moved 2 days later. The room was still to small but the view and balcony made it acceptable The beds are rock hard. had the same drinking glass for the whole of our stay. If it was washed it was left in the bathroom basin. The same bath robes for 3 weeks. Lovely pool area, and the use of the pool of the sister hotel, this was heated .Very quiet.

The dineing room is furnished with what seems to be plastic garden chairs. Be ready for the chaos at meal times. Don't bother to pack evening cloths. Had a lovely holiday there. Be aware of the extra charges. So be sure to pre book before you go.

Room Tip: Book sea and pool view before you travel. We were not alone paying an extra charge. Its a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel. To say we were disappointed is an understatement! The first room we were given was a 'standard mountain view'. Where to start... It was tiny, dated, dirty, in disrepair and smelt disgusting. Please see pics.
After complaining, we were offered an upgrade to a suite with pool view at the cost of an extra 250€. The complaint was handled very well by Theresa and Khalil (a credit to the hotel). The second room was nice (not great) and much cleaner although still dated.
There is a policy that sunbeds were not to be reserved with towels but this was not enforced. Many had towels on all day with nobody using them. It was difficult at times to find two empty ones together.
If we were going to spend the extra money on a hotel, we would have picked a proper 4 or 5*. I don't know who awards the stars but this could never be classed as more than 2* in the UK.
On the positive side, the hotel is in a fabulous location and we had amazing weather!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#13 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#2 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Tenerife
Best Tenerife
#23 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#7 of 60 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#25 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.