We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little winter sunshine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little winter sunshine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I believe they must have added two stars extra sometime during the cover of darkness, this hotel was NEVER a five star rating in our opinion.
Stayed at the hotel 5th to 12th Jan 2012.
Without being too negative, the food and staff were superb but the room had a smell of foist, the bathroom ceiling was black in a 4' x 2' area, the bathroom floor had not been cleaned or even swept prior to us entering which become blatantly obvious when I lay on the bed and my wifes comment regarding the colour of the soles of my feet!!
There was 1970's black furniture and a tv from the same period, no iron or tea making facilities, a basic expectation in a 5 star rating hotel.
Paid additional for a pool view which for a number of level 1 rooms including ours, this was very restricted by a series of high palm trees.

To their credit they did splash some paint over the damp patch on the bathroom ceiling (and the floor!!) on the third day, perhaps out of embarrisment.
We have used a number of 4 & 5 star hotels in various countries which leave this one in the distance.
Tried but not to return.

Room Tip: Unfotunately can't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    520
    256
    118
    65
See reviews for
389
664
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel 4th-11th January 2013. We usually stay at the Cleopatra Palace but there were no pool view rooms available so we booked a sea view room at the Med Palace. We arrived a little early at 1330ish but the room wasn't ready until approx 1430. We booked in ok and received the usual glass of cava-very nice. We were allocated room 5017 which was nice but we lost the sun at 1500 which was a bit disappointing. As usual for the Mare Nostrum the safe was free of charge but the use of the room fridge is still charged-this is mean spirited. WiFi in the room was good but the shower curtain needs shortening as it is a trip hazard when using the shower. Breakfast was the usual high standard with good quality and variety. Overall we prefer the Cleopatra Palace. The weather was fantastic all week.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect Location and service to match 5 star rating.
Staff and service was superb. Secure gate onto the beach, Safari Shopping Centre across from hotel.
Breakfast served plentiful and varied selection of food.

Wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: High floor for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from the 5th to the 12th January.

On arrival I was wowed by the effort of the christmas decorations in the main reception area of which was lovely anyway. We were greeted with Champagne and very friendly and efficient staff and checked in very quickly.

Our room was spotless and overlooked the pool which was lovely with a large modern bathroom. Great power shower. The room is not the largest but is sufficient and had a lovely balcony.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis and dont normally get up in time for breakfast but we were on holiday with another couple and made the effort and I am glad we did as this was amazing. There was a massive range from continental choices, an omlette station of which were freshly made for you, fresh cut fruit, pastries, cooked breakfast and cereal station. There was also a patio area which overlooked the pool of which you could sit and eat breakfast which was lovely.

We never had an evening meal in the hotel as we were right across from the Safari centre which has a vast range of restuarants. One night we went to the Watermelon Restauarant in Los Christianos and they had Pina Coladas to die for and the meal itself was amazing with the best tiramisu I have ever eaten. So I cannot comment on the evening meals in the hotel.

The pool area is lovely although I can imagine it would get quite busy in the summer months but you are allowed to use the Cleopatra pool and sunbeds which is only a stones throw away. The hotel offer a towel deposit scheme if you pay 15 euros deposit you get a card and when you hand in the card you get a clean towel which we did every day and on departure handed back the cards and received back the deposit. It was perdect and had I know this in advance would not have bothered taking any beach towels with me. There is a pool table and table tennis table which breaks up the sunbathing and if you like to join in there was aqua Aerobics every day at 12 noon of which I just watched.

We had stayed in tenerife in the summertime and went to Siam Park the water park which we visited again. It was great and did not have to queue as we did in the summer. Theonly thing was that some of the slides were closed as I presume because it is the winter but still enjoyed it.

Overall the staff at the hotel were always really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

I would definately stay here again and would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a hight floor if you are a late sleeper as if you are on a lower floor and facing the pool y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

on arrival we were pleased with the look of the reception area but disappointment quickly followed when we were informed our room wouldn't be ready for another 2hours, at least it'll be clean i thought ha ha if only that was the case! when we finally received our keys i was pleased to see the rooms were inter-connecting and we could keep an eye on our children. then the smell of our bathroom hit me, it literally stank, i checked the one next door and it was fine, only ours smelt like an over used festival toilet, i looked around the room and there was a layer of dust on the antiquated 80's black ash furniture,under the bed was grubby and i don't think the skirting boards had ever seen a duster, the spare pillow in the wardrobe had no cover and was stained and pretty vile, there were ants on the dresser and when i pulled the bed sheet back i was horrified to see BLOOD on the unchanged sheets! even the girl at reception had the good grace to be horrified when i went to complain, a cleaner appeared a short time later and changed the bed and added pillows, i was afraid to look under the cover incase it was still the same grubby pillow,the dust was still visible and the ant problem persisted, maybe if the floors were actually swept it would make a difference, and not once did any member of management come to appologise, feel this hotel is resting on the location card, however to guarantee returning guests it needs a major refurb and perhaps send the cleaning staff on a 'how to clean properly course' credit where it's due the pool is fab and the sunbeds plentiful, breakfast was good with a great choice, however the queue to get in was a bit 3 star, would i return? unlikely with so many other 4/5 star hotels to choose from!

Room Tip: don't choose 1033 as the bathroom smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Dear Mr./Mrs Themerrymillers,

first of all let me thank you very much for the time you have invested transmitting us your impressions about your recent stay at the Hotel Mediterranean Palace.

Every single comment is of the utmost importance to us. We have started a strict monitoring of the services you mentioned.

As we work to achieve the highest standards of cleanliness and quality, we have checked point by point with the maid the entire room cleaning process as we cannot accept anything but the best conditions for our guests. During this process we have found out that the maid who prepared your room had an incident on her finger that day and not noticed it when doing your room so the sheets got stained by mistake. Trust us when saying it, if we were not sure of this we would take the appropriate measures, given the gravity of the incident. We are glad to know that once you reported the incident to our receptionist, our staff took immediate action and corrected the mistake.

Just for your tranquillity I would like to inform you that Mare Nostrum Resort follows the fumigation plans required by the Spanish laws. Unfortunately due to our tropical temperatures and intermittent Sahara winds can cause the apparition of annoying insects. We will of course take special care of this and if necessary increase this fumigation.

Trust us when I say we will continue working hard with the room division management and their team.

We really hope to have the chance to show you that we maintain the highest standards of quality and welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Hotel has a beautiful ambiance, The food is adeqate and plentiful but not luxurious. The dining experience is that of a Caffeteria rather than a supposedly 5 star hotel.
It is an ideal hotel with parents with lots of bold children, but not for couples.
The entertainment was poor, with one or two good shows, and the ballroom where the shows
were carried on was cold all the time. The children were permited to run riot until all hours.
I would not recommend this hotel in holiday time, but would be nice when all the childen are in
school. The beach attached is devine.!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor or above. Pick a room centre to left side overlooking the pool, to get the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We always return to this hotel every year.
Each year nothing seems to change its desperate for a face lift.
It's hadn't been decorated for at least 15 years.

Apart from that the staff are friendly, children's club is great , pool area is clean, food is average.

This hotel is in a great location of shops, bars and restaurants.

Lets hope they give this hotel a touch up or they will be losing a lot of customers.

We paid for a pool view for the new year although it always more expensive that time of year costing €2600 for 11 days our view was a palm tree and u could just manage to see the pool.

You wouldn't mind paying that but they desperately need to spend out in doing the rooms out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.