on arrival we were pleased with the look of the reception area but disappointment quickly followed when we were informed our room wouldn't be ready for another 2hours, at least it'll be clean i thought ha ha if only that was the case! when we finally received our keys i was pleased to see the rooms were inter-connecting and we could keep an eye on our children. then the smell of our bathroom hit me, it literally stank, i checked the one next door and it was fine, only ours smelt like an over used festival toilet, i looked around the room and there was a layer of dust on the antiquated 80's black ash furniture,under the bed was grubby and i don't think the skirting boards had ever seen a duster, the spare pillow in the wardrobe had no cover and was stained and pretty vile, there were ants on the dresser and when i pulled the bed sheet back i was horrified to see BLOOD on the unchanged sheets! even the girl at reception had the good grace to be horrified when i went to complain, a cleaner appeared a short time later and changed the bed and added pillows, i was afraid to look under the cover incase it was still the same grubby pillow,the dust was still visible and the ant problem persisted, maybe if the floors were actually swept it would make a difference, and not once did any member of management come to appologise, feel this hotel is resting on the location card, however to guarantee returning guests it needs a major refurb and perhaps send the cleaning staff on a 'how to clean properly course' credit where it's due the pool is fab and the sunbeds plentiful, breakfast was good with a great choice, however the queue to get in was a bit 3 star, would i return? unlikely with so many other 4/5 star hotels to choose from!
don't choose 1033 as the bathroom smells
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January 17, 2013
Dear Dear Mr./Mrs Themerrymillers,
Report response as inappropriate
first of all let me thank you very much for the time you have invested transmitting us your impressions about your recent stay at the Hotel Mediterranean Palace.
Every single comment is of the utmost importance to us. We have started a strict monitoring of the services you mentioned.
As we work to achieve the highest standards of cleanliness and quality, we have checked point by point with the maid the entire room cleaning process as we cannot accept anything but the best conditions for our guests. During this process we have found out that the maid who prepared your room had an incident on her finger that day and not noticed it when doing your room so the sheets got stained by mistake. Trust us when saying it, if we were not sure of this we would take the appropriate measures, given the gravity of the incident. We are glad to know that once you reported the incident to our receptionist, our staff took immediate action and corrected the mistake.
Just for your tranquillity I would like to inform you that Mare Nostrum Resort follows the fumigation plans required by the Spanish laws. Unfortunately due to our tropical temperatures and intermittent Sahara winds can cause the apparition of annoying insects. We will of course take special care of this and if necessary increase this fumigation.
Trust us when I say we will continue working hard with the room division management and their team.
We really hope to have the chance to show you that we maintain the highest standards of quality and welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.