We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect Location and service to match 5 star rating.
Staff and service was superb. Secure gate onto the beach, Safari Shopping Centre across from hotel.
Breakfast served plentiful and varied selection of food.

Wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: High floor for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    479
    232
    109
    58
See reviews for
347
589
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from the 5th to the 12th January.

On arrival I was wowed by the effort of the christmas decorations in the main reception area of which was lovely anyway. We were greeted with Champagne and very friendly and efficient staff and checked in very quickly.

Our room was spotless and overlooked the pool which was lovely with a large modern bathroom. Great power shower. The room is not the largest but is sufficient and had a lovely balcony.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis and dont normally get up in time for breakfast but we were on holiday with another couple and made the effort and I am glad we did as this was amazing. There was a massive range from continental choices, an omlette station of which were freshly made for you, fresh cut fruit, pastries, cooked breakfast and cereal station. There was also a patio area which overlooked the pool of which you could sit and eat breakfast which was lovely.

We never had an evening meal in the hotel as we were right across from the Safari centre which has a vast range of restuarants. One night we went to the Watermelon Restauarant in Los Christianos and they had Pina Coladas to die for and the meal itself was amazing with the best tiramisu I have ever eaten. So I cannot comment on the evening meals in the hotel.

The pool area is lovely although I can imagine it would get quite busy in the summer months but you are allowed to use the Cleopatra pool and sunbeds which is only a stones throw away. The hotel offer a towel deposit scheme if you pay 15 euros deposit you get a card and when you hand in the card you get a clean towel which we did every day and on departure handed back the cards and received back the deposit. It was perdect and had I know this in advance would not have bothered taking any beach towels with me. There is a pool table and table tennis table which breaks up the sunbathing and if you like to join in there was aqua Aerobics every day at 12 noon of which I just watched.

We had stayed in tenerife in the summertime and went to Siam Park the water park which we visited again. It was great and did not have to queue as we did in the summer. Theonly thing was that some of the slides were closed as I presume because it is the winter but still enjoyed it.

Overall the staff at the hotel were always really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

I would definately stay here again and would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a hight floor if you are a late sleeper as if you are on a lower floor and facing the pool y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

on arrival we were pleased with the look of the reception area but disappointment quickly followed when we were informed our room wouldn't be ready for another 2hours, at least it'll be clean i thought ha ha if only that was the case! when we finally received our keys i was pleased to see the rooms were inter-connecting and we could keep an eye on our children. then the smell of our bathroom hit me, it literally stank, i checked the one next door and it was fine, only ours smelt like an over used festival toilet, i looked around the room and there was a layer of dust on the antiquated 80's black ash furniture,under the bed was grubby and i don't think the skirting boards had ever seen a duster, the spare pillow in the wardrobe had no cover and was stained and pretty vile, there were ants on the dresser and when i pulled the bed sheet back i was horrified to see BLOOD on the unchanged sheets! even the girl at reception had the good grace to be horrified when i went to complain, a cleaner appeared a short time later and changed the bed and added pillows, i was afraid to look under the cover incase it was still the same grubby pillow,the dust was still visible and the ant problem persisted, maybe if the floors were actually swept it would make a difference, and not once did any member of management come to appologise, feel this hotel is resting on the location card, however to guarantee returning guests it needs a major refurb and perhaps send the cleaning staff on a 'how to clean properly course' credit where it's due the pool is fab and the sunbeds plentiful, breakfast was good with a great choice, however the queue to get in was a bit 3 star, would i return? unlikely with so many other 4/5 star hotels to choose from!

Room Tip: don't choose 1033 as the bathroom smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Dear Mr./Mrs Themerrymillers,

first of all let me thank you very much for the time you have invested transmitting us your impressions about your recent stay at the Hotel Mediterranean Palace.

Every single comment is of the utmost importance to us. We have started a strict monitoring of the services you mentioned.

As we work to achieve the highest standards of cleanliness and quality, we have checked point by point with the maid the entire room cleaning process as we cannot accept anything but the best conditions for our guests. During this process we have found out that the maid who prepared your room had an incident on her finger that day and not noticed it when doing your room so the sheets got stained by mistake. Trust us when saying it, if we were not sure of this we would take the appropriate measures, given the gravity of the incident. We are glad to know that once you reported the incident to our receptionist, our staff took immediate action and corrected the mistake.

Just for your tranquillity I would like to inform you that Mare Nostrum Resort follows the fumigation plans required by the Spanish laws. Unfortunately due to our tropical temperatures and intermittent Sahara winds can cause the apparition of annoying insects. We will of course take special care of this and if necessary increase this fumigation.

Trust us when I say we will continue working hard with the room division management and their team.

We really hope to have the chance to show you that we maintain the highest standards of quality and welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Hotel has a beautiful ambiance, The food is adeqate and plentiful but not luxurious. The dining experience is that of a Caffeteria rather than a supposedly 5 star hotel.
It is an ideal hotel with parents with lots of bold children, but not for couples.
The entertainment was poor, with one or two good shows, and the ballroom where the shows
were carried on was cold all the time. The children were permited to run riot until all hours.
I would not recommend this hotel in holiday time, but would be nice when all the childen are in
school. The beach attached is devine.!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor or above. Pick a room centre to left side overlooking the pool, to get the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We always return to this hotel every year.
Each year nothing seems to change its desperate for a face lift.
It's hadn't been decorated for at least 15 years.

Apart from that the staff are friendly, children's club is great , pool area is clean, food is average.

This hotel is in a great location of shops, bars and restaurants.

Lets hope they give this hotel a touch up or they will be losing a lot of customers.

We paid for a pool view for the new year although it always more expensive that time of year costing €2600 for 11 days our view was a palm tree and u could just manage to see the pool.

You wouldn't mind paying that but they desperately need to spend out in doing the rooms out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel may have been a 5 star when it opened, but from our experience at Christmas, it was more like a 3 or maybe just a 4 star at a push.
On our arrival we thought we had already paid for a pool/sea view, but instead we were facing a busy road. We ended up paying another €250 on top of the £2280.00 for B/B for a two week holiday. The food was very basic and luke warm and most of the time only one out of four of the tea/coffee machines were working. There was not tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The bathroom was outdated, with chunks missing out of the rim of the bath and the enamel pealing off from around the bath over flow. The shower leaked all over the floor and filler around the tiles was black. The hair dryer when on if you was lucky just about blew your hair.
The furniture in the room was very outdated as well, with an old portable TV.
The staff in the hotel wasn't very friendly. The cleaner and one man on reception were the only ones who spoke to you.
We have never been on holiday where nobody said good morning or hello. Christmas morning, everybody seemed to be walking around with long faces, if you said 'happy Xmas' you might of heard some sort of a grunt back.

The main reception area was in need of updating, with all the mirror pillars damaged and the larger lights thick with dust.

Most mornings the maintained at 8am where cleaning the sun beds with a jet wash which echoed into your rooms.

On the good side, the pool area was lovely, with plenty of sun beds and the aqua aerobics was excellent ( even though I didn't participate. But it was very entertaining). The drinks at the pool bar was very expensive with a small coke costing €4.50.

I never normally complain about experiences at an hotel/apartments, but this has really put me off returning. It was a very expensive holiday ( we know you pay more for Xmas, as go go away every year at Xmas) and we could have gone on a long haul for what we paid for this holiday. If we had paid half the price, I don't think I would be complaining as much, because we say you get what you pay for. But we definitely didn't get what we paid for......! But I would hate other people to go here and be as disappointed as we were.

Would I return to this hotel? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Defiantly pool/sea facing as the sun is on this side and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked via the hotel's own website a suite for the 31/12/2012. The cost of this room for one night was just over 1,000 euros. When we went to check in on 31/12/2012, the hotel's receptionist handed me gala tickets for that night. I explained we did not need these as we had already booked (and paid for) another restaurant nearby which we were attending with friends. Once the receptionist realised this, he laughed and said "did you really think one room is a 1,000 euros".! I asked for the manager to which I was told he/she will be on duty from 17:00 that day and I would receive a call. No call or message was received.

When we got to our room, we had been positioned over the pool area which had been converted for the gala evening by tables and a stage. There must of been over 2000 seats around the pool area. We were at least thankful that our children were sleeping in an adjoining room which overlooked a quieter part of the hotel. We realised it was going to be a noisy evening but it was New Year Eve so we went with the flow. We returned to our hotel room around 1:00 to hear the live music still continuing and this finally stopped around 3:00. Again we had no major issues with that however we were then woken with the noise of scaffold firms taking down the stage set and hotel staff shouting as they were removing the tables and chairs in preparation for the sunlounger team.! This noise continued throughout the entire night and at 08:00 the following morning, I we straight to reception to complain about the noise and no communication from the hotel's management. The receptionist said she was sorry but the hotel had to get the pool area ready for loungers by 09:00 that morning. I again asked to speak to a member of the management to which I was told there would be no one there until 09:00.

After packing, I proceeded back to reception to checkout whereby I was met by "Suzanna" who was the manager that day. We sat down and I explained about the laughing receptionist, no call the previous day, the cost of the night, no explanation about the gala dinner on their website and the noise throughout the night. She couldn't give me a part refund but said she would speak to the management to see what could be done. This was over 8 days ago and surprise surprise, we have not heard a peep from the hotel.

Regardless of our terrible experience of this hotel, I would only rate it as a 2 / 3 star hotel as it is very tired and in need of some desperate modernisation (the replacement low energy light bulbs handing out of the fittings by 20cm is laughable). I can only assume it commands such high prices due to its location. However for the money, a 5 star service and a better location, go to the Bahia del Duque hotel / resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. James C,

thank you very much for the time you have taken transmitting us your impressions about your stay at Mare Nostrum Resort. It indeed means a lot to us as every shared impression helps us improving our service.

I´m pleasant to inform you we have contacted you personally by e-mail as our manager told you we would do.

If you have any kind of question do not hesitate to contact us directly , it will be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Please, accept my most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I still hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Mare Nostrum Resort once again.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.