We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel may have been a 5 star when it opened, but from our experience at Christmas, it was more like a 3 or maybe just a 4 star at a push.
On our arrival we thought we had already paid for a pool/sea view, but instead we were facing a busy road. We ended up paying another €250 on top of the £2280.00 for B/B for a two week holiday. The food was very basic and luke warm and most of the time only one out of four of the tea/coffee machines were working. There was not tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The bathroom was outdated, with chunks missing out of the rim of the bath and the enamel pealing off from around the bath over flow. The shower leaked all over the floor and filler around the tiles was black. The hair dryer when on if you was lucky just about blew your hair.
The furniture in the room was very outdated as well, with an old portable TV.
The staff in the hotel wasn't very friendly. The cleaner and one man on reception were the only ones who spoke to you.
We have never been on holiday where nobody said good morning or hello. Christmas morning, everybody seemed to be walking around with long faces, if you said 'happy Xmas' you might of heard some sort of a grunt back.

The main reception area was in need of updating, with all the mirror pillars damaged and the larger lights thick with dust.

Most mornings the maintained at 8am where cleaning the sun beds with a jet wash which echoed into your rooms.

On the good side, the pool area was lovely, with plenty of sun beds and the aqua aerobics was excellent ( even though I didn't participate. But it was very entertaining). The drinks at the pool bar was very expensive with a small coke costing €4.50.

I never normally complain about experiences at an hotel/apartments, but this has really put me off returning. It was a very expensive holiday ( we know you pay more for Xmas, as go go away every year at Xmas) and we could have gone on a long haul for what we paid for this holiday. If we had paid half the price, I don't think I would be complaining as much, because we say you get what you pay for. But we definitely didn't get what we paid for......! But I would hate other people to go here and be as disappointed as we were.

Would I return to this hotel? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Defiantly pool/sea facing as the sun is on this side and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    529
    259
    120
    66
See reviews for
391
678
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked via the hotel's own website a suite for the 31/12/2012. The cost of this room for one night was just over 1,000 euros. When we went to check in on 31/12/2012, the hotel's receptionist handed me gala tickets for that night. I explained we did not need these as we had already booked (and paid for) another restaurant nearby which we were attending with friends. Once the receptionist realised this, he laughed and said "did you really think one room is a 1,000 euros".! I asked for the manager to which I was told he/she will be on duty from 17:00 that day and I would receive a call. No call or message was received.

When we got to our room, we had been positioned over the pool area which had been converted for the gala evening by tables and a stage. There must of been over 2000 seats around the pool area. We were at least thankful that our children were sleeping in an adjoining room which overlooked a quieter part of the hotel. We realised it was going to be a noisy evening but it was New Year Eve so we went with the flow. We returned to our hotel room around 1:00 to hear the live music still continuing and this finally stopped around 3:00. Again we had no major issues with that however we were then woken with the noise of scaffold firms taking down the stage set and hotel staff shouting as they were removing the tables and chairs in preparation for the sunlounger team.! This noise continued throughout the entire night and at 08:00 the following morning, I we straight to reception to complain about the noise and no communication from the hotel's management. The receptionist said she was sorry but the hotel had to get the pool area ready for loungers by 09:00 that morning. I again asked to speak to a member of the management to which I was told there would be no one there until 09:00.

After packing, I proceeded back to reception to checkout whereby I was met by "Suzanna" who was the manager that day. We sat down and I explained about the laughing receptionist, no call the previous day, the cost of the night, no explanation about the gala dinner on their website and the noise throughout the night. She couldn't give me a part refund but said she would speak to the management to see what could be done. This was over 8 days ago and surprise surprise, we have not heard a peep from the hotel.

Regardless of our terrible experience of this hotel, I would only rate it as a 2 / 3 star hotel as it is very tired and in need of some desperate modernisation (the replacement low energy light bulbs handing out of the fittings by 20cm is laughable). I can only assume it commands such high prices due to its location. However for the money, a 5 star service and a better location, go to the Bahia del Duque hotel / resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. James C,

thank you very much for the time you have taken transmitting us your impressions about your stay at Mare Nostrum Resort. It indeed means a lot to us as every shared impression helps us improving our service.

I´m pleasant to inform you we have contacted you personally by e-mail as our manager told you we would do.

If you have any kind of question do not hesitate to contact us directly , it will be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Please, accept my most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I still hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Mare Nostrum Resort once again.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Mediterranean Palace. The main reason why we keep going back is the location and the fact that this time we booked our trip to Tenerife last minute. Although it is advertised as a 5 star hotel, it is definitely not 5 star standard. The hotel is looking tired and we had a few issues while we were there - hot water was not working (and was intermittent in the mornings), the fridge wasn't working (and they charge 2 euros a day to use the fridge!) and the pillows are so small! That said, the staff are friendly, the breakfast buffet is good and the location is excellent. I will try and look for an alternative hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool (and therefore overlooking the beach) and get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel from the outside looks great ...the only draw back is mealtimes where it really is crazy with hundreds of people descending at the same time...whilst there is a lot of choice it spread over a large area so you keep going backwards and forwards.....and the food is only Luke warm...however the pool is great....go bed and breakfast as there are lots of good quality bars and restaurants on your doorstep.......I wouldn't class as 5 star...more like 3

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel is very unusual in its layout, with its indoor water feature and open plan common area. The staff are very pleasant and very helpful. We had breakfast most mornings and while there was plenty of variety, the menu was the same every day. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and modern. We had a room on the road side which was fine, but the pool side rooms get the sun all day, there is an extra charge for rooms on the pool side. Overall I would recommend this hotel and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mediterranean Palace for one night at the end of our holiday in Tenerife. On entering the hotel the reception area looks very impressive. On checking in we were asked to wait whilst our room was ready. Half an hour later we were given our room key. The room was tired and dated with a film of dust on the chest of drawers. It was more like a room in a 2-3 star hotel.
The pool area was large with no shortage of sunbeds. Breakfast the next day was ok with a large varied selection but my wife was put off when she saw a cockroach crawling across the floor (which wasn`t particularly clean). After breakfast we went for a walk . On returning to our room the key would no longer work - even though it was still 1 hour before checkout time. I then spent 20 minutes waiting at reception for the key to be reinstated with no explanation or apology.
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of street noise can be heard from the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visit Playa de las Americas most years at the beginning of December, and since 2009 we have returned every year to the Mediterranean Palace.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Right on the beach, shopping centres on the doorstep and lovely walks in either direction. Leaving the hotel from the pool area turn left heading to Los Cristianos (approx 10-15 mins) and you will find a great choice of bars and restaurants with lovely views over Playa las Vistas. Turn right and the lovely seafront walk goes on for miles, again with some lovely bars and restaurants.

Inside the hotel the public areas are lovely and generally well maintained. Check-in can get very busy and a wait can sometimes be expected, although we have been lucky and never really had an issue. The glass of cava is always welcome. Staff in the main are friendly and helpful. The few issues we have had have always been quickly and efficiently rectified.

We always book a Suite with private plunge pool. It is true (and sad) that the interior of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. The furniture is old, well worn and really needing updated. But the beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works well. I can't agree with those that claim the cleaning staff aren't up to scratch. Our maids have always been exceptionally friendly and happy to help, doing a grand job of keeping the room clean. The biggest draw to the hotel for us though is the private plunge pool on the balcony - this negates the problem of looking for a sunbed by the pool - although the pool area always had plenty beds available.

Breakfast is a standard affair with a good choice available and new coffee machines - which grind the beans freshly for a lovely cup of coffee.

On our last day we had a courtesy room which was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. As others have suggested it is worth paying the small amount extra to a pool or sea view - although the interior of the room is the same, these rooms get the sun for most of the day and offer a much nicer view.

The value for money that this hotel offers is tremendous. The rooms do not live up to the 5* rating, but the facilities available and the staff really do make this a great hotel to choose.

Room Tip: Choose a pool or sea view room - or splash out and go for a room with private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.