We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Mediterranean Palace. The main reason why we keep going back is the location and the fact that this time we booked our trip to Tenerife last minute. Although it is advertised as a 5 star hotel, it is definitely not 5 star standard. The hotel is looking tired and we had a few issues while we were there - hot water was not working (and was intermittent in the mornings), the fridge wasn't working (and they charge 2 euros a day to use the fridge!) and the pillows are so small! That said, the staff are friendly, the breakfast buffet is good and the location is excellent. I will try and look for an alternative hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool (and therefore overlooking the beach) and get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    587
    302
    130
    68
See reviews for
429
750
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel from the outside looks great ...the only draw back is mealtimes where it really is crazy with hundreds of people descending at the same time...whilst there is a lot of choice it spread over a large area so you keep going backwards and forwards.....and the food is only Luke warm...however the pool is great....go bed and breakfast as there are lots of good quality bars and restaurants on your doorstep.......I wouldn't class as 5 star...more like 3

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel is very unusual in its layout, with its indoor water feature and open plan common area. The staff are very pleasant and very helpful. We had breakfast most mornings and while there was plenty of variety, the menu was the same every day. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and modern. We had a room on the road side which was fine, but the pool side rooms get the sun all day, there is an extra charge for rooms on the pool side. Overall I would recommend this hotel and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mediterranean Palace for one night at the end of our holiday in Tenerife. On entering the hotel the reception area looks very impressive. On checking in we were asked to wait whilst our room was ready. Half an hour later we were given our room key. The room was tired and dated with a film of dust on the chest of drawers. It was more like a room in a 2-3 star hotel.
The pool area was large with no shortage of sunbeds. Breakfast the next day was ok with a large varied selection but my wife was put off when she saw a cockroach crawling across the floor (which wasn`t particularly clean). After breakfast we went for a walk . On returning to our room the key would no longer work - even though it was still 1 hour before checkout time. I then spent 20 minutes waiting at reception for the key to be reinstated with no explanation or apology.
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of street noise can be heard from the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visit Playa de las Americas most years at the beginning of December, and since 2009 we have returned every year to the Mediterranean Palace.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Right on the beach, shopping centres on the doorstep and lovely walks in either direction. Leaving the hotel from the pool area turn left heading to Los Cristianos (approx 10-15 mins) and you will find a great choice of bars and restaurants with lovely views over Playa las Vistas. Turn right and the lovely seafront walk goes on for miles, again with some lovely bars and restaurants.

Inside the hotel the public areas are lovely and generally well maintained. Check-in can get very busy and a wait can sometimes be expected, although we have been lucky and never really had an issue. The glass of cava is always welcome. Staff in the main are friendly and helpful. The few issues we have had have always been quickly and efficiently rectified.

We always book a Suite with private plunge pool. It is true (and sad) that the interior of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. The furniture is old, well worn and really needing updated. But the beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works well. I can't agree with those that claim the cleaning staff aren't up to scratch. Our maids have always been exceptionally friendly and happy to help, doing a grand job of keeping the room clean. The biggest draw to the hotel for us though is the private plunge pool on the balcony - this negates the problem of looking for a sunbed by the pool - although the pool area always had plenty beds available.

Breakfast is a standard affair with a good choice available and new coffee machines - which grind the beans freshly for a lovely cup of coffee.

On our last day we had a courtesy room which was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. As others have suggested it is worth paying the small amount extra to a pool or sea view - although the interior of the room is the same, these rooms get the sun for most of the day and offer a much nicer view.

The value for money that this hotel offers is tremendous. The rooms do not live up to the 5* rating, but the facilities available and the staff really do make this a great hotel to choose.

Room Tip: Choose a pool or sea view room - or splash out and go for a room with private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fantastic service in reception, our suite on 4. floor was okay, housekeeping nice. we have being there many time, and every time we like this hotel, we ordered only breakfast, and like to go in the town an eat dinner on different place. this hotel is just in centrum.

Room Tip: corner suites are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I don't understand why people are saying its not a 5 star, because the hotel is kept spotless, the rooms are a good size as most of the time you spend in them your asleep anyway, we only stayed Bed & Breakfast for a week, and the amount of variety you had of food for breakfast was amazing, the pool area was big with plenty of beds for everyone and the hotel was really busy aswell, but we always found a sunbed. The staff are really friendly and done anything you asked of them. The best bit of all,is the location which is really central for everything you want to do.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.