We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiftieth Birthday Group Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fiftieth Birthday Group Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel is very unusual in its layout, with its indoor water feature and open plan common area. The staff are very pleasant and very helpful. We had breakfast most mornings and while there was plenty of variety, the menu was the same every day. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and modern. We had a room on the road side which was fine, but the pool side rooms get the sun all day, there is an extra charge for rooms on the pool side. Overall I would recommend this hotel and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    520
    256
    118
    65
See reviews for
389
664
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mediterranean Palace for one night at the end of our holiday in Tenerife. On entering the hotel the reception area looks very impressive. On checking in we were asked to wait whilst our room was ready. Half an hour later we were given our room key. The room was tired and dated with a film of dust on the chest of drawers. It was more like a room in a 2-3 star hotel.
The pool area was large with no shortage of sunbeds. Breakfast the next day was ok with a large varied selection but my wife was put off when she saw a cockroach crawling across the floor (which wasn`t particularly clean). After breakfast we went for a walk . On returning to our room the key would no longer work - even though it was still 1 hour before checkout time. I then spent 20 minutes waiting at reception for the key to be reinstated with no explanation or apology.
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of street noise can be heard from the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visit Playa de las Americas most years at the beginning of December, and since 2009 we have returned every year to the Mediterranean Palace.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Right on the beach, shopping centres on the doorstep and lovely walks in either direction. Leaving the hotel from the pool area turn left heading to Los Cristianos (approx 10-15 mins) and you will find a great choice of bars and restaurants with lovely views over Playa las Vistas. Turn right and the lovely seafront walk goes on for miles, again with some lovely bars and restaurants.

Inside the hotel the public areas are lovely and generally well maintained. Check-in can get very busy and a wait can sometimes be expected, although we have been lucky and never really had an issue. The glass of cava is always welcome. Staff in the main are friendly and helpful. The few issues we have had have always been quickly and efficiently rectified.

We always book a Suite with private plunge pool. It is true (and sad) that the interior of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. The furniture is old, well worn and really needing updated. But the beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works well. I can't agree with those that claim the cleaning staff aren't up to scratch. Our maids have always been exceptionally friendly and happy to help, doing a grand job of keeping the room clean. The biggest draw to the hotel for us though is the private plunge pool on the balcony - this negates the problem of looking for a sunbed by the pool - although the pool area always had plenty beds available.

Breakfast is a standard affair with a good choice available and new coffee machines - which grind the beans freshly for a lovely cup of coffee.

On our last day we had a courtesy room which was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. As others have suggested it is worth paying the small amount extra to a pool or sea view - although the interior of the room is the same, these rooms get the sun for most of the day and offer a much nicer view.

The value for money that this hotel offers is tremendous. The rooms do not live up to the 5* rating, but the facilities available and the staff really do make this a great hotel to choose.

Room Tip: Choose a pool or sea view room - or splash out and go for a room with private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fantastic service in reception, our suite on 4. floor was okay, housekeeping nice. we have being there many time, and every time we like this hotel, we ordered only breakfast, and like to go in the town an eat dinner on different place. this hotel is just in centrum.

Room Tip: corner suites are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I don't understand why people are saying its not a 5 star, because the hotel is kept spotless, the rooms are a good size as most of the time you spend in them your asleep anyway, we only stayed Bed & Breakfast for a week, and the amount of variety you had of food for breakfast was amazing, the pool area was big with plenty of beds for everyone and the hotel was really busy aswell, but we always found a sunbed. The staff are really friendly and done anything you asked of them. The best bit of all,is the location which is really central for everything you want to do.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great hotel for families, has lots of facilities, entertainment and good public areas. Unfortunately the rooms let this hotel down a bit and the food is not particularly great. Put this hotel in context it is a good hotel in an excellent location however 5 star it is not.

Room Tip: Get a room above floor 3 facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for one week half board from 27 November. On arrival whilst being checked in and given a glass of Cava, the first thing we were asked was "Do you want to upgrade your room to a pool view for 100 euros?" We declined but soon realised why we were asked this as the room allocated to us was room 2046 on the second floor overlooking the main road. It was poor (see the photo of the mouldy bathroom ceiling), but we decided to stay as we did not intend to be in the room all the time. There was no extra charge for the safety deposit box and the tv had a good selection of English channels.

The breakfast was good but the evening meal was disappointing - we've had better in 3 star hotels before. If we stayed here again we would just have bed and breakfast. There is a small cafe/shop within the hotel in which you can buy coffee for 1 euro so this is well worth using if you don't want to pay bar prices.

The pool/sunbed area was always full (lots of towels on beds and no people) so we gave this a miss. There is a very nice relaxing outside area with comfortable rattan furniture which we preferred to use.

We had a look at the evening entertainment but it was not to our taste (in fact what we saw was awful) so we went out every night.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. If you go out of the gate at the back of the hotel you are right on the beach. Turn left and this takes you into Los Cristianos, walking past bars and restaurants and a lovely beach until you come to the harbour and then the area where the market is held on a Sunday. Turn right and this goes along the sea front through Playa de las Americas and if you keep going it comes out in Fanabe, Costa Adeji - well worth the walk, but watch out for the mobility scooters!

This was our fourth visit to this area but the first to this hotel. It is definitely not a five star hotel but then we did not pay a five star price for the holiday so overall it was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.