We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel from the outside looks great ...the only draw back is mealtimes where it really is crazy with hundreds of people descending at the same time...whilst there is a lot of choice it spread over a large area so you keep going backwards and forwards.....and the food is only Luke warm...however the pool is great....go bed and breakfast as there are lots of good quality bars and restaurants on your doorstep.......I wouldn't class as 5 star...more like 3

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    439
    215
    102
    54
See reviews for
305
534
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Med Palace for the second time in October. Had a great week, the hotel is in a fab location for the beach, bars and restaurants. The hotel is very grand with huge chandeliers, water features and black leather settees and chairs in the entrance area. However, the room was very tired with damp patches on the bathroom ceiling and on the lobby ceiling. The rooms are clean and the linen is changed as often as you need, but are well overdue for refurbishment.
The pool area is beautiful and you get clean beach towels everyday.
The breakfasts are lovely with lots of choice, but the waiters are not very friendly, in fact some of them are verging on ignorant. We found this to be the case with most of the staff in fact, it was almost as if they were doing us a favour being there. They could definitely do with going on a customer services course. I think this is one aspect the management need to address urgently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

By American standards this hotel would barely make a 3 star.

First the Positives: Main reception was nice. Location ok, Has it's own beach, close to shopping and restaurants. Good kids club (at least mine ages 4-11 seemed to think it was ok), as a parents the kids club seemed like lots of actiivies and the ladies seemed nice, had soccer/football cage which was nice for the kids to meet and play with other kids, game room inside, table tennis, had a small putt putt again, nice for kids.

Negative: Beds the hardest I've ever slept on. We were in a family room (b/c we have 4 children) - it was simply 2 rooms connecting with an extra small twin added to each. This makes the room very very small. However, we didn't spend that much time in the rooms thankfully. The duvets thin like almost paper, and blankets, well, old old. So by no means 5 star. The bathrooms smelled of urine even though appeared to be clean, CRT TV's, bathroom amenities are not good, everything and I mean everything is an extra (extra person - even in family rooms, towels for the pool), I heard also of people getting charged for the mini bar and safes (though we were not - maybe b/c we had the family room). Was difficult to get a second pillow or blanket from housekeeping. Very little storage for being a "family" room. Breakfast was ok, it reminded me of a Disneyland property b/c there are so many people running around getting food and trying to queue up for the outside tables. So be ready, breakfast crazy. At the same time if it's a nice day and your family want chairs by the pool together, you'll need to be out by 8:30 reserving them. Problem is, that if you just throw a towel down on them the pool boy comes by and takes them off. So, you have to sit with them until 9 (when the pool is open), then you are ok to leave and jockey for the breakfast queue. We didn't pay for dinner there, and I wouldn't want to, pay to sit and eat dinner on the same plastic tables as breakfast. At night there was a nice little disco and activity for children from 7-8. But then from 8-12 there was music that I'm sure was heard by every room facing the pool. It was very loud. A number of nights I looked at the "dance" late at night, and there was maybe 10 people dancing. Couldn't believe it needed to be that loud for so few people.

All in All, I was a bit disappointed. Wasn't luxurious by any means. OK for kids, and ok if you are a large family since they have family rooms - just don't expect 5 star. I didn't love this hotel, and really didn't like the location. There seemed to be much newer and nice hotels in the Costa Adeje area. I will not be back.

Room Tip: I believe we were in 2099 and 2097. These faced the pool. You did hear the evening disco. Had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an amazing time at he Med Palace from beginning to end. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne, from there our bags were delivered to our room, which was simple but had everything we needed. We booked half board and were not dissapointed. The breakfast was gorgeous with champagne included, plenty for everyone. The evening meal was also delicious, with a wide variety of food and freshly cooked meat and fish. We ate their every night for the two weeks and the food was always very tasty and plenty of it. In regards to entertainment, there is plenty going on throughout the day and at night. There is a great kids club which is free and the staff are excellent with the children. We were lucky enough to experience the party night which was held every Monday in July and August, this was free to those staying on half board. We were treated to a show in the thaetre which is part of the resort, after this you went directly to the after party which was based at the Cleopatra, next to the Med Palace. There was as much free drink and food as you could have wished for. There were many stalls from around the world where you could sample the different foods, for the children there was a hot dog stall, popcorn stand, pick and mix, ice cream and plenty of entertainment. This was a truly magical experience and the night was seen out with a band and fireworks later on.
I can honestly say that this hotel truly was value for money, i have never experienced such good food, entertainment all under one roof. We will definately be booking again for Summer 2013

Room Tip: Pool and sea view are obviously very nice but we had a room which overlooked the road at the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had been looking forward to our stay at this hotel as we had a wonderful time there 2 years ago. 25e in a taxi from the airport, greeted with a glass of sparkling wine on arrival & a porter brought our luggage to the room. However on arrival we were told that additional charges had to be paid despite proof of our final payment details. We eventually got that matter sorted in our favour but not what one needs after a long day travelling. The room was spacious, clean, overlooked the pool. The fridge was locked and had to be rented out for a fee if you wished to use it. The snacks in the vending machine are ridiculously expensive. The life guard is strict about the use of lilos & balls in the pool etc. To be honest this is in the interest of everybody's enjoyment of the pool. A separate area is sealed off as a young kiddies pool which is good. If you wish you may use the hotel towels by the pool but a deposit of 15e must be paid. While the variety of food on offer for breakfast is huge, I and my partner noticed that the 'hot' food wasn't the hottest even before we returned to our table and some of the cooked meat was over done. The rooms were cleaned daily but when we returned to our rooms after they had been cleaned, there was always a disgusting smell that lingered for the day. Im not sure if its the type of cleaning agent used or if it was a dirty mop and water but it was disgusting and made us think twice of walking around barefoot. We tried to avoid eating on the main strip/golden mile as it is quite expensive and we found lovely restaurants to the back of the hotel. What really disappointed us was on checkout we were told that there was money owing on our room. We were told that it was from using the hotel bar. We absolutely never charge anything to our room so we knew this was incorrect. A bar receipt was produced and we had to explain that the signature was definitely not ours. Then we were told that the money owing on our room was reduced by the bar bill amount and when we asked what for, the staff member replied that they didn't know. Again we produced our paperwork/receipt detailing our payment and what it covered and eventually the staff member came back to us and told us that it was ok. This we found very annoying. They need a better more secure system for allowing people to charge things to their room. It would have been very hard to prove that we didnt owe that money if we had charged other items to our room. Overall our second stay wasn't as good as our first and we shall probably research other hotels before we return again.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view should be quieter at night as they aren't overlooking the streets. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is quite an odd hotel to be honest. Its lavish and luxurious in a kind off pseudo Eastern European business hotel meets family holiday resort style - lots of chrome and black leather everywhere and a sense of opulence that really only lasts until you get to your room.
We were given some really nice champagne on arrival which was great - the reception staff were really welcoming (best of the three hotels we stayed in during our time in Tenerife), so we had high hopes. The pool is also fantastic - clean, some very nice decorative features and lots of bathing space. Really smart and fantastic.
The two areas where this hotel falls down is the quality of the bedroom and the food.
The bedroom is really akin to a 1 or 2 star hotel. The bathroom didn't even have a hook for the shower nozzle, and the bed was rock hard. Hardly slept at all. Plus, the room really needed some refurb - the exposed sockets and general fit and fittings were no where near the proclaimed "five stars" on the hotel's entrance. Also the breakfast was really odd - I would not recommend it for the UK traveller, I am all for trying different foods but it was clearly geared to the International pallette, and probably moreso Eastern European food tastes.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if the room is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

for the money we paide to stay at the med palace i was expecting a 5 star "definatley not" the bedrooms were small with tired old fashion dark furniture, the tv had well seen its day, but a few good english chanels to choose from,bathroom had uneven discolured tiles ancient bath etc etc but the rooms were clean,maid service was good(left a gud tip)sunbeds around the pool had seen there day!! night entertainment was dull,the activities in the day and around the pool was ok the only 5 star about it was the "breakfast room" bright,modern airy,clean, and the selection of food was a 5 star. stayed here in oct 2012 weather was amazing, were goin back to tenerife at christmas to a different hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Hotel Mediterranean Palace
Med Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#27 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.