We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marola Portosin

Save Saved
You added Marola Portosin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marola Portosin
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Avda. Antonio Dominguez, 20, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 9 nights here. We loved it. The reception, bar and cleaning staff were all lovely and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Can't fault anything during our stay. Little Italy just down the road was the best place we ate out at.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    89
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
48
126
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton upon Dearne, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

stayed at mar ola portosin for two weeks every thing was perfect. we were greeted by wilmen on arrival he proved to be very friendly and kind as were all the other gentlemen on the reception nothing was ever too much trouble for them. the maids were very pleasant always spoke to you and were very friendly. tommy and the lady who worked in hotel bar were excellent always happy smiling and helpful every member of staff was excellent!!!!!!!!! the rooms were cleaned 5 times a week.all areas of the hotel pool reception extremely clean all in all cannot fault the hotel or the staff.on the edge of las americas in a very pretty area of las americas a nice park opposite the hotel already looking to book next year!!!would recoomend to anyone.we went half board buffet breakfast choice of cereals fruit pastries continental full english yogurts juice tea and coffee choice of three restuarants we preffered la gomera again staff very friendly and
helpful food excellent

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have a pool view so you always get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent! Two fussy teachers who can't rate this hotel highly enough. Our second trip to the Marola since June this year and already we are looking to return. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The reception staff, especially Jose, are very friendly and make every effort to ensure a comfortable stay. The pool is excellent with plenty of good quality loungers. The pool bar serves good food at excellent prices and the 2 for 1 drinks at happy hour is a welcome addition to the service provided. The pool bar would not be the same without the man himself, Tom Martin, Tom is hospitality on legs and his brand of humour and level of customer care are certainly one of the many reasons we will returning next year. This hotel should most certainly have a much higher star rating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street have the sun in the morning and evening. Pool facing rooms are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by Jose at reception, lovely welcoming man who made our visit even more enjoyable, as did all the staff. We got a high up apartment with a pool view as requested. The room was a great size, clean, had a flatscreen tv and a perfect balcony. It was really hot at night so would recommend renting a fan at the start of the week. There were cooking facilities, however it was so cheap at the pool bar and to eat out at restaurants that we didn't cook once. Excellent wifi connection near the reception area with the staff also knowing everything about the area and what we can do while we were in Tenerife. The pool itself was the perfect size for the hotel, with loads of inflatables and always a free sunbed, and the legendary happy hour!! The bar man was friendly and served super cocktails! The hotel is a little out of Playa de las Americas and so is nice and quiet at night, only a 5 minute walk to the supermarket and 10 minutes to the shops, restaurants and bars. It is a fair distance to the Veronicas strip so would recommend more for couples and families. It felt safe and secure in the complex with no trouble from any other guests. Towels and sheets were changed during the week and the room cleaned everyday. Absolutely loved this hotel, the brilliant reviews matched the hotel. Don't hesitate to go here, it was above our expectations!!

Room Tip: Would recommend room 328. Pool view with the sun on the balcony most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at marola portosin for 3 nights.

All and all it was a positive experience - the location is pretty good, the staff are very friendly and the pool is very nice.

Our room was spacious and had a very nice balcony.

Our main concern with the room was the shower, which was a little old and moldy. It was not awful, but not great either.

If that kind of thing does not bother you much, than book at marola portosin. But if it does, book somewhere else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

On arrival greeted at reception by a very helpful man,30 euros deposit each as stated on tripadvisor reviews which was fine(gives you 60 extra at duty free on departure ).
Grounds and pool area immaculate.
Room fine,and great pool view as requested.Dropped cases off and headed to happy hour at pool bar(happy hour 4-5 pm) straight away "tommy" was friendly and made you feel welcome and introduce us to the other couples at the bar(big hello to vez and phil!!! Great dancing phil).
No noise at nights,and there was a mix of lads on their own,families,couples and girls on their own,and we never had an issue.
The location was good to safari centre about a 5 min walk,to beach 10 min,los christianos 30 min at a gentle pace (40 if hungover!).
We didn't walk to Veronica's strip we got taxi and that was 5 euros.
To eat try surfers beach bar for breakfast,little Italy is a MUST for an evening meal(stuffed mushroom starter!!!),bars try frankies,bulls head,soul bar, and on Veronica's strip we just tried linekers and yates's next door and was great.
Overall a problem free stay at a hotel which is great value for money,would return easily as a couple again and would also have no issue taking the kids.
Just for info marola Portosin is the white building,the marola park is the pink building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

confused!! we stayed at marola portosin which is not to be mixed up with the above picture pink apts the marola park. hotels sit next door to each other the marola portosin is a white building, even more confusing the hotel is advertised as stella polaris marola portosin but the stella polaris is the hotel group name and is not used by locals so when we arrived and gave the taxi driver the full name he was clueless good job we knew were it was. loved these apts very clean good maid service friendly helpful staff. rooms have kettle, toaster, microwave, hob and coffee maker. only negatives are rooms very warm no air con or ceiling fan. fans for hire 20 euros per week with 10euros deposit. we were there 2 wks so bought one from electrical shop just down the road for 25euros. you also have to pay 30euros each damages deposit which you get back on departure. if you walk behind the big electical store over the carpark go down the steps brings you to the beach. happy hour 4-5pm 2-4-1 drinks larger 1.80euros rum etc 3.50euros. would definately go again loved it. been going to tenerife 6-7 years and for a 1 star apts its a very adequate 3 star.

Room Tip: rooms can be warm if you book 1 bedroomed instead of studio they have 2 patio windows. most rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marola Portosin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marola Portosin

Also Known As:
Marola Portosin Hotel
Marola Portosin Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marola Portosin Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Address: Avda. Antonio Dominguez, 20, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marola Portosin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This apartment complex is located just a short stroll from the beach in Playa de las Americas, in the south of the island of Tenerife. Spend the day in Apartamentos Marola-Portosin relaxing by the large outdoor swimming pool.You can sunbathe on one of the sun loungers surrounding the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marola Portosin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marola Portosin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.