We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good relaxing family break!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Gran Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Meandro 3 | Golf Las Americas, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good relaxing family break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week from August 26th - September 3rd. Travelled as a group with three adults around 50, myself (20), boyfriend (21), cousin (14) and brother (12). Arrived at hotel and received a friendly welcome from the reception staff who informed us of all the necessary details. However, on our way to the room, we realised all of our rooms were right at the top in 8, 13 and 22, and after reading the reviews we were well aware there were several stairs which was very true indeed! Also, when reading reviews, it informed us there were ramps accompanying all stairs but in truth, the ramps were situated at the far end of the hotel so it would be a wild goose chase for anyone using these and they were also that steep that the stairs would probably be better!

Rooms - the rooms were very spacious with an upstairs lounge and kitchen area accompanied by a balcony. Downstairs was the spacious bedroom and bathroom along with a second balcony. The rooms were kept very clean by the maid staff; my only gripe is that the maids didnt come on a wednesday and sunday and personally, I like my bed made freshly every day and fresh towels whilst on holiday; however, this isnt enough to ruin an entire holiday! Above the bed there is a ceiling fan; ours was quite slow but gave enough breeze to be satisfactory. But I would advise if you like a air conditioned room, the only way this is achievable is to pay extra for an air conditioned room or paying a charge to rent a standing fan! However, this is a considerable amount when you are already paying enough for the room! Our balcony from the top floor had a considerable sea view which we didnt have to pay extra for which was a nice bonus! There is a 32 inch Samsung TV which has several English channels which is good for your resting time before tea.

Food/Drinks - there was a generous selection of food at every meal time of a good quality. Breakfast included cooked breakfast foods, cereals, fruits, fresh juices, there were pancakes made every morning with chocolate sauce which the kids loved and a few mornings of the week churros, which were a big hit but we found them tasteless. Lunch is also served in the main hotel restaurant but you also have the option of the pool bar which serves small baguettes, hot dogs, burgers and ice creams, which is nice if you fancy a small snack. Tea time was varied every night with a different theme such as Tex Mex, Italian, Chinese etc. There was always the option of freshly cooked meats such as veal, and the queue there was always fairly long. There is also a small childrens sector to make sure they are fully catered for. There was always something for everyone; like all all inclusives, the food was sometimes lukewarm but they were always refilling every couple of minutes. The soft drinks are all self serve along with the beer and wine, but these are your only options of drinks in the main food hall. The drinks at the pool bar where the entertainment was also held at night were more varied but as most of you will be aware their measures are ridiculously strong! There is the option to pay 10 euros per day to upgrade to premium spirits but the standard local spirits were fine. There were also alcoholic cocktail slushes which were very popular with everyone.

Entertainment - from what we could see, the entertainment staff worked extremely hard during the day, making sure there were activities for everyone, but what I liked is that they didnt mither you to join in if you were too busy sunbathing, they would just shout announcements, and I can speak for everyone when I said this is the best way for them to be! The night time entertainment was ok, there was a lottery every night which was very repetitive and always went on for around half and hour, so if I could make any suggestion to the hotel, I would say mix things up a little bit! Some of the shows were outside entertainment which were obviously the better acts, such as an illusionist and a circus act. However, when the entertainment was held by the in house staff, although they made a large effort, it was very poor and hard to watch. Having a few drinks made it better but I would still reccommend the hotel mixs up its entertainment system. Having said that, from what we could see, the entertainment staff were very good with the children and most of the parents spoke highly of them.

Location - the hotel is situated close to Los Cristianos and Playa de las Americas; a 5 euro taxi ride each way to either place. We visited Siam Park as well which was only a 5 euro taxi journey away. The hotel is situated on quite a steep hill which may not be so good for the immobile but it caused us little problems.

Trips - as a family, we visited Loro Parque which is definately worth a visit! The shows are fantastic and there was lots to do for a fun day out. I would recommend booking through your holiday rep as they provide fairly priced tickets along with coach transfer. We also went on a Jeep safari up through Teide which was also an experience, although I wouldnt recommend for young children due to the bumpy nature of the journey. Finally, we went to Siam Park which was absolutley fantastic. Something to do for everyone and some real thrill rides for the thrill seekers! If this is the case I would definately recommend buying fast passes for 15 euros each, they were definately worth it.

Hotel in general - the hotel and its grounds were kept very clean by the extremely hard working staff, the atmosphere was great and we would definately return if it wasnt for a few minor snags. The hotel is a real gem and with some readjustments i would definately rate this as a 4/5 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room or a room close to the pool. Getting up the stairs can be a pain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Family,

We do thank you very much sincerely beforehand for spending your time in our Resort and for your very kind comments on this site.

It is fantastic to see that you have had a lovely time in the hotel and in Tenerife too, visiting some interesting atraction such us Loro Park or water park

I do thank you very much too for all the important information that you do provide to future guests coming.

I will pass your comments to all the BE HAPPY staff and hotel management and of course fo anything you could need at anytime, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be very pleased to help you at any time.

Best Regards
Lydia Rguez

Repcetion Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    542
    209
    70
    40
See reviews for
971
309
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is our 5th time at the gran oasis and it just keeps getting better, the apartments are unreal and very clean i dont av a bad word to say about this place. We are a family of 4 with 2 boys age 10 12 and they love the place too, the staff are incredible and renee is great at entertaining everyone. The last day or two of our holiday my partner said have we done this place too much should we try somewear different nxt year i said maybe bt the last day of our holiday we got delayed at the airport for 21hours and they sent us to the marylanza hotel, it was awful i couldnt handle it, i said to my partner id gladly go to the gran oasis every year if my kids are happy im happy because there is something for every1 here and the staff just go out of their way to help you, unlike the marylanza

Room Tip: Our room was 182 we had no steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Family,

It is great to know about you!!!! Fantastic to see that after so many hours delayed, you have arrived well home.

There are no words enough to thank you very much for choosing us 5 times to enjoy your much deserved holidays and for writing this very kind review on trip advisor.

I am totally sincere when i say that i feel really sorry to read that you have spent a very bad last day. It would had been great if they would had let you to stay here the lasts hours. Anyway, overall you had a wonderful time here and soon you will be back... because you are coming again soon, don´t you?? :-) we can´t wait to welcome you again.

I will pass your comments to everybody and at the same time i do send you a warm hug from all the staff and greets from the hotel manager

Best Wishes
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself' my husband & 3 children stayed here for 10days. We all had an amazing time. Our 4year old daughter enjoyed nothin more than getting up on stange whilst the entertainment was on. The mistake we made was to go half board, we did up grade to all incluesive. :-D the hotel it self is beautiful & very clean. All the staff are very friendly & helpfull. We have been home only 4days & already talking about booking to go back soon :-D . If you go to the Gran Oasis for your holiday... you will enjoy it xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Family,

There are no words enough to thank you very much to let us to share your holidays with you and for taking your time once back at home to put your comments on this site and for giving us your sincere opiinon about your experience in our Gran Oasis Resort.

It is a dream turned into reality to read that you have had a lovely stay, that you have found the staff very helpfull and even more.... to know that you are planning to visit us again very soon. We can´t wait to see you again and welcome you back...

For anything you could need before coming, please do not hesitate to let us know. We will be very pleased to help you.

I will pass at the same time all your comments to the BE HAPPY staff. They will feel so glad and proud...

Thank you very much once again for everything and see you very very soon....


Best Regards
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived 8.30pm got checked in very quickly by a friendly receptionist,left our cases in the luggage room and headed straight to the restaurant, pleasantly surprised by the large dining room and space outside overlooking the pool, we all had a lovely meal plenty of choice even for my 3 fussy children. We then went to our room ok you have to drag your cases up stairs but we were pleased with the rooms clean and enough room for 5 of us, it was hot the fans went straight on and patio doors opened. We really enjoyed our holiday couldn't fault the food plenty of choice different each night, snacks during the day. People are complaining about sunbeds it was hard to get them at the front by the pool but we always got one in the middle sometimes wasn't until 9.00 and there were still some left, not enough umbrellas though. I enjoyed the aqua gym such a laugh and so refreshing. The entertainment was ok top hat and heels fantastic and kids loved the parrot show. All the staff work very hard to make sure we all have a great holiday so friendly and go out of their way to help you. We really enjoyed our holiday and would recommend Gran Oasis to anyone.

Room Tip: Stairs could be a problem if you are older or disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Family,

First of all we do want to thank you very much sincerely for choosing our Gran Oasis Resort to spend your holidays. As well, for taking your time once back at home to write this very kind review about your experience here.

It is fantastic to see how much you have enjoyed your very deserved holidays and to know that you have found our staff lovely , food tasty, pool nice, apartments comfortable and overall you have had a great time and you would recommend our services to your friends.

I will pass your comments to all the BE HAPPY team. They will feel very grateful with your review here.

Thank you very much once again for everything and remember that we are here 24 hours for anything you could need at any time.

I do send you a warm hug from all the staff and hotel management.

Best Regards
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spend a week in the resort and am surprised at the number of negative reviews. There are a number of negative reviews recently and I think that I must have stayed at a different hotel - here are a few points

Apartments - they are much bigger than a standard hotel room and to be honest the only downside was the lack of air conditioning which stopped me giving this 5/5. Yes, they are split over 2 floors, but if you are worried about children falling down stairs, the hotel will supply a stairgate. We were at the top of the hotel and there were 84 steps from pool to room which was not a problem.

Location - well away from main resort, but this not a problem as taxi / courtesy bus gets you in to Las Americas in less than 5 minutes. Very strange though with all roads prepared for new developments which seem to have been abandoned!

Pool - really good with astro turf around pool areas so no slipping. Yes, sun beds were an issue, but I had no problems getting sunbeds at 5.30 am ...... it seemed people like us with children aimed to get on front row to keep an eye on children ..... but when we went down after 9.00am one day we still got sunbeds.

Food - not sure how people can complain at lack of choice .... every night there was choice of main course, perhaps the lack of burgers (yes chips looked soggy, but never eat them so not really bothered!) at dinner was an issue for some, but our seven year old twins certainly enjoyed the meals including the giant king prawns and paella!!!!!! Somebody put fruit juice not fresh, but as they made fresh smoothies every morning you cannot get much fresher than that!

In summary, we had a great time and looking at the previous reviews the hotel do seem to react to comment quickly .... for example slippery pool area being resolved. It does seem some people are determined to find fault - relax and chill you are on holiday!





Entertainment - ok, don't really go on holiday for this, but Top Hat and Heels was excellent.

Staff - all really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,

After reading your comments on this site, what can I say. To star a big thank you. Thank you very much for sharing your holidays with us, despite you have read some bad comments. You did give us the opportunity and we do feel deeply grateful for the chance given.

It is fantastic to know that you have enjoyed every single minute of your holidays and to know that you have found the hotel comfortable, pool very safety, food very tasty and hotel staff welcoming and helpfull.

I am very pleased to inform you too that next year, absolutely all the apartments of the hotel will be fully air conditioned.. so do not hesitate to plan your next stay with us. We can´t wait to see you again.

I will pass your comments to all the BE HAPPY team and hotel management.

For anything you could need at any time, please do not hesitate to let me know. We are here at your disposal 24hours.

I do send you a warm hug from all the staff and management and BE HAPPY!!!

Best Regards
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned home after our 3rd holiday at this lovely hotel. Was great to see the familiar faces of the wonderful staff such as Luis and Renate who make you feel at home straight away. The restaurant again had plenty of choice for my children who eat a gluten free diet including pizzas and pasta. The staff are so friendly and helpful as always. Only problem was there is now no T.V. in the bedroom as there had been in previous years. Thanks again for a fantastic holiday, we'll see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Family,

There are no words enough to thank you very much for sharing once again your holidays with us.

Three times now and you have enjoyed like the first one. It is absolutely fanstastic.!!! That is our goal, being happy making you happy.

Thank you very much as well for taking your time to put your opinion on this site.

I will pass your comments to everybody and specially to Renate and Luis.

For anything you could need do not hesitate to contact us.

We do really hope to see you again...... come on for the fourth!!!!!!

I send you a warm hug from all the BE HAPPY team, greets from Luis and APLAUSOS APLAUSOS from Renate.

Thank you very much
Best Regards
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The good bits first, the hotel is kept clean, the staff are excellent well that's the good bits!
Now the bad bits, the apartments are nice but if you have little children they have to sleep upstairs in pull out beds and the bathroom is downstairs which are very slippy and wasn't keen incase the little one got up in middle of the night and fell down the stairs so we ended up bringing the bed downstairs to our room, the apartments were boiling hot with no aircon just a fan in the downstairs bedroom which was very poor. The food was the worst I have ever experienced if it wasn't for cheese and crackers we would have starved ! Very little choice of food most of it was tinned or frozen food, just warm and the same thing day in day out we ended up losing weight after two weeks all inclusive this is not good! Also drinks seemed watered down and some drinks were self service and snaks at the pool bar were self serve so we had paid for all inclusive and the others who were self catering or half bald were just helping themselves so I felt we were paying for everyone else.
The pool was kept clean but the sunbeds were a joke they were locked up untill anytime between 8 and 8.30 then it was like a fight for a space, we were all like sardines the sun beds were so close together you had to get on and off from the bottom and clime over people to get to the pool.
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and can not imagine how people put a good review for this hotel as I am not a fussy person, but spending over 3 and a half grand for two adults and a child for two weeks I feel like I have waisted my money as we had to spend more going out for things to eat. I could not wait for the holiday to be over so we could come home. Never agin would I stay at this hotel it was two weeks from hell

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for posting comments about our hotel.

We regret that the apartment was not satisfactory. Both on our website and as all the Tour operating agencies know, our 1-bedroom apartments are a duplex format with the bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and living room and kitchen on the higher floor.

Currently we have air conditioning in our suite apartments I am pleased however to inform you that as from next summer, all of the apartments will have air conditioning, both in the bedroom and living room.

We regret that our food selection wasn’t satisfactory, at the Gran Oasis resort we take a lot of time and effort and pride with our meals; we try to satisfy all our guests regardless of how difficult it is to succeed in the culinary tastes of 640 people.

Regarding guests serving drinks from our machines, many customers who come to the hotel on a room only basis, decide at some point during their stay to purchase the all-inclusive package for one or several days, in these cases they are not given bracelets, but are given a paper receipt confirming that they have indeed paid for this service.

On the subject of the sunbeds, it is true that many customers get up early to obtain the sun beds closest to the pools, but there are always sufficient sunbeds around the terraces. It depends whereabouts the person wants to locate their sunbed which in turn then determine the amount of people in that area

From the GRAND OASIS RESORT, management and all the staff we apologise for failing to make you “BE HAPPY”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: C/ Meandro 3 | Golf Las Americas, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.