We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break but scheme no for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Club to your Saves list
Flamingo Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida de Espana 3 | Playa de las Americas, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Potton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good break but scheme no for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Like the 2 previous reviews my wife and I were cohersed into buying into a holiday package during our last Tenerife holiday in November. The company was Grand Holidays, we paid for the taster package. This entitled us to 3 holidays, the first had to be taken at Flamingo Club.

Our experience was one of trepidation after seeing other reviews. We were most surprised by our experience, we had a 1bedroom apartment over looking Colon beach and the marina entrance. It had been recently been refurbished and was of a good standard with all basic requirements being included. The complex was pleasant with a relaxed atmosphere. The pool rather cool and was also salinated.

We did not eat on site, except for the breakfast as part of the presentation/sales pitch. There is a happy hour from 3 to 5, making the price comparable to the outside bars and restaurants.

The location was great coupled with sunny and warm weather all week.

We did take up up the Holiday extension.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    45
    19
    32
See reviews for
57
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Kathy W has written everything I would write about the Flamingo Club. We did exactly the same in October last year paying Capital Edge the same amount. The room we were shown was definitely 'wow' but the room we were given was just OK. If we hadn't expected the one we had seen we would have been very happy with the room. It was not one of the refurbished rooms that we had been told we would get when Paul phoned us a few days before we arrived but it did have a lovely view over the sea and was roomy and contained all we needed. It also had a sunny balcony but unlike some of them it would not have taken a couple of sunbeds but was big enough for a table and four chairs. It certainly was not as bad as some of the reviews we read about and it will be lovely when it has all been refurbished. It is about 40% refurbished at the moment we were told. We had been told that the BBQ, Sunday roast and Paella would be included in offer but they were extra - at 10 euros per head it was not a problem but just another broken promise. The sunbeds were very good and sturdy - didn't worry about sitting on them and them either collapsing or tipping up. If you wanted to hire a towel they were 20 euros each which I thought was quite expensive especially if we had been there with the family but you do get it back at the end and they are good quality. It is in a lovely area and close to other eateries. The pool area is lovely and plenty of beds and mattresses although I did not attempt to go into the pool since I knew from the screams that it was freezing. There was no AC in the room which in the height of summer might be very uncomfortable. We did have to see a salesman while we were there which lasted about 3 hours but I have to say that he (Tony) and Paul were both very nice and remained so even after we told them we would not be buying into the scheme. For a young couple with lots of holidays ahead of them it would be worth considering but it was not for us. The staff were very nice with the exception of one who seemed a bit 'off'. I don't know the name of the young blond Latvian receptionist but she was exceptionally nice and helpful so a big 'thank you' to her! It was a good holiday and if I wanted to go self-catering again I wouldn't ignore this place but I do prefer my all inclusive.

Room Tip: We were on the floor above reception which was noisy but then it didn't go on all night and we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a timeshare hotel. SO BE AWARE!!!!!!!!!! We visited Tenerife last August 2013 and we were foolish enough to buy into a scheme where we paid £ 4,000 for 7 holidays ( sold by a company called Capital Edge). We were shown around this hotel and we were really impressed with the standard of the room ( sea view, very modern and plush) and stunning pool area. However, on arrival (1 am with two very tired kids) we were shown to a room with only 1 bedroom. The standard of the room was ok with a nice view, however it was not the luxury that were expecting! This was a very disappointing start to our holiday!!!!
The kids were expected to sleep on a broken pull out camp bed which was not made up. A friendly chap on reception helped us make up the bed. We complained about the room in the morning, and we were given the option of a two bedroom villa which had not been updated in years. It was ok and had all the equipment needed and was right next to the pool, so we put up with it.
The pool area was lovely and there were plenty of sun beds. Probably due to the fact that the pool was absolutely freezing. However, to compensate this, there was a lovely jacuzzi.

The food at the hotel was very nice, especially the BBQ and Sunday roast. There was also a poolside bar where you could get snacks, full English and out of date ice creams!

The majority of staff were friendly, however there are a lot of friendly timeshare salesmen lurking about watching every step you make. Part of our package was that we had a chat with one of these salesman who try and tell you that what you have been sold is a pile of pants and that they will buy it off you for a further 10,000 euro's. Don't be fooled as I believe that all of these companies Capital Edge and Grand Holidays are connected in some way). We also spoke to someone who had a timeshare there and were finding it very difficult to get out of the contract and would have to pay about 3-4 k to relinquish it.
The hotel is in a great location, close to lots of shops and bars. It is next to Harley's, an American diner. We had a great holiday and we were determined to enjoy it regardless if the hotel was a little dated. Once all the rooms have been modernised, I think it will be lovely. I would go back, if it wasn't for the pressure of the timeshare touts. There are a lot in this area, so be aware!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 802 was a two bed right next to the pool. Not been updated yet and a bit shabby, but ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We exchanged into this place on 21/9/12 to 5/10/12. When we arrived, the reception told us there were burst pipes (after checking a separate guest list) and they would move us into a hotel 200yds up the road of the same standard. The hotel (which we cannot recall the name of) was 3/4mile away and up a hill (my wife is disabled) and it was dire. The taxi door opened and the first thing we heard was a woman at the hotel swearing at the top of her voice, in the bar, which was under our room once we'd checked in. We had a terrible night, and in the morning Interval moved us immediately to a Diamond resort. Unfortunately we had to go back to the Flamingo for the second week; that's when we were happy not to have had to stop there for two weeks.
Our apartment was dated to say the least, with ants and cockroaches, rotten door frames, sweat stained dining chairs, dirty crockery, dust balls under the bed and furniture, and no air-con, light-bulb out in the bedroom, tv aerial broken, light bulb in the living room broken, bits of peeled skin on the floor, oh and the insects came in via the "cleaners" leaving towels/sheets on the garden walls outside the rooms!!!!!
Then we were told by some other English people who owned at the resort, that there had been no burst pipes and that the hotel had over booked due to time free weeks given to prospective buyers. The only people the hotel was interested in were from eastern europe (Russians) who even told everyone else at the complex that the bar was closed one night except for their own people, and the staff ok'd it. All complaints were ignored, and the staff were useless and rude. I wouldn't go back there if you paid me. I know its late but I thought it had to be said.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location, family feel and clean rooms. We stayed here in January, it wasn't our first holiday in Tenerife but this is the best hotel we have stayed in when we have been here.
Harleys is right next year which offers nice food. Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Firstly, I have to say, we “won” one weeks accommodation self catering at this hotel in a scheme to sell us time share. In all, it did work out to be a cheap holiday as we only had to pay for flights and a €99 admin fee.
We were contacted by phone the day before departure to check what time we would arrive so they could ensure our room was ready. We actually arrived an hour later than estimated, yet our room was still not ready, we were told, by a very smug receptionist, that we could call in every hour to check, but it was not likely to be ready before 4pm, three and a half hours away.
When we finally got to our room, it was clean but very dated, though fully equipped, it was to the minimum. We were told later that the room had recently been renovated, though it looked more like they’d sent in a chimp with a paint brush, so you couldn’t call it renovation.

Location was right above the main beach and we did have a sea view, though it was also right above all the bars and restaurants, so a quiet evening on the balcony was out, especially due to the questionable music turns on in the bars.

For the frail and infirm, there were also a lot of steps to negotiate between the hotel and the beach, though there is also a lift, but only one, which may get busy during peak season. You could walk the long way round which was a gentle incline back to the hotel.

The hotel itself was ok but basic, with entertainment on some evenings in the bar, which again, restricted any chance of a quiet evening. One particularly terrible evening was a karaoke night, going on to midnight at full volume, seemingly commandeered by a Russian family who painfully screeched their way through a string of unheard of before Russian songs. Our room was sandwiched between this and the local bars, which on this particular evening, had a not so good Shaking Stevens tribute playing. Going out was the only option.

The area itself is typical of most Tenerife beach resorts with a few good restaurants, in particular, The Blue cactus, with a very good guitar duo, (it’s a little walk along towards Adeje, but well worth it).Bar Bahia and Las Olas, all serving excellent food and drinks at reasonable prices, with friendly and helpful staff.

There’s plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment in the area and plenty of hotels superior to Flamingo club.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

we stayed at the flamingo club adeje from the 10th jan 2014, for one week, i was really not looking forward to going after reading some of the reviews, but it was not too bad, we should have been in room 209, but was in 612 instead, turned out to be for the better, apartment clean, bed comfy, strange layout though, the sofa was at one end with the tv the other, with a dining table a chairs in the centre, we would have needed binoculars to watch tv, thats if we could have seen through the chairs, so we decided to rearrange it a bit and swapped the table over with the sofa, we put it back before we left,
bed was changed mid week and we had fresh towels twice, bathroom could do with a refurb, only enough hot water for one shower at a time, and could not use jacuzzi bath because there was not enough hot water to reach the jets, looked like the fridge-cooker etc was new.
had to pay 20 euros for electric and 25 for safe with 10 refundable deposit, no welcome pack in room, good job we took our own tea-coffee-sugar and bought a bottle of water from the airport,
taxi from airport 25 euros,
metal chairs on balcony very uncomfortable.
some nice places to eat around the area, and if money running low, the b & q chinese buffet at the top of the hill very good value and good food.7.50 euros all you can eat.
very good out side areas,with plenty of sun beds. pity pool was so cold though,
lots of time share sellers in the ares were you could sit and have a coffee, but this was not possible in the mornings because of them trying to sell, they seemed to be every where, luckily a polite 'no thank you' from us and we escaped.
had a very good trip around the island and up mount tiede, only 19 euros each, there is a large super market at the top of the hill underneath the shopping centre, and as you come out there was a small place that gave good exchange rates for changing pounds, internet only 1 euro for an hour, this is were we bought out trip from,
all in all not a bad holiday, weather a bit hit and miss, would go back to flamingo club, but would have to see room first, we did look into one of the studios, so glad we did not have one of them, lots of russians on site, but that did not bother us.
reception staff could have been a bit more attentive, but they seemed very demoralized,

Room Tip: inspect your room first, if not happy, complain and don't take no for an answere, it is your hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Club

Address: Avenida de Espana 3 | Playa de las Americas, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Club 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo Club Tenerife is located in one of the most sought-after areas of South Tenerife for holiday makers, Costa Adeje, and benefits from the most stunning sea and mountain views.Overlooking Playa La Pinta (La Pinta Beach) and with magnificent views of the adjacent Marina, Puerto Colon, Flamingo Club is a perfect base for your vacation whether you are looking for a family beach break, activity holiday or simply want to relax and get away from it all.The hotel complex has 18 studio apartments, 64 one bedroom units, 22 two bedroom units and 3 deluxe two bedroom suites. All apartments have a private balcony or terrace, and many of them benefit from a view of the ocean so that you can relax and watch the glorious sunsets over La Gomera.Flamingo Club apartments are fully equipped for self-catering and feature an oven, hob, fridge freezer, and microwave, plus all the utensils, cutlery and tableware you would need to cook a meal inside the apartment. The nearest convenience store is within a 5 minute walk, and there is also a large supermarket (Mercadona) which stocks both Spanish and English goods. For holidaymakers who prefer to eat out, Flamingo Club is proud to present their newly refurbished à la carte licensed restaurant, the Cinamo Bar which offers a mouth-watering selection of Spanish and European fare and wide range of wines and spirits. There is also a pool bar which serves snacks and refreshments throughout the day, and offers the ever-popular ‘happy-hour’ in the afternoon when drinks are buy one, get one free.The immediate vicinity is home to numerous bars, cafes and restaurants featuring a huge range of gastronomic delights from all corners of the earth. The obligatory Chinese buffet and Full English breakfast are of course widely available, but a thorough search of the wider area and you will uncover rarer treats such as Morroccan, Japanese and even Mongolian. A veritable gourmand’s delight!For those of you who like to get active, there are numerous options within a short walk to the marina. Fishing trips, snorkelling, paragliding, jet-skiing and many more pursuits are available for very reasonable prices. Our Flamingo Club reception staff will also be happy to assist you with arranging activities and excursions such as horse riding, jeep safari, hiking trips, bike hire and much more.The infamous water park, Siam Park is a short bus or taxi ride from Flamingo Club and is one of the most popular day trips for holiday makers in Costa Adeje. Tenerife’s newest water kingdom opened its doors in 2008 and features spectacular attractions such as ‘The Tower of Power’, a 28 feet freefall slide and ‘The Wave Palace’, an artificial wave pool with waves reaching 3 metres high! You can even relax on the white sands of the artificial beach and watch the action unfold around you. Siam Park is an excursion not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Club Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Flamingo Club Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.