We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Apartrments” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Blanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Corona Blanca to your Saves list
Corona Blanca
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Avenida de Tenerife, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shabby Apartrments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the Corona over the new year we found them very shabby indeed cracked floor tiles, kitchen two ring hob only one worked properly no microwave or toaster and furniture which consisted of sofa bed which was really uncomfortable glad we din't have to sleep in it and one easy chair which was no better. The maid service was hit and miss perhaps because it was new year but this doesn't explain no bed linen change in seven days as for the bathroom all the panels around the bath were held together with polyfiller and if that wasn't enough on the last night we found cockroaches coming out of the wall. We were given apartment 109 if you want privacy don't let them give this one as the steps from the pool look right into the apartment. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you apartment 109 no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    94
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
38
106
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

hotel is between kashba and irish centre,we had great apartment clean and tidy,beds done every 2 days,and we were right beside the gym perfect for the early morning workouts (haha) staff were good ,cant fault this place we will be back defo

Room Tip: ask for the type you want if they have it i,m sure the will sort you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very dated but clean, expensive for self-catering accommodation (package holiday). A costly holiday but the only one we could get as were restricted to dates. We have stayed in 4* hotels all inclusive which were cheaper than this. Ground floor apartment was good for sunbathing but when you have loud neighbours it's not very peaceful. We could not extend the room which was most inconvenient, check-out was noon but we weren't being collected for the airport until 6pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Check in was easy and effecient. Asked for a poolview room and was given 217. Really nice apartment, Tiny bedroom but plenty of storage for clothes. Living and kitchen area spacious and very clean, only downside was lack of cooking facilities ( no toaster or microwave) so if you were there to self cater I think you would struggle as there was only a 2 ring hob , I frying pan and one cooking pot. Didnt bother us as we ate out all the time and if you have to stay in there is a chinese next door that does a great takeaway ! Lovely big balcony with table and chairs and washing line.Pool area spotless and plenty of sunbeds, again only downside ,there were only 5 parasols so if your like me and not keen on frying in full sun you have to get up early to pick your spot as the parasols are cemented in ! Pool bar serves snacks and drinks very reasonably priced but only open 10 - 4 and there is no other bar in the hotel so an early evening drink is out. Staff really nice and friendly. Maid service every other day. The only thing that spoilt the holiday for us was the noise at night. Our bedroom backed onto one of the main roads through Playa des Ingles and the traffic noise was incessant. The only time it was fairly quite was between 4.30am to 6am otherwise it was non stop with traffic and partying holidaymakers. Music from the Kasbah at weekends goes on till 4.30am. There are numerous bars and restuarants within walking distance. One tip I would give is to check out the prices if you go shopping for presents or mememtos. We saw a bag for our Grandaughter at the shops on the beach priced at 15 Euros, An identical one in the Kasbah was 25 Euros . Also a pair of sandals I wanted in the Kasbah were 30 Euros, on the beach they were 19 Euros ! If you tell them you can get it cheaper elsewhere they will drop the price so keep it in mind ! Overall a really good holiday and we would return to Corona Blanca but not in a room that backed onto the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 217, ask for pool view but not backing onto main road. There are pool view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had great hol in Corona Blanca in early Dec .Requested ground apt requeast granted.Maid service great beds changed several times a week towels changed 6 days of 7 .Nice big apt . Pool bar had nice cheap food. All staff helpful & friendly. Quiet at night .This is our 3rd visit & hope to return . Only downside was waiter in Las Pirmadas restaurant very rude as were all in supermarket next door ! DIdnt return . Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from another great week in Playa del Ingles and was little worried over some reviews on here, however, these apartments are great.

Spotlessly clean, maid service 4times in a week, great balcony size, all bits needed for basic self catering, people moan about lack of toaster, however, when u got broncemar supermarket on corner, selling fresh rolls for breakfast, why do you need one? Not something I can do in UK, walk out every morning in t shirt n shorts!

Loved the little washing up pack, a great touch, the pool area has plenty of room, staff always smiling saying hola.

The apartments are a great base, bus stop nearby, easy for bus to airport, loads shops n restaurants, ten minute walk beach and yumbo centre, kasbah n plaza centre right on top of you.


All in all, great value apartment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

When we arrived at the Corona Blanca the check in was both quick and efficient. We were allocated a room on the first storey overlooking the pool ( 116) which suited us both fine. No noise and a pleasant view.
The apartment itself could quite easily of been described as as a small flat with three separate rooms. Bathroom ,big double bedroom and a kitchen/living area. The balcony also was huge. All the utensils were there to prepare meals but the addition of a microwave and toaster would of meant more of a choice as to what to cook rather than limiting it to just frying or boiling.
In the bumf it said that you get 60 mins TV for 1 euro but ours only gave us 40 mins. A quick trip to reception and within 30 mins the TV had been changed.
The pool bar did do a limited range of snacks and drinks which were on the whole very good.
If you want to eat out you are spoilt for choice as there are numerous eating houses in the vicinity. I can recommend the chinese above Mr potato as they do an all you can eat buffet for 7.98 euros, the only stipulation is that you buy a drink with your meal.
While we were there the weather was inclement to say the least but that is not the fault of the hotel.
All in all we had a good time and would almost certainly go back given the choice.

Room Tip: Get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Blanca

Address: Avenida de Tenerife, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona Blanca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Corona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Blanca Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Blanca Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.