We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Veril Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Veril Playa to your Saves list
Veril Playa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I spent 2 weeks at the Veril Playa, Half Board. The room was clean and tidy but the freezer compartment of the refridgerator had mould. In the bathroom, the shelving unit was held on with selotape. The first week at dinner time I got a drink which I was not asked to pay for, but during the second week i was asked to pay.
Overall the room was okay. the bedding and towels were changed every couple of days.
The hotel location is on almost on the border or Playa Del Ingles and San Augustin so you will have to walk to get anywhere, although there is a bus station half a mile away, which will take you to anywhere on the island.

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing holiday with peace and quiet, then this is not the hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
19
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Quay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Well after reading the reviews of the place I was a little worried what to expect but I must say for a 3star hotel it was definately worth the money!! The staff are very friendly the place is very clean and the food was better than expected...only downfall is that all inclusive drinks finish at 9pm which was a shame as it's early...other than that I had a great holiday with my mum and will be returning in the future :) thanks for a lovely week!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one week all inclusive in November. Hotel was pleasant enough, in a good location and was kept clean. There was plenty of variety of food, which tasted better than it looked, although everything was luke warm. It was only all incusive drinks up to 9pm. The bar staff disappeared shortly before 9pm and getting a drink became harder, with them also conveniently forgetting your order. It actually worked in our favour, as having to pay for a drink encouraged us to go out and visit outside bars, and get to be entertained. I would return to Playa del Ingles but would try another hotel.

Room Tip: Get above the 2nd floor if you want an uninterupted view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

October 2013
This was our 2nd visit to the hotel in 2 years.The rooms definitely need refurbishing as they are out dated.Went half board ,the breakfasts are ok but the evening meals are poor and only just warm.The location is good as being the last hotel of the resort along the beach front and in easy walk of the shops bars and restraunts.The pool area is very good and cleaned daily.
The weather on this island always seems to be fantastic and the locals friendly.If you decide to go go bed and breakfast only and eat out. Tv has Mainly German programs with a gb news program.staff friendly

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel recently for two weeks half board and for the price we payed we really can't fault the hotel or the staff. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean by a team of dedicated cleaners...yes the rooms could do with a revamp ie..furniture needs an update but hey ho its only a visit and not your room for life! The food is decent and varied and the staff are very helpful. Would we stay here again... most definitely!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view and you will also have a sea view which is only 300mtrs away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We returned from a weeks holiday inn September which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel was clean and comfortable although the rooms could do with some updating. However the pool, restaurant and bar areas were lovely. We enjoyed the company of the bar staff who were very pleasant and only to happy to help. There was a busy road outside the hotel which didn't bother us but could bother some. The area itself was fairly quite although a 5 euro taxi ride to the Yumbo Centre is worth a visit. The beach nearby was lovely. There are a few restaurants within a 5 minute walk but the best one we had was the Italian which is attached to the Hotel a bit more expensive but well worth a visit. The bar staff were fantastic but I have to say the reception staff need to attend a course to improve their people skills even a smile would help.

From Linda and David - Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went all inclusive last time we visited Gran Canaria in Barcello Margarita Hotel, very nice, excellent , cannot complain.. This time we decided a week of self catering would do so we searched around and found this place, cheap and close to the beach and off the beaten track slightly. We arrived checked in and went to our room, basic kitchen, fridge, hob, coffee maker.. no kettle :( luckily the wife is a dab at this and had come prepared.. (take a travel kettle with you.. well worth it) the room was plenty big enough for us and had a chair come sofa bed, 2 single beds :( we pushed together to make 1 a tv and a balcony which faced the sea which was literally across the road. The pool is sufficient although no diving or lilo's allowed in it but it is cold at first no matter what time of day you decide to jump in it.. the sun hits the pool area all day basically and getting a tan is easy peasy. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and at times playful too, they gave us a few free shots as we paid our bill for any food or drink we decided to buy . The supermarket on site has friendly staff and is reasonably priced (we checked whilst out and about). If you walk along the front up to the right youll come to the bus station and some bars, walk across the bus station and to the left and youll come to "Cheers Bar" great for really good food, entertainment and friendly staff.. you can also earn (really easily) a couple of free tickets for a free limo ride around Playa Del Ingles from there just for visiting it and buying a meal or drink which is always buy 1 get 1 free .. we practically lived there at night , meals with a free beer, entertainment which "made the night" and plenty of English people dropping in to mingle and enjoy the fun.. We totally enjoyed the whole experience Veryl Playa is worth every penny and my wife and I and our Friends who came along too had no complaints .. You go self catering for a room to sleep, somewhere to eat in at times and to freshen up and shower etc.. this is brilliant.. we went from Oct 9th to Oct 16th, it was quieter and still roasting.. i gave it 4 *'s because although we ate there and the food was done perfectly the menu had limited snacks and the buffet they had on offer wasnt up to much as me being fussy didnt like alot in there. Taxis into Ingles to the main beach front cost 4 euros and are well worth it. San Augustine is to the left of the hotel, maybe a 15 min walk along the front.. a few restaurants and tat shops to check out one morning / afternoon .. we have no idea what "peak times" would be like here but our stay was great no noisy music at night, no screaming and shouting or traffic noise.. its close enough to get a good nights sleep yet still close enough to the night life to have a great evening out .. if youre on a budget this will suit you fine. We found it clean and the rooms were cleaned and changed daily , even to the point of washing our pots for us if we left any . No pestering lucky lucky men, well there is one but he soon learns youre not interested, and any other about had like a stall set up and sit and let you go to them rather than pester you to buy. Go on, if youre considering the place.. DO IT!!! You wont regret it. Oh and another plus.. from the airport youre normally first dropped off and last picked up :) and you never here the planes.. 20 mins drive to the hotel... magic ;) Go on... treat yourself :)

Room Tip: We had Rooms 201 and 202 .. 2nd floor.. perfect see the sea, close enough to the ground floor if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veril Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veril Playa

Address: C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Veril Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Veril Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veril Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veril Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.