We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold By Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gold By Marina to your Saves list
Gold By Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Estados Unidos de America 15, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Carmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice for couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Newly renovated hotel. Nice rooms. Nice beds. Nice bathroom. Rooms held in a more open environment than the traditional hotel-room. Not bad. Gives the room a bigger effect along with big mirrors on the wall. Wifi working brilliantly in the rooms as you have your own router, but not so good in the public areas where a lot is logged on at the same time. Breakfast is superb. Lunch quiet good standard for a hotel. Close to Yumbo-center. And also very important if you travel as adult couple - free of people below 18 years of age.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good evening,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it because your comments always help us to improve everyday. We are going to take note about the Wifi in the common areas to get better as soon as possible. We hope to see you soon at Gold!.

Take care and have a Gold day!

Cynthia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    56
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
9
242
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From beginning to end our stay at 'Gold' was perfect, all areas cleaned to a high standard and staff always wearing a smile. The food in the snack bar was nice, didnt have breakfast but looked to be popular. Rooms in perfect condition, and a kitchen with everything to suit our needs. We did look at booking again and found the prices to have at least doubled :(
this must be due to its popularity, but enjoyed our stay none the less.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nathan,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at Gold! We have already received your new booking and we are going to do our best to provide you the room 701 :D. If you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We are looking forward to seeing you!

Take care and have a GOLD day.

Kind regards,

Cynthia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a week before and were pleasantly surprised with the quality, cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel. We were not disappointed with a nice hotel which was immaculately cleaned during out stay.

The common areas are cooly designed and the varying type of sunbeds being very comfy.

Breakfast was more than you could ever want!

Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Greg,

and thank you ever so much for an outstanding review on GOLD!

We sincerely appreciate your opinion as it is definitely the most helpful feedback future guests could get before they decide to book, and it also helps us confirm what our strengths and weaknesses are.

However, the definitive proof that you are a GOLD lover would be to welcome you again soon ;) Sorry if that sounds too cheeky, but we would love to! lol

Thank you again and have a GOLD day!
Armando - Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here in March for 7 nights. Having stayed in the area last October, I decided to give the hotel a try having seen it from the outside. First impressions are good with a bright, clean looking reception.

Upon arrival we were checked in and given complimentary Cava (from a plastic glass I hasten to add) and allocated a room on the 3rd floor. We received a "complimentary upgrade" (not sure what to). Having booked a double room, we were allocated a twin.

The first room was basic to say the least. The bathroom was a shower and toilet to which there was no way to close the door unless you stood in the shower, the headboard was a piece of corrugated plastic and the wardrobe was a piece of steel tubing. Some of the furniture and hangers were from IKEA - nothing luxurious and more like upmarket student accommodations. The room was cleaned to a decent standard. On the morning of the second day, we asked to be moved to a double room. Reception were somewhat curt and seemed to get hung up on having given us a free upgrade. I did tell them that I'd have rather had the room that I booked.

After some argument, they offered to upgrade us to the "Master Suite" for another €60 / night. I spend on average 2 nights a week in Hotels on business, so Id like to think that I have a pretty good understanding of what rooms and service should be like. Once again, the room was littered with cheap IKEA furniture, had no towel rail (3 coat hooks in the shower) and the rather large shower only had a hand spray. The room was once again clean and tidy. This room did have the benefit of a roll top bath as well as a shower.

Breakfast was pretty good but busy. I'd suggest getting there first thing though as the food didn't seem to be refreshed and by 9am the hot food was in a pretty sorry state. Lunch food was really good and restaurant service was fine. Note that no room service or evening meals are available other than a small bar in the reception. There is no atmosphere in the public areas of this hotel.

The pool area is pleasant but is very bland and lacks atmosphere once again. No pool drinks service, you have to go to the bar.

One of the worst things about this "hotel" is the lack of housekeeping 2 days a week. This is the first time in my life where I have had to clean my own room 2 days a week - pretty awful and you'd at least expect them to have suites cleaned - very disappointing.

Also beware that you will need to put a €20 deposit on a pool towel and pay €1.50 for replacements. You also need to pay to use the in room safe.

There are better hotels in the area. This venue is used by quite a few package holiday companies, hence the better reviews. I'd imagine the demographic that take package holidays would find this hotel quite luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "CustardCream",

Welcome to the Independent Republic of our Hotel XD

and thank you ever so much for such a detailed review on IKEA, I mean GOLD! You cannot figure out how useful your feedback will be to future guests, specially after such an in-depth description of our rooms and services.

In fact we are proud to announce that GOLD has been awarded TripAdvisor's Travellers' Choice 2015 prize, and we owe that recognition to our guests' contributions, no matter whether upgraded or paying full fare XD

Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly anytime.

Thank you very much again and don't forget....................................we're all GOLD lovers!

Armando - Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this hotel is realy great nice rooms big bathroom friendly and handsome staff , also the food is realy good brakefast and snacks in day time we sure will go back to there !
its near places to go out but you dont hear the noice at night ,special for young coupels this hotel is great , verry gay friendly

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Dimitri,

WOW! what can I say to such a fab review??

It was honestly a pleasure to have you guys around, chat with you and see you walking in and out with such friendly smiles on your faces at all times. And yes, your delicious chocolates are already being missed. Very much! XD

We are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you next year again!!

Thank you very much and may we wish you all the best.

Armando - Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at the Gold By Marina is a wonderful experience, by far the best accommodation that I have stayed in in the 20 years that I have been visiting the island.

The rooms are a good size, clean and decorated in a retro style. Towels and toiletries are changed daily, the air conditioning and television are included in the price but the safe costs 4 Euros a day (something that we did not need to use as we have a solid case with good locks).
You are greeted on arrival with a glass of sparking wine and there is a bottle of wine waiting in the room. Reception was quick and friendly. All of the staff at the hotel go out of their way to be helpful and courteous. Bar prices are good and there is a waiter service by the pool durinf the day and a 24 hour bar in reception.

My wife and I only had breakfast at the hotel; there was an amazing choice of hot and cold food, fresh orange juice, fruit and made to order items such as omelettes.

Other features of the hotel - a small gym, hot tub, free use of beach towels and lots of sun beds and shaded places to sit.

Gold is certainly a place my wife and I will stay at again and recommend it to friends.

Well done to all at Gold for what you have achieved -- staying at Gold made our holiday special.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in room 907, lovely views of the mountains and the sea Three lifts opera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David,

thank you ever so much for taking the time in reviewing GOLD on TripAdvisor!!

All contributions are dearly appreciated since we learn from every single suggestion, but it feels fantastic to see that the project is working out right!

We shall be happy to put you up next time you visit Gran Canaria and make a dream out of your stay!

Best regards and have a GOLD day!

Armando, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Gold for a Semana Santa trip with my best friend and I was blown away by the excellent customer service, cleanliness, and design of the hotel. I highly recommend getting the breakfast deal and the food/drinks are great. I would go back to the island solely for the hotel. The staff was enthusiastic, personable, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Querida Sarah,

muchísimas gracias por una reseña tan concise a la par que generosa! Es un verdadero placer leer semejantes halagos tan inspiradores para continuar ofreciendo la mejor de nuestras sonrisas y servicio a pesar de la hora tan intempestiva... (1.30am) ;)

Teniendo en cuenta que las conexiones aéreas desde Pamplona a Gran Canaria no son directas, volverte a ver significará que te has convertido en una verdadera GOLD lover y eso te hace merecedora de la mejor de las bienvenidas, mojito en mano.

Por favor, no dudes en contactarnos con la antelación suficiente para prepararte la mejor habitación disponible u organizarte cualquiera de nuestros paquetes románticos/bienvenida o simplemente un servicio de transfer desde el aeropuerto.

Nada más, gracias otra vez y que pases un día GOLD!

Armando, Recepción.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold By Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold By Marina

Address: Av Estados Unidos de America 15, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Carmen)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold By Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gold By Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Carmen Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Carmen Playa Del Ingles
Carmen Playa Del Ingles
Gold By Marina Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold By Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.