We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver, not quite Gold?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold By Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gold By Marina to your Saves list
Gold By Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Estados Unidos de America 15, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Carmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Silver, not quite Gold?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a month over the 2014/15 Christmas and New Year period in one of the ground floor terrace apartments. Yes, you do get a glass of cheap Cava on arrival and a very warm reception and everything is very clearly explained. The safety deposit box is indeed expensive to rent but probably covers the cost of the free wi-fi which works very well in all areas of the hotel, including public areas such as poolside. All staff are very polite and courteous, always smiling and acknowledging when you pass by without being intrusive (even when you stumble home at 0600 in the morning, lol!!) . They are very alert, too, as we had a visit from Albert the technician following a slight cooking disaster with our toaster which must have set the alarm off at a central point. Lovely, clean poolside area , very well maintained by the lifeguards on duty each day. One Euro fifty cents a bit much every time you change a pool towel , which is one of the reasons why I wouldn't class this as a 4 star hotel. The restaurant is another. On the face of it, the breakfast would appear to offer loads of variety but once you've been there for a few days, it soon becomes clear that the same selection is wheeled out every morning. The "hot" food - beans, scrambled eggs, hash browns, chips, potatoes, mixed veg, etc. - is cold unless you are there for breakfast starting at 8am - but they do serve until noon, which I guess is a bonus. The only hot food you can get is an omelette or fried egg, which get a bit monotonous after a while. There is no consistency with replenishment of the complimentary toiletries in your bathroom - again, not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are not cleaned thoroughly enough and not cleaned at all on Tuesdays or Fridays which again mitigates against a 4 star rating for this hotel. Having said that, it is made clear on check in that rooms aren't cleaned on those two days and this didn't really bother us but it might some folk. Being an adult -only hotel with no entertainment on site (refreshing change) except for a DJ at weekends up at street level in the bar , this is a peaceful hotel in a quiet location and nice for a restful holiday., the only nuisance being women traipsing around their rooms in high-heels with no consideration for other guests on the lower floors. As most other reviewers have said, the lack of storage space is an issue, especially if you are staying as long as we did !! All in all, though we had a nice stay in this hotel which we would classify from experience as an excellent 3 star property. A little way to go before it reaches 4 star standard- ask the cucaracha that joined us in our room early one morning. Thank God for The Hiperdino next door which sells the bug spray!!

Room Tip: When staying on the ground floor buy a pesticide spray and use it round the doors once a day to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    37
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
155
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our last night here in this absolutely fantastic hotel. I can not for one minute understand the bad reviews they are pathetic sad people! (moaning over having to buy soap and not bringing their own beach towel so paying a deposit).

My review-

Pros

-Staff are great very pleasant
-Location is a 2 min walk to yumbo centre.
-two swimming pools, jacuzzi, spray shower.
-fantastic breakfast better than English hotels.
-cocktails are pricey but so good.
-very modern
-free WiFi throughout and great fast signal.
- staff come to your sunbed and offer drinks.
-free drink on arrival.
-was a little windy one day (January) offered a little blanket outside.

Cons
- a fly was spotted going past by sun bed.

As you can see we could go on more absolutely under rated by cranks best hotel I have been to and I travel x3 times per year around the world. Must book and will be coming back. Needs to be a 5* in my opinion.

Thank you gold see you soon.
Meghan and tom

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Megan and Tom,

both of you are FANTASTIC! Thanks a lot for your nice review about your stay in GOLD. It is a pleasure to read that you had an astounding stay with us and believe us, that your review is a great encouragement for all of us.

Again thank you very much and we also look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Take care and remember.. WE ARE GOLD LOVERS! :)
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverum Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

New, fresh and very nicely designed hotel. The breakfast were the best meals while staying in Playa del Ingles, the buffet was open till 12! Very wide variety at the buffet and freshly squeezed orange juice. Room cleaning was satisfying. Very nice and roomy shower. Calm and relaxing atmosphere. Many places to relax in the sun bonus points for double sun beds. Jacuzzi could have been warmer. Reasonably priced restaurant with nice dishes, the paella was especially good. Supermarket 50 meters from the hotel, as well as an ATM.

One thing though: The spa tent is located too close to the pool, gets a bit to noisy for relaxing.

Even though the area may not be that exciting, the hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jonas,

Thank you so much for such a nice review on TripAdvisor! It is so great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! The entire Gold team is really proud to be part of such a fantastic project.

Take care and remember.. WE ARE GOLD LOVERS!
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No ventiilation in the very small bathroom. You have to step into the shower to close the toilet door.

The kichen? No freezer compartment in the fridge [ no ice for drinks ]. THeextractor fan just blows grease and smells back into the room.

Lack of storage. No wordrobe just a metal rail in the room, I lived out of my suitcase for 9 nights. Cheep plastic roofing panel used as a headboard. Pain white walls on art or cupboards.

I am travelling back to Playa Del Ingles in September and fortunately will not be staying here again, it,s overrated and overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Stuart,

thank you for the minutes you spent writing your review on Gold. We honestly regret to read that your stay was not as satisfactory as you expected, but believe us if we say that your opinion is far more useful to us than you will ever figure out.

We try to keep in mind all your suggestions, take care and again, thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros:
Great beds an duvets
Nice location
Fresh rooms, great kitchenette.
Attentive staff
Great breakfast buffet
Water bottle in the fridge at arrival
Great sun beds
Wifi works well all over the hotel.




Cons:
Strange having to pay 4Euros per day for having access to a safe in the room..very 1990'ies.
No housekeeping two days a week. Rather strange for a four star hotel in my opinion.
You have to pay 1,5Euros in order to have your beach towel changed.
Very little soap in the bathroom, bring your own. We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, and we only got shampoo and shower gel refilled once. We talked to the reception about this three times, but they are almost protecting the soap as gold as we never got soap sent to the room..even though they promised to do so every time. We finally had to buy hand soap and shower gel at the supermarket next door in order being able to shower daily.

We liked the hotel and staff, but having to buy our own soap, paying for safe and change of beach towel gives the hotel a cheap atmosphere. I can't comment the hotel without mentioning the staffs uniforms. The uniforms for the chefs (all black) and housekeeping (all white) are very nice. The rest of the staff (receptionists, waiters etc) wears denim trousers and shirts. This gives the impression of not being a four star hotel. Changing the uniforms of the receptionists and waiters would give the hotel a lot better first impression.
Would we stay here again..?..probably not, as you may find similar hotels for the same price, giving you a better feeling not having to pay for safe and soap. Unfortunately we were a bit disappointed, but maybe we had to high expectations.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Colleague,

first of all, thank your very much for taking some time writing your review about GOLD. We are sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations but trust us, we wanted to do our best.

We know that our design or style is different. but it is done just to give a new concept, different to traditional hotel concept. We try to be very close to our guests and be able to help and answer any questions, so next time I encourage you to speak with our reception staff for any questions and be able to enjoy a holidays of your total satisfaction.

If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Take care and thank you again for your time.
Best regards,
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There are 2 massive pluses - the kitchette and the very large shower. The parking is very useful and the location is very good for shopping and eating. There is small but petty charge for the safe but the internet is free. Breakfast is good but get up early or late when it is windy Otherwise you will end up queuing as everyone wants to eat inside but a good proportion of the tables are outside. The rooms are a good size. The staff are great. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a seaview - you might get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Peter,

thank you so much for such a thorough and generous review on GOLD!! Believe us if we say it is a pleasure to take part in such a great project, specially after reading such great opinions like yours.

Hope to see you soon and remember... WE ARE GOLD LOVERS!
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellneededrest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was amazing. The room we stayed in was by far the best room we have ever had in a villa. It was clean, the staff were extremely helpful couldn't ask for more.
The beach is about 10 minutes walk away.
There are bars / restaurants 1 minute away and a supermarket even closer.
The shopping area where there are more bars and restaurants is 5 minutes walk away.
Playa del Englis may not be everyone's cup of tea, but off season it was great to be able to get away and relax.
It seems to be more for the Scandinavians and Germans rather for the English ( perhaps the escort needs to change its name )

In summary this was great hotel and I wish I could pick it up ( with the staff ) and transport it take it my next holiday destination. Well if 'London Bridge ' can be moved to America anything is possible.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Front Office Manager at Gold By Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear wellneededrest,

Honestly, thank you so much for such a great review on Gold! I do not know if you can actually figure out how happy it makes us to see that the result of our effort is your satisfaction.

Take care and remember.. WE ARE GOLD LOVERS! :)
Cris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold By Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold By Marina

Address: Av Estados Unidos de America 15, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Carmen)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold By Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gold By Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Carmen Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Carmen Playa Del Ingles
Carmen Playa Del Ingles
Gold By Marina Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold By Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.