We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a chille out place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Las Orquideas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Apartamentos Las Orquideas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenido de Madrid 28 | San Bartolome De Tirajana, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a chille out place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

hotel was dated but the owner was renervating while we were there, large appartments great space everything you needed apart from kettle, near to beach cafes ext would go back again a bit off a walk to yumbo taxi 3 euros save your legs

Room Tip: pool view ground floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very good to be back.
Second time at apartments good location can not fault.
The room cleaners came in every day but Sunday.
Pool area & gardens kept tidy by Jaun all day.
the apartments are Ok for a good clean base.
The gate in to the apartments is locked all day
May book again in March
That says it All.
Well Done Jaun & Lola.
For a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: High room for couples low rooms for family's & pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

One star does not tell you the reality of Orquideas . It;s really much more! Best situation, nice rooms, garden, pool. Clean rooms,you had all you needed.
Maybe a little pain on walls and such...
Busses may disturb you They make quite a noice while passing .Otherwise quiet and comfortable!

Room Tip: We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms, it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have just returned 22/11/11, from a two week stay in Gran Canaria. We booked the Las Orquideas because of it location, and as we were late bookers it was the only accommodation that was available in the area we wanted to be in. We read the reviews and as usual they were mixed, some good, some bad. If you read this and decide to dismiss it, do so at your peril!!!
We arrived late 11pm on a Saturday night. We went out for a walk and returned around 1pm. On entering the appartment we were faced with around 6 cockroaches on the breakfast bar work surface. Luckily, having read the reviews before we left we had taken a can of raid cockroach killer with us. We killed them all and then went to check all the cupboards in the kitchen where we found another 4. We killed them and then sprayed the gaps around the kitchen units. During the next 3 hours we killed around 100 cockroaches in all rooms of the apartment. The next morning we told the reception of the problem. Juan, the manager, told us that they must have been brought in by the previous occupants in a carrier bag from the supermarket. He arranged to have the room sprayed and told us this would solve the problem. All was only for 48 hours but on the3rd night they returned in the same numbers and we spent another 3 hours killing the cockroaches, but this time taking pictures of them including the ones in the fridge door. The next morning we called Alpha rooms and asked to be moved. Alpha rooms were very helpful and we were transferred to the bungalows Las Vegas Golf in Maspalomas where we had a trouble free and enjoyable remainder of our holiday. We were offered another room, room 33 at the Las Orquideas but when we viewed this room it also had cockroaches in the kitchen cupboards which led us to believe that the problem we had was not an isolated one. Is/Was the apartment fit for purpose as a self catering facility? not when we were there. If you book, then good luck to you.

Contrary to the review by fatha_1 we did not see Juan hose down the paths during the 5 days we were unfortunate enough to have stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Las Orquideas was a good find the accommodation was ideal for us we had 2 good sized bedrooms gallery wood style kitchen breakfast bar we asked for top floor its bit noisy in day with bus,s and lorrys
kitchen no microwave rest. Adequate. If full sun bed space would be tight small private area back of pool area out way from pool All kept clean by by maids beds and lien changed regular dusted. [Note! No Cockroaches] Gardens swept and hosed down and kept clean sprayed by Juan Juan and Lola very cheerful friendly could not have been more helpful but be prepared to use sign language if English but will have good fun Juan try s very best supermarkets all close for first big shop.Go to the Belle vista Hypodino cost you 3.60 in taxi each way all you need and more fresh meat and fish.Will try and go back March that says it all.
Bottom line good clean accommodation friendly hosts what more could you ask.

Room Tip: ground floors best for family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

overall it was ok but the outside area was a bit cramped and no plug sockets in the bedrooms making it hard to get ready

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We (my partner and I plus a friend) stayed at Las Orquideas for a week in March. We wanted a cheap self catering base. The main requirement we had was a second bedroom, as we didn't want our friend to pay the same money to sleep on a coach in the living area - which most places seemed to offer. Las Orquideas was a real find. The accommodation was ideal, 2 good sized bedrooms, a kitchen and a living area, plus, as we were on the ground floor we had a semi private terrace area to sit out in that led onto a real sun-trap of a courtyard with a pool. The apartment was fitted out in a rustic Spanish style, not posh, but comfortable and clean - we had friendly "maids" come in every day. The self catering kitchen was more than adequate. Our coffee machine didn't work when we arrived, but was replaced as soon as we mentioned it. The proprietors, Carmen and Juan were extremely helpful and as they lived on site it almost felt like being part of their extended family. Their English was limited, but we got by on our terrible Spanish and their much better French and German. They sell a few basics like water at reception, which helped as we arrived late, and there was a Spar just around the corner and a supermarket close by. The position was great too. Very close to the beach and a 15 walk to the Yumbo Centre. It is also close to the main bus terminus at Parque Tropicale, and there were lots of buses - we never got a taxi! As far as cockroaches are concerned, we never saw one in the apartment, but inevitably in a warm climate you are probably never far from one - we did see a few squashed on the sea front - but really you need to be very squeamish to let them worry you. The only hassle we had was with some Irish girls on a hen do and some flirtatious Italians who also were staying there for some of the time - but even that wasn't a big deal, and I don't think Juan would have let it get out of control.
We visited Puerto de Mogan by bus which we knew from previous visits to be very pretty, and also hired a car and drove round the island visiting some places of interest. The mountainous interior is a must see, although the driving can be a bit hairy! I walked from the apartment across the dunes to Maspalomas, about 2 hours at a leisurely pace, the contrast between Playa and Maspalomas is interesting - Maspalomas is quite posh!
Overall we got exactly what we were after, a few days in the sun, ideal accommodation, and change from £400. We would definitely do it again. And if Carmen and Juan are reading this, then thank you for all your kindness and hospitality. Best wishes, Andrew, John and Sean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Las Orquideas

Address: Avenido de Madrid 28 | San Bartolome De Tirajana, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Las Orquideas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Las Orquideas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Las Orquideas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.