We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palmeras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palmeras to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palmeras
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Kuopio, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a week in April 2014, the Riu Palmeras hotel. Huonemme was located in a two-story bungalow-style building. The hotel area was fenced and very safe. The pool area was clean and comfortable, going to the beach was not even necessary. The pool area was a bar which was also really good food at low prices. Breakfast was great, everything was available, and one morning there was also a bottle of cava and caviar, breakfast was a five-star hotel in its class. The hotel was really friendly and helpful service, and an excellent level of cleanliness. I would highly recommend this hotel.
I think the hotel is ideal elegance and tranquility, due to, for example, fine for couples but also for families with children was in this hotel and yet the atmosphere was calm and relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    104
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
126
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Riu Palmeras in March for two weeks. It is very much an oasis in the middle of a busy town, but within a few minutes of the promenade high above the beach. Playa del Ingles is not an exciting place - it is very much about the beach - and the walk along to Maspalomas on the beach was an experience not to be missed. So the hotel’s location was very suitable for that.

The bedrooms are of standard size, and the beds rather hard, but when we asked for a soft mattress, they very quickly sorted this out, as they did with any other request, such as getting a mat to help avoid accidents in the slippery bath. The toiletries in the bathroom were very limited, and we used the local supermarket to improve our range.
The bedroom selection is all important. As the entertainment is outside in the evening, you cannot avoid it - and so if your main priority is to have a dress circle view from your bedroom balcony, choose a room on a lower floor, round about the middle, say room 17. We wanted a view of the dunes, and had asked for a room on floors 5 or 6, but were initially given one on the third floor. When we asked for higher room, they agreed, but claimed that they had only received the room requests a week before, which was why I had been allocated the wrong room. A week! A black mark there, I am afraid.

The restaurant was large - two sittings, either at 6 or 8, which was not ideal. We chose 6, but it was rather early, and we would have found 8 too late. As far as the food was concerned - it was up to Riu’s high standard. There was a great range, and the meat was incredibly tender, bearing in mind the problems of mass production. We did rather agree with a previous reviwer about the underdone bacon - but that was a small point!

There were plenty of beds around the pool. There entertainment was good - sometimes excellent - sometimes not so good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High for the views - low for the entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here in March 2013 and enjoyed it so much that we booked again for March 2014. Have we regretted doing that? Not in the least, it was just as good as we expected. This is truly the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff are excellent and will go the extra mile to please you. Many of them, and even some guests, remembered us from last year. The food is very good for a four star hotel, our only reservations being the undercooked bacon some days. The rooms are not over large but are ample with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The beds, with the optional mattress toppers, were very comfortable. Some of the shows in the evening were very good and the resident trio, same as last year, played easy listening music. The swimming pool is so clean it is unbelievable and there are more than enough sunbeds so that you could find one at any time of the day. The pool attendants even bring the mattresses to you. Some people seem to object to the Riu policy of allocated times and tables for dinner but we prefer that. You get to know your waiter (and more importantly he gets to know you) and the people at the adjoining tables. It was another very relaxing stay, so much so that we have booked again for March 2015 and that says it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Hotel is situated in a fantastic location for shopping, bars, public transport and access to the beach and walk to adjacent resorts. Food and variety second to none - pity about the fact that you had to either dine at 6.00 or 8.00 p.m. (I thought Riu had changed this regimented policy in their Hotels now). However, the choice and quality made up for this slight inconvenient. Rooms are a bit dated although clean - beds could be more comfortable and better toiletries would be much appreciated.

Room Tip: All room have pool views - was on 3rd floor and had not noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with a great swimming pool - non-slip and not too deep. Plenty of sunbeds and a pleasant garden area. Entertainment was mostly outside in the evenings and finished at the acceptable hour of 11 pm. Like other reviewers, I was not happy about the set times for dinner and the set seats and some people got very upset when 'their' seat was taken at other meal-times! There was great variety of food however and the rooms were well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lack of Wi-Fi was disappointing in view of the fact that many hotels now provide this in all areas and for free. The hotel is a walkable distance from the beach but there can be many steps to get up and down to the main area. Not much to the town itself as it is all hotels and little tatty shopping areas. This is a good hotel to stay in for relaxing by the pool and doing as little as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

At first l thought things were a bit regimented, but the place grew on me. Greeted with a glass of bubbly and soon in our room, cases followed swiftly. We had a large balcony being on the lst floor with table and chairs.The room felt a bit small due to another set of table and chairs inside. Everything very clean.Nice firm beds,safe extra charge.Good lighting in bedroom and bathroom also plenty of mirrors, plenty of hangers too. Towel rail quite high at the back of the bath, so may be a bit difficult if you were 5' tall. The chairs by the pool in the lovely gardens were all set to face the sun, plenty of them, also umbrellas and small tables.Nice large pool with a non slip bottom.Very nice large beach towels.Food, well so much choice, you need to look around for a while before choosing, veggie area also diet corner.Allocated tables and two sittings,You can have 1 meal a week in the a la carte restaurant, with 4 choices of food.Staff all very good and helpful.The entertainment in the evenings was OK, it finished at 11.00, if you want anything more after this you needed to walk up to the Yumbo centre where lots went on late in the night. At the centre there were a lot of shops and restaurants. whilst we were there it was carnival time, so the evenings could be a bit noisy, but as our rooms were well away from this area, it was quiet. It was a 5 min walk to the front and the sand dunes. From here you could walk to the left to shops on the front, or to the right and walk into Maspalomas and further. There is a library with a few books.Internet is extra.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -10 should be quietest away from the Yumbo centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A good looking curved building, with elegant marble reception area, and all bedrooms facing an attractively shaped pool set in a beautiful garden with many palm trees. Good sitting areas inside and out, and plenty of suns beds and sun umbrellas around the pool. Unobtrusive bar service near the pool. There's a small gym around the back of the hotel.

Food in the restaurant was plentiful and varied, on a buffet basis. There's also a small a la carte restaurant. Entertainment every evening was mostly very good - on a small stage outside except on cool evenings.

Bedrooms have balconies and are well equipped but not very large. Ours had twin beds.

Staff throughout the hotel are exceptional; efficient, friendly and cheerful, and seem to enjoy working there. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Room cleaning was thorough and excellent.

Our wish list for future visits would include a better flat screen TV with SKY news in the bedroom; free or much less expensive wi-fi (it costs €18 a week for each gadget); several more changing rooms around the pool (we found just one unisex).

More important for us would be a single sitting for dinner instead of two: one at 6pm (too early) and 8pm (too late). Breakfast manages with one sitting because guests choose different times and there are no queues. We chose the early sitting, and from about 7pm the meal becomes quite stressful because staff were starting to prepare for the 8pm sitting, clearing starters and main courses away and inevitably creating quite a lot of noise. We didn't appreciate not being able to take our time over dinner whilst on holiday. No after dinner coffee was served in the restaurant, possibly because it would have extended the time early diners spent there. This arrangement would put us off going there again, I am sorry to say, because the hotel is excellent is so many ways.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras

Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 7-storey main building and 2-storey annexes in the garden. Bungalows Riu Palmitos surrounded by the garden of the hotel Riu Palmeras. Hotel Riu Palmeras: Renovated in Summer 2006. 350 m from the seafront promenade and the beach. 250 m from the city centre. 200 m from various shops. 30 km from the airport. 100 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palmeras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.