We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After many visits I wouldn`t go anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Riu Flamingo to your Saves list
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“After many visits I wouldn`t go anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Have stayed over many years and have always loved it. Anyone complaining about should go elsewhere as there is great demand for this place. We love the place it`s location . It`s front foyer is wonderful and staff are always willing to help

Room Tip: We have been on every floor and each is as good as the last one.. All the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    127
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
24
144
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the riu flamingo recently for three days and can say it was in overall a good experience. Room: Clean yes a little bit dated but we werent bothered tv was an impressive size nice bathroom and room was tidied daily winning. Pool: Was not visited but looked cool from our seventh floor balcony.Bar:Was visited and although the deco is dated the atmosphere covers all flaws. Staff:Best part of the hotel everyone friendly smiley and mega helpful exactly what you want to be seeing when on holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu Flamingo,

We had a one bedroom apartment sleeping 3 adults and a 3 month old baby.

Although the room is a little 'dated' it was spotlessly clean with a full made service everyday (beds pulled out, clean towels etc). The cot provided for our baby was immaculate and once we had been in the room for 15 minutes or so the gentleman from reception called to check that everything was OK etc and specifically checked that we were OK with the facilities for the baby.

Lovely staff, fantastic pool area and a great location!

The only negatives (and being picky!) are that the rooms are a little 'dated' and the kitchen facilities were very basic. A kettle and toaster would have made all the difference!

By our own admittance it takes a lot to please us when it comes to hotels etc...but we would not hesitate in recommending the Riu Flamingo!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on at least the 4th Floor (we were on the 6th) and facing the pool (garden view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I really haven't got a clue what peoples problem is with this hotel !! Disabled access - there is a ramp outside, there are 3 lifts, and there is even a ramp into the pool, the hotel I must say is spotless, the food at the pool side is lovely. People moan about the decor in to rooms, YES the rooms are dated but so what there spotless, if you want clean towels everyday you can just leave them in your bathroom and put the sign on your door saying "make my room up" and you'll get clean towels and if you want clean sheets on the beds there is a square card on your bedside table which you put on your bed and the maids will change your sheets. It's about a 5/10 minute walk to the kasbah and a ten min walk to the yumbo, YES the hotel has a lot if Germans too, but you don't have to talk to them if you don't want !! There pleasant enough if you give them a smile ! They don't bite ! I'd definately go back ;-) All I will say is take a hair dryer because there not the best in the rooms ;-)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I am confused by some of the reviews about this accommodation, especially the food reviews.
The Riu Flamingo is part of a complex shared by the sister hotel the Riu Papayas, The Flamingo is an Aparthotel for self catering guests, whereas the Papayas is a hotel, generally supplying Half Board option to guests, anyway, the garden and pool, the terrace and outside bars and the indoor lounges and bars are all shared by both buildings. The general appearance of the reception, lounges and guest facilities are very good and all the staff encountered were very polite and pleasant. The location of the Flamingo is quite good, there are two commercial centres near by, and it is not far to the more livelier Kasbah and Plaza centres, the Paseo Canaria promenade is about 500 metres away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the Riu Waikiki hotel next door, this hotel can be a bit noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I think I went to a different riu Flamingo to some of the reviews, they look made up, ie "we were on half board", riu flamingo has studio appartments and 1/2 bedroom appts but don't offer a "board" option. DEFINATELY NOT WHEELCHAIR FRIENDLY. I phoned the riu Flamingo twice before booking and they said they were wheelchair friendly. The reality is that they had to take the door off the bathroom so that I could get into the bathroom in my standard hand push wheelchair. No adapted toilets anywhere on the appartment site, toilet in reception down steps, toilet behind bar has step plus no wheelchair cubicle. If your in a wheelchair and can't walk DON'T TOUCH THIS PLACE. Apart from that all very average, maybe on another planet this place would be 4 star, this was 3 star at best.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from a week at this Aparthotel and really cannot fault it. The only reason I am not giving it a 5* rating is because of its proximity to the beach, restaurants, etc... a good 10 minutes walk to the beach and 7 or 8 minutes to the Kasbah Centre for restaurants, etc.

However, the Aparthotel was fantastic. Rooms cleaned every day, with fresh towels and towels for the lovely pool and beach.

The rooms were a bit dated (very 1970s), but spotlessly clean and with amazing showers!

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the staff on reception were excellent, as were the staff in the pool bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Riu Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Address: Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Riu Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 7-Storey building. Shares resort facilities with Hotel Riu Papayas. 3,500 M2 garden. 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 500 M from the city centre. 400 M from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Aparthotel Riu Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Flamingo
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Riu Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.