We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apart hotel great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Riu Flamingo to your Saves list
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Liverpool,UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent apart hotel great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks in October,great hotel very clean,staff very helpful and friendly. Our room had all crockery,cutlery etc for two people,great to have a fridge which made ice cubes.
The ONLY criticism is he lack of wifi in hotel,the only place to use it is in reception where the machine is,I think all hotels now have wifi,so come on Riu join the IT age!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    118
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

having been in Playa Del Ingles in August 2012 we loved it so much we came bac as quick as we could !! having stayed just next door previously at Jardin Del Sol , having liked the area and got to know our way round, the Riu Flamingo seemed ideal. We arrived on a very late flight and was greeted by a polite cheerful and helpful member of staff, who quicky confirmed our details and explained about the bus, towel cards ect before directing us to the lifts to our room on the fifth floor. A quick ride up in the lift and we got to our room. Romms was large airy and clean. quicly unpacking into the ample storage spaces, we looked at the self catering facilities, here lies the only gripe of the holiday ( all being it a small one) no kettle or toaster, come on riu !!! these are cheap basic requirements to any self catering surely ?? , i didnt expect food blenders and combinations ovens just a few simple basic mod cons. anyway no deterred we bobbed on a pan of water and made a well deserved cuppa !.
we were on the side facing waikiki and close to the road, this was a bit noisy at first but you soon ignored it. The hotel is vast but kept very clean with cleaners in our room every day without exception ( hint :-the come early do get the do not disturb sign up if u intend any kind of lie in lol)
we sampled the bar on a couple of evenings whilst watching the entertainment, drinks and cocktails were reasonably priced.
Never had any issues getting a sunbed no matter what the time of day and the pool was clean.
We never ate in the hotel instead chosing our favourite chinese just round the corner "china sol" in the Jardin del sol complex, food is always great there and the service is personal and friendly and we were always welcomed with a beaming smile and made to feel at home, the staff work hard with the owner 6 month pregnant but still working tireless to make the meal an enjoyable one. Had breakfast at mackers Irish bar in the same complex too , again friendly staff good food and good prices.
One of our favourite spots in down on the beach promenade Dunes and Tunes Irish bar, great staff live entertainment every night and best cocktails we have had in the resort !! highly recommend it to anyone.
We had pizza at little brasil on the beach promenade and with the use of green banana guide discount saved 15% and a very nice meal, which led us to the little brasil in the Kazbah complex where we tried the all you can eat meat and salad buffet, but this was the worst meal of the entire holiday, service was dreafully slow once they had you seated, the salad was limited and the meats were brought to you in drib and drabs and were terrible !! we found them to be dry, tasteless and to be honest bloody horrible, having asked for the bill 5 times from different members of staff and ensuring we waved the green banana guide card, we were presented with a bill for over 50 euro but no discount, when i challenged them about it they said the didnt do green banana dispite it being on the website listings , smartphone app and brochure and the fact we got discount at the one just down on the beach.
but they wouldnt honor it and we paid 50 euro for a rubbish meal and wont be returning and I would not recommend it to anyone.
all in all our stay at riu flamingo was a good one and if they just sorted out the self catering issues it would be great to return to !! cant wait to go back the the glorious sun and fab beaches ! we love it

Room Tip: We were on fifth floor which had great views it may be quieter having a pool facing room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me & my partner (23 & 21) have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Riu Flamingo. The staff were very friendly and the maids worked very hard! Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels.
For those of you who moan about the decore - even though thats not an issue for us, the rooms are dated but is expected for the price of the hotel.
The pool is lovely and we never had to fight for a sunbed! There didnt seem to be any English at the hotel either except us and another couple.
The location is great, short walk away from both the Kasbah & the Yumo centres full of resturants and Bars.
Whilst at the Kasbah centre we did get stopped alot by people trying to sell drugs, when speaking to others out there, it seems that as we are young and english we got pestered!
We wouldnt return to Playa del Ingles itself though as it seems to have had its day but the hotel was very good and we would recommend it to others going.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I absolutely adore this hotel because of its location, friendliness, pool area, food, staff BUT it needs a makeover! The rooms, particularly the bathrooms, are oh so tired. I have been coming here for years, often twice a year and nothing has changed. So come on RIU spend some money upgrading this delightful hotel.

Another gripe from me-this is directed to the hotel management: as I am a regular client why don't the reception staff have some way of knowing that I am a regular? Each time I arrive I am asked "Is this your first visit?" After 20 or so stays it galls a bit. I do hope the director of the hotel responds this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed at the "Rio" Flamingo at the end of September 2012 for a week. On arrival it is obvious why this hotel is rated a 4 star, the reception area and amenities are beautiful and all on hand. The hotel has hairdresser, clothes boutique and supermarket all in house. As previously mentioned, the supermarket is very expensive; there is a supermarket just a 2 minute walk from the hotel with another very reasonably priced pub serving food also.

The hotel reception staff were very friendly and attentive on arrival and had us checked in and on our way to the room within 5/10 minutes. You are issued with a towel card (which you can exchange for towels for the pool) and also a card which you can use to board a free daily bus to and from the beach.

The corridors and rooms are not up to the same 4 star decor that the reception and communal area's of the hotel have. But in saying that, the rooms were exceptionally clean, had all the basic items that you could need (although we did not have a kettle or toaster) and the housekeeping were amazing. Our room was cleaned everyday and the staff always greeted you.

Our room was on the 4th floor of the hotel and faced the neighboring hotel, Waikiki. In the morning and throughout the day (late afternoon) you were very aware of the entertainment that was going on, so your alarm clock was never needed and there was no chance of a wee cheeky "siesta". Although the entertainment at the Waikiki did seem to be superior to the Flamingo, or at least it was throughout our stay.

The pool again was immaculate and there were ample sunbeds and parasols; or at least there would of been if some of the other guests were not using 3 and sometimes 4 parasols and this was not something that was picked up on by the hotel staff. During our stay the hotel guests were mainly German and this was reflected in the entertainment. Myself and my Fiance are 29 and 30 and were disappointed in the entertainment. The hotel do have a resident band if you like, Treasure Band, who played almost every night. We decided to stay one night they were on and were disappointed,as the vast majority of songs were not in English, I think it was only 1 or 2 songs that were in English if I remember right. We felt left out of the night if you like, as the whole set was focused on the German guests. This was down to the songs that were sang and also any interaction the band had with the audience, this continued for the week so we did not stay for the entertainment.

There was a Michael Jackson Tribute night the first night we arrived and this was professionally done, also there was a Beatles Tribute night, but this band again focused on the German guests but did sing in English which was a bonus.

Again the drinks and food were more expensive, but that's to be expected as hotel prices are generally a little pricey. The menu was not entirely to our taste and it did seem a little over the top for a poolside "snack bar".

The hotel itself was only a 10 minute walk from the main Kasbah Centre, this was full of shops, restaurants and pubs and clubs. Also only 15 minute from the Yumbo Centre. The Yumbo Centre is also full of restaurants, pubs and shops but this centre does change after around 6pm...."Adam and Eve by day and Adam and Steve by night", each to their own and I am in no way meaning this to be derogatory, but it can be quite in your face and unnerving with how familiar the people can be if that level of familiarity is not what you are used too. But again all the people we encountered during our stay were friendly and could not be more helpful while shopping in all of the centre's, but be prepared to haggle for a price as they all start with the highest price telling you that this is the best price that you will get.

The beach is lovely and has so many restaurants/pubs to choose from. We ate at a lovely restaurant over looking the beach, the food and staff were excellent and so friendly. We were told that the only way to walk to the beach was down the 160 steps, but we managed to find a little shortcut away from the steps which is straight passed the Kasbah to the bottom of the car park and go through the pathway. The local pub (2 minutes from the hotel), Mackers, was great. The food is amazing and reasonably priced as was the drinks.

We went to the Music Hall Tavern Show during our stay and cannot recommend this enough. it was a brilliant night!!! Meal and drinks during your meal all included in the ticket price.

All in all we would stay at this hotel again, but to keep in mind that it does appear to be a German focused hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows as there is only one pillow given per person, also the mattresses are extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel was absolutely four star, very helpful staff, clean rooms with option for maids every day, When we arrived late a cold supper was waiting in our room.
the menu and food was superb with sea food being a regular choice, barbecue, roasts, rice meals salads with fruit and cheese boards to die for.
The pool bar had good service brought to you pool bed if wanted. We could not have wished for a better stay.
We didn't find Grand Canaria the best place to explore but found the City interesting shops museum and cathedral. We travelled on local buses and spent a few days looking around. Felt we had explored as much as we could and would only return to spend another excellent stay in the Hotel.
The entertainment at night in the bar was good and a good atmosphere. There were four guys, tenors who were brilliant, very professional.

If we had any disappointment it was the local area was ok, but tacky sea front shop, not any nice quality cafes. We were also unable to extend our room for theday of our return journey so it was a long day leaving at 8 p.m. at night. We were told we couldn't book until the last day and then refused even though we offered to pay. We would make sure the return flight was earlier although we were offered a shower room and cases were in a locked room.
For future reference it was a Thompsons holiday and we were charged for overweight on our cases even though we had no hand luggage. We were told that unless we took 5kgms total out of both cases and carried it as hand luggage we had to pay £12 per kilo = £72 total. Being at the front of the quieu of 500 not really a good option. This is the second time we have had this happen with Thompsons, so we are not sure whether it's their stipulation or not.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook pool, but always check, there was another hotel that used the same restaurant bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked our holiday through co op travel and decided on a 4 star as this would be our "babymoon"

We arrived at around 12.30am to the hotel to be greeted by a lovely chap on reception, his english was good and after around 5 - 10 minutes and a few signatures we were issued our room key and towel cards, plus card to charge back to the room, a local map and other pamphlets etc.

We had been given room 311,
so used the lift to the 3rd floor and walked to the other end ( quite a trek after a few local beers i found ) lol never mind the pregnant wife.

Room was lovely and clean,

2 single beds pushed together, and a pool view of the hotel next door ( riu waikiki)

The rooms are a little dated, but it has everything you need, we had booked self catering, and i couldnt understand how you could with no saucepans or like etc ( after 3 days i found the saucepans in the drawers that the tv is on top of )

The hotel is lovely and as you arrive you know you have booked a 4 star, when you get to the rooms and the corridors, it does drop slightly.

There was a slight smell of cigarettes in the corridors, but nothing to over powering.

The hotel has most facilities you could require, hairdressers clothes shop and small shop.

We did find the prices in the shop very expensive, but we found a supermarket 2 minutes away in the Jardin de sol ( out of hotel turn right - walk 20 yrds to supermarket )

We are not particularly pool people, but more the beach, we used the free bus to go the beach once, and then walked or got a taxi to other areas the other times.

The pool is clean, and there are plenty of sun beds, parasols, however, as we noticed the hotel was full with dutch/germans etc, they seemed to be out at 6am reserving beds and collecting parasols, there is a sign and notices stating that this isnt allowed but it isnt enforced, we witnessed several people/families with 3 or more parasols.

You do get free towels to use at pool side whcih can be collected at reception between 8 am and 11am. just hand your cards in and you get them back when you return your towel.

The pool bar is well stocked with local spirits and beers, however these are very very expensive. a pint of local is e3.80 at the hotel ( same beer 200 yrds away is e1 )
as my partner is pregnant she cannot drink, but decided she wanted a non alcoholic cocktail, we ordered this, e7.50!!!!! i was amazed! ( again same 200yrds away e2.00 )

The meals at the poolside are very very expensive, also in my opinion a little over the top for what is required ( venison steak - oysters etc etc ( minimum we found on menu for a basic snack was e8.50 ) again you can go to other areas for snacks from around e3 - e6

I cannot comment on the in hotel bar or hotel as i was not allowed to go in as i didnt have any trousers or shoes. this is a standard rule apparently that you cannot use the hotel bar or restaurant unless your attire is of smart catergory.

The hotel staff were lovely, the reception and front of house team always polite and happy to chat with you. not rushing any conversation.
The cleaners were always greeting you in the morning, and leaving sweets in your room on pillows etc.

The only one issue we had was one waiter at poolside who was quite rude to my partner, as he had suggested she had moved the parasol and sunbed and he couldnt get round. he wasnt very polite and very loud and shouting, this upset my partner. but after speaking to the rception manager he assured me that it would be dealt with. I did explain we hadnt moved anything as there wasnt room to when we arrived.

Overall the hotel is lovely, gardens kept in amazing condition, 99.99% of staff are lovely and polite, and no issues really.

Couldnt hear anything from road noise at night but in the morning you could her the waikiki next door with there entertainment at pool side.

Our hotel i think is aimed at the older person, to want to relax and be waited on. which is lovely, but it would of been nice to join in with the wakiki atmosphere which looked amazing at times,

Entertainment at night, cant really comment, they were singers and a band, i dont no what they were singing about, but conversation and so forth was aimed at the dutch/german guests.

Overall i would stay again, and would reccomend this hotel.

Hope this review has helped somewhat.
**i do have photos and will add when i get chance**

On a quick side note, if your looking for an excellent meal got towards the yumbo centre, at the roadabout look to your left and you will see the red cow restaurant/bar! one not to be missed!
will review next

Room Tip: Long walks from lifts to rooms 311 etc Avoid using pool bar shop at supermarket 200 yards away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Riu Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Address: Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Riu Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 7-Storey building. Shares resort facilities with Hotel Riu Papayas. 3,500 M2 garden. 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 500 M from the city centre. 400 M from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Riu Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Flamingo
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Riu Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.