We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Riu Flamingo to your Saves list
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Playa del Ingles and have a great time. The hotel is in a good place, about a 30 min airport transfer. It is pretty much in the middle of the the Kazbar and Yumbo centre, two main bar and shopping areas. The beach is about 10-15min walk, but there is a free shuttle every 30mins throughout the day, which is handy. The rooms are clean, cleaned everyday, new towels etc and are really big. We went half board but still had all self catering facilities so had best of both. The hotel seemed to be aimed more at German visitors and there seemed to be more German guests than English, but all the staff spoke fluent English and were very helpful when we needed help! The food was nice, but quite repetitive and there was no sausages for breakfast :( My only niggle about the hotel was maybe we were a bit too young to stay here, seemed more older age guests but this didn't really affect our holiday. ( We were 22 and 26)
The area is good too! Lots of bars and restaurants and touristy shops and the beach is really nice too! Big Ben is an English bar around the corner from the hotel and serves nice food and English drinks at reasonable prices, would recommend this to everyone! Also the was a really good trip we went on, we were with Thomas Cook and I think it was called the canary combo? It was a ride in a topless jeep through mountains and dirt tracks, a camel ride and a trip out on a boat to hunt for dolphins and sea creatures! Was 70 euros and well worth it! Get your lunch too, really good day out for all ages.
We really enjoyed ourselves and would stay in this hotel again!
Top tip: Take some long pants if you are dining in the hotel restaurant for tea, I didn't and spent ages trying to find some, harder then you think!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    117
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
131
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is well positioned, clean & good value for money. Pool area is really nice & plenty of free sunbeds at any time of day. Room was a good size with twin beds, although do need kettle. Over the road is "el carraton", best sirloin steak ever, the only downer is they do an 11.50 menu for the locals and try as you might they won't do it for tourists. Also must mention Mackers bar next door, 1 euro a pint & the beer is nice, can't go wrong. In all nice hotel, food & cheap drink, why go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We went here in August 2011 and after reading previous reviews I was slightly worried!

When we arrived, the receiption looked lovely, however once you leave to go onto the floors, the carpets are filthy, the light fittings are loose and falling from the ceiling, the room was tiny with 3 beds in there. A mirror inside the wardrope; however no spare plug sockets for hair styling etc, self catering consisted of two hobs and a fridge!! Not even a kettle or a toaster!! Bathroom was small and entire room was very dated. How this can be sold as a four star, I do not know!! I have stayed in a two star which was nicer and had a full kitchen!!

There were only two chairs and three people staying. Also two plates, Two cups etc.

The pool was nice; however I found the water little dirty also and cringed whenever I went in!! Sun loungers good although everyone reserves these despite the rules clearly stating this is not allowed. Sonetime towels would be there all monring, the people not appearing until 3pm!!

Didnt eat at this hotel as would not dare!! The holiday outside the apartment was great and I would strongly recommend Playa del Ingles; however if you have booked this place, I would seriously consider cancelling and finding a proper four star hotel or apartment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

Came back from the Riu Flamingo with my girlfriend and some friends last Tuesday (19th) and for what we got you cant complain.

Although the hallways and rooms were outdated, what you got was good. Spacious room with a tv, fridge and a 2 ring gas hob. No kettle or toaster though.

The room was spacious, beds comfy and the balcony bigger than normal.

Maid service came everyday, changed sheets every twice a day and were very pleasent.

Staff there extremely helpful and also the other residents.

The hotel though when we were there was mostly full of Germans, Dutch and Scandanavians, all very friendly and cheerful.

In the local area you have the Kasbah. We hated it as we got hassled to go to Pascha and Ministory of sound, so if you like partying, it's only a 10 minute walk.

Further on you have the beach, and loads of restaurants, they're all the same price basically, but some add on a 5% import tax at the end.

The beech and shops are good, but you get the usual people selling sunglasses and tat, but thats nit a problem.

Playa del ingles as a whole isnt the best, it reminds me of Skegness but with more shops and warmer, we did however get the local taxi (cheap) to Melonares which is a lot better and quite nice.

The taxis are very cheap and with the journies we took cost around €5 or £3, very cheap and extremley efficient.

Overall the holiday was a good experience, we wont go back to Playa del ingles, but any other area, yes!

The hotel is good, worth the price and perfect for anyone who doesnt want to go far in the town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

A very good all rounder. Although the decor in the rooms was slighlty dated, they were immaculately clean. Staff were friendly and would accomodate any requests. This hotel is very popular with Germans, as has been put accross in previous reviews in a negative light. I do not hav a problem personally with other europeans but what I would say is that the German guests here, were extremely polite and unobtrusive. The pool was lovely and there were more than enough sunbeds to go around. We were self catering and despite the lack of a kettle and toaster the room was spacious and had everything we needed. Its located in a quieter part of town but still within half a mile of the beach and the yumbo centre. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Riu Flamingo for a week and we were pleased with what we found. I thought the hotel was well situated, far enough away from the resort centre to be pretty quiet but close enough to walk to when you wanted the bars etc. The yumbo is a straight forward walk of about 10 minutes and the Kasbah is even less.
Three of us shared an apartment, and we were pleased with the general standard of the room, everything was very clean, the cleaners came daily. The rooms were all adequate sizes, I had the sofa bed which was a double. The only thing my parents missed was a toaster, we thought one should have been supplied. We couldn't find the kettle on our first day, so we asked at reception, who were always extremely helpful and friendly, and they got us one sent up for the next morning, so if you can't find one, ask as you should have one.
Other than that, there was plenty of mugs, glasses, plates etc to make a lunch time snack.
Our balcony overlooked the pool area, and we're glad we faced that way, as the Riu Waikiki next door was always quite loud which might disturb you if you faced on to them.
You receive a towel card at the hotel to get fresh towels for the pool each day, and there's plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The staff round the pool are excellent, the pool was cleaned regularly and they even have a guy who goes round to make sure people aren't hogging parasols, so again, if you find yourself without one, find a staff member as he will go and get you one!
We didn't eat at the pool side snack bar but it seemed popular with other guests. It has to be said there's a fantastic restaurant called El Carraton across the road which is lovely, great food, big portions and good prices, so that's my recommendation, as is Poornima Indian restaurant which is just round the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing our pool, not onto riu waikiki
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Having just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu Flamingo in Playa del Ingles and wanted all to know what a great hotel it was. Staff were all very good, rooms were cleaned daily, reception staff were very pleasant. Would admit the rooms were a little dated, but were bright and airy. There were always plenty of sun beds. Would not recommend the breakfast buffet as not really worth the 10 euros a day, also safe is 13 euros to hire, should be included. Location good, near to the yumbo and a 10 min walk to the beach.

Overall great value hotel, if you are look a for a cheap holiday in Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Riu Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Riu Flamingo

Address: Avda. Gran Canaria 22 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Riu Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 7-Storey building. Shares resort facilities with Hotel Riu Papayas. 3,500 M2 garden. 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 500 M from the city centre. 400 M from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Riu Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Flamingo
Aparthotel Riu Flamingo Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Riu Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.