We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ralexing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Tartanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Las Tartanas to your Saves list
Las Tartanas
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Tenerife 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
marsden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ralexing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Contacted Tartanas to advise we would be arriving late evenig/early morning. They replied `no problem ring gate buzzer `you will be let in and key to bungalow will be in door` Bungalow no. will be on notice board. Failing this ring one of two emergency relephone numbers(supplied) Not convinced however, we arrived at 2..00 a.m., gate locked, as feared no reply on buzzer nor any reply on either telephone number. We were locked out until 7.00a.m. until an early rising resident let us in! Complained tis o manager and left written report of incident, which I have since e mailed to them without response. Not a good start to the holiday as we were only there for five days and lost the first night. However, in spite of this, we thoroughly enjoyed these charming bungalows, which are well located, spacious with a great pool and amenities. would definitelt stay there again, but recveption needs to review, accessibility.

Room Tip: definitley request a roonm with a pool view, otherwise some bungalows face the perimeter street wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived late so reception was closed we were buzzed in there was a note to tell us where to go bungalow113.
It was basic,clean and quiet lots of hot water and because it was October the pool was tranquil no kids and loads of sun beds.
The beach is a 20 minute stroll and the main centres are both 5 minutes walk.
The guy on reception is a real gent could not be more helpfull and would be ay home in a five star hotel with his customer service.
To sum up is cheap n cheerfull good value for money central and quiet,check other reviews about the dog owners lol we never heard a bark too far away!!

Room Tip: Aparently in July August ask for a room away from the pool as is full of noisy families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

All in all a great holiday-we stayed in Las Tartanas last year and had no qualms re-booking simply because of location,cleanliness and the hope we'd avoid the problem of the barking dog noise experienced previously (See other review)
This year, for 3 of us, we were allocated bungalows 112.113 and 106. The first 2 border the main reception and entrance, but are still relatively private with small gardens.
Main thing we noticed this year though is how much you miss air conditioning when you havent got it. The bungalows are stifling and sleeping difficult most nights.
Temperatures were running at 30-32 degrees with high humidity during day and didnt drop below 21 degrees at night.
Pool remains very clean and spacious.
All staff very friendly, maid service and towel change 4 times in the week.
Nearest supermarket is a 5 minute walk, beach about 20 mins, Yumbo centre 10 minute max.
Probably would stay again.

Room Tip: Bungalows around the pool are nicer, cooler and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for a week at Las Tartanas, we found the staff friendly and the whole site very clean. In a great location for quiet days and lively nights. Our only complaint was the beds! They were SO uncomfortable I had to sleep on the sofa. So for the sake of your future guests please buy new mattress’s.

Room Tip: Room 123 was in a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here several times and will do so again . Close to Yumbo and Kasbah but quiet enough during the day to escape from it all . Ten minute walk to beach . Pool area is excellent and sunbeds always available . Apartments basic but very clean , cleaner visits several times during week .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 via mobile

I have been coming to stay in PDI for the last 10 years at least and can honestly say that my recent stay in Las Tartanas was one of the best.
I stayed here in 2003 and it was dirty, run down and infested with cockroaches - the staff were unhappy and unhelpful. Not so now!!
The complex is run by Angelo a friendly and approachable man who seems to take real pleasure in making sure your holiday is good. No problem seems to be unsolvable!
The other staff we encountered were cheerful and polite and did appear to enjoy their work.
The complex was cleaned every day and the pool was the cleanest I've seen.
We stayed in a 2 bed bungalow facing the pool and it was clean, modern and comfortable enough. I did find the beds a bit hard but then I've never had a perfect bed on holiday!
For the price we paid Las Tartanas was excellent value for money - I have paid over twice this much in other complexes and not liked it more.
I will be booking for my next stay in November soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

a group of 8 of us stayed at las tartanas at the end of september and had a fantastic week! I had read the reviews saying that althought he accommodation was basic it was clean and well maintained in a great location - completely true. we arrived after reception had closed and had no problem getting in, there is an intercom on the front gate, they buzz you in and your room number is on the board.

I was thoroughly impressed with the size and standard of the accommodation it had everything we needed, basic cooking facilities, fridge, decent shower, reasonably comfy beds, spacious patio and garden area (all bungalows have great outside space)

i reccomend paying a few pounds extra for the 'garden view' bungalow - i had a lovely view of the pool.

the location is great - close to the Yumbo centre for the gay bars and there is the Kasbah the same distance the other direction for places like Ministry of Sound, China White and Pascha. We had brilliant nights out at both.
The beach is about a 10 minute walk down a hill - if you are as unfit as me its not the most enjoyable of walks back up after a long day in the sun but not what i would call a killer climb either. (if you really couldnt be bothered to walk it would probably cost about 2 euro in a taxi!)

a special mention has to go to the wonderful Hugh on reception, he was always genuinely happy, nothing was too much trouble and we couldnt walk by without stopping for a chat with him.

I highly reccomend this complex to anyone

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Tartanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Tartanas

Address: Avda de Tenerife 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Tartanas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Tartanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tartanas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Las Tartanas Grand Canary
Las Tartanas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Tartanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.