We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but let down by local visitors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas to your Saves list
Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Tirajana no 32 (Entrada por Calle Timple) - 35100, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location but let down by local visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Really nice hotel in a great location, complained about a really strong smell of sewage coming from the bathroom drains. The cleaners would pour bleach down the drains but this only solved the issue for a few hours, moved to another room after 3 days which was okay.
Great pool side but everyday just after lunchtime the local bars staff arrive and sun themselves and party around the pool, a few guests complained but nothing was ever done to stop this.
Jacuzzi work for the first 2 days then it was drained and an out of service notice for the rest of the week.
Good selection served every morning for breakfast and reception staff where very good but bar staff less so.
Second time at this hotel but wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.
We really appreciate your time and your opinion.

I hope to see you soon in Axel Beach Maspalomas or at one of our Axel Hotels around the world.

Yours Sincerely,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    173
    80
    27
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
258
102
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked the hotel as it looked stylish and was pretty cheap despite this. We were not dissappointed on arrival as the hotel is very clean and trendy as are the rooms. All rooms I presume have a double bed, which seems bigger, which is a very nice surprise when you are used to singles in other hotels. The air con is a great addition and it was only June!
The bathroom was clean and the maids came everyday and were always friendly and cheerful especially our maid who did room 208. The reception staff were great and always happy to help.
The pool area is great for relaxing but we did expect more of a party atmosphere! There was a DJ but to be honest you would not even notice him as the music is fairly quiet and he didnt play anything we wanted. We met some really nice people and enjoyed spending time with them in and out of the complex but I do feel that a lot of people are too busy on their phones than to actually just talk to each other.
Would definitely stay here again and would look at upgrading to a pool view as it was really nice. However the road view wasnt noisy.
Looking to book again before the year is out so that tells you that the team are doing womething right. Great service, great hotel for a small price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate the time you gave us for your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.
Million thanks,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Having had a few disasters with accomodation in Gran Canaria it is great to see this hotel pop up and offer the level of service it does.

Everything from staff to facilities gets a ++, only downside I would say is the WIFI connection. Other than that it was great. A special thanks to Alex on reception who made of stay and transfers brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for 101/103 over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
I'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for coming!!
Best Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just spent 11 nights at Axel, firstly we were so surprised how nice the hotel was for the low price we payed, the room we had (317) was nice, modern, clean,, spacious, well equipped, comfortable and had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area (has to be pre-booked).. the bed was huge and very comfy, the room was fully air conned, with a nice bathroom.. the cleaners came in every day and changed towels, tidied bed and mopped through-out.. the hotel is close to yumbo, very close infact (5 min walk) and also good for supermarkets, bars, eating out, bus stops. id recommend Axel to anyone, and we hope to return very soon, thank you to all the great staff

Room Tip: 317 was a nice pool view room, id recommend a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
I'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for coming!!
Best Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Staff, fantastic!!! The pool and the chill out environment is totally relaxing, Jacuzzi, Sauna, good electronic music, Mojitos and delicious coctels, if you stay at this hotel you gonna spend a lot of time around the pool. How come a Gay hotel could be so appealing for str8 couples. Visit this nice hotel and enjoy a holidays without children screaming in the pool and with the most exclusive service. If you are gay, just let me tell you Axel is the best gay hotel in Maspalomas, in the perfect location near to the hot point of gay night in Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: In my opinion views to pool are perfect rooms and more quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas !!
I'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for coming!!
Best Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As it was our first time staying in a gay hotel we were not quiet sure what to expect and were a bit apprehensive. I am pleased to say that we were pleasantly surprised.
The rooms were spacious, modern and well equipped with excellent air con.
The rooms were serviced and towels changed almost every day.
The pool and grounds were clean and well kept. Can't comment on the bar as we didn't use it.
The only complaint we would have was the wifi was a bit hit and miss but as it was free we didn't mind too much!
Location was great for the yumbo and the beach was about a 20 min walk away.
Was great that we were also able to keep our bags at reception until we needed to go to the airport as we had an evening flight.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in Maspalomas.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel Beach.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat your trip and be part of Axel hotels.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Me and my partner since 25 years stayed here for 2 weeks in May-June.We had a not so good start at the stay, as reception was unable to correctly interpret the information sent by our tour operator. The information clearly stated that we had payed for breakfast for the entire stay. Both restaurant and reception sayed that we only payed for accomodation.
I pointed out that it stated Breakfast at the next column of text in the document, but the guy at reception kept repeting "accomodation only". FInally it required the tour operator to come to the hotel and point out the information in the document provided by them to the hotel.
Anyway, things were sorted out. But no "we're sorry for the mistake" from the hotel. The tour operator, however, who had done nothing wrong came with a bottle of Cava and some chocolate. So for customer care I rate Axel Beach very low.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay at the hotel was not to your liking.
First of all thank you for your review and I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff.
I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.
Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas

Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 (Entrada por Calle Timple) - 35100, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axel Beach Apartments & Lounge Club - Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.