We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£120 a night location and view for a lot less” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guinea Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guinea Apartments to your Saves list
Guinea Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“£120 a night location and view for a lot less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

1st time at guinea, 4th jan-11th, arrived late at night, buzzer intrercom by the gate told us we were in room 701and how to get there,lift to top floor,key was in the door, one bedroom apartment,good size balconey,rooms are clean and basic,microwave,two ring cooker,toaster,pots,pans etc, i would recomend to take a kettle,£5.00 asda special,very light, made life easier when making home brought tea and coffe, cheaper than in the shops,when the sun rose that 1st morning the views were stunning,just fantastic overlooking the pool but with an180 degree sea view,do be careful if you do get this room as there are nudists on the roof of the hotel complex next door, its a 3 mins walk to the beach, 3 mins to kasba centre, the rooms are basic but very clean,sheets, changed every other day, towels every day, the pool and surround is cleaned and tested every day, hector, the gentleman on reception is very kind and very helpful nothing was too much trouble, even took us to the bus stop when we wanted to go to las palmas and told us it was the no 30 bus and only cost 6 euros each and took 30 mins to get there,
i would recomend the top floor as the views are stunning, there are two lifts so no up and down stairs , the views, the location, hector on reception you would be very hard pressed to get better with the price you pay for this apartment, the hotel next door to this apartment pay £120 a night, the apartments are always full so good luck when booking

Room Tip: top two floors for the stunning sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
30
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

1st time staying at Guinea, booked 2 bedroom apt, 2nd floor however was at pool level so gr8 to havea dip in pol and sit back on ya terrace. very clean, maid service 4 days a week. reception man very helpful. Would definitely stay here again - only minor problem, no window in bedroom to open in apt205 on poolside, did not wanna leave balcony door open all night

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor apts. same level as bar/cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

stayed here Oct31-Nov7, picked this hotel for price and location, which were both excellent.
we were in a 1 bed studio on 3rd floor, room was decent sized, small balcony with enough room for the 2 of us and table, chairs. bathroom was tidy enough, small bath, reasonable shower, w.c and bidet, and basin, only minor moan was that the hot water was fed through a water heater the size of a microwave so filling a bath or taking alternate showers resulted in water running out.
Kitchen had the usual 2 ring electric cooker, fridge freezer, microwave, seemed to have all the basic cooking stuff but we ate out every night so didn't use it much. no kettle, I assume you have to rent one but save your money and boil water on the hob. T.V with no controller, I assume you have to rent this as well but why would you come here and sit inside watching crap when theres so much to do here? cleaned daily except sun. no complaints about anything, You get what you pay for! and we did , a decent enough room with no frills, great location for beach, Kasbah, Yumbo, would stay here again

Room Tip: turn right out of hotel and use 76 steps to beach or turn left then right and there is a lift. top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for one week, as we have been to Playa Del Ingles a lot we knew that the location was spot on. Close to the beach and the Kasba centre where most of the night life is. We paid for a studio apartment but when we checked in none were available so we were given a one bedroom apartment at no extra cost. The man on reception was lovely as was the man in the snack restaurant. The rooms are cleaned frequently with fresh towels and bedding and the pool area was spotless and got the sun all day. There is no entertainment at these apartments so bear that in mind but they are a great base with good self catering facilities.

Room Tip: pool facing is best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed her in June 2013, in a group of 5 girls - this hotel was perfect for us! The apartment had two bedrooms with two beds in each, which meant one person had to sleep on the sofa - fortunately, they didn't mind this and just moved all the cushions onto the floor. The apartment was clean and a nice size and we had bed linen and towels change twice in the week we were there. The only downside was there not being enough towels for all of us - with being a four person room (although paying for five people) we were only allocated enough towels for four people, which meant sharing :o(. The hotel is in a perfect location for the bars and clubs, a quick five minute walk - unfortunately this included passing a corner that a lot of people seems to use as a toilet. The beach and a whole new set of pubs and restaurants is just another 5 minute walk in the opposite direction. all in all, perfect location. The pool area was clean, although it can be a struggle to get a sunbed so it may be best to reserve a few early in the morning (other guests would lay their towels the night before!). The hotel manager was brilliant for us, on our last day, we weren't due to leave until about 5pm and had checked out of our room at 12pm, meaning five hours of waiting. He opened up a reception room for us to leave our bag in and we spent the afternoon at the pool. He then opened up a shower room for us so we could freshen up before our flight.
The only downside to the hotel would be the rep - DO NOT book anything with him! He charges a fortune for pub crawls that you can join in for free! Ask him about them when he greets you but don't be fooled into handing over any cash!

Room Tip: Rooms above the thrid floor are best - some floors are either on pool level or below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived back from the Guinea apartments on the 2nd of July 2013, and by all means was the best holiday ever! Location was spot on, a 2 minute walk from the clubs and the same with the beach. Wouldn't be suitable for families, more of the younger crowd as there was after parties and late night pool festivities. We got told to keep the noise level down at some stage but ithe security man was fair. We hired out a safe to keep our personal belongings in, we paid a deposit of €12 for it. Made great friends also and the man Hector on reception was so helpful! Overall, a great place to and would 100% go back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor- leads a walkway out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

all in all we had a great holiday but I wouldn't stay at the guinea apartments again due to there lack of security although we payed to hire a safe on our last evening because the reception closed at no7pm we had to return the safe keys to reception before they closed or we would lose our deposit this was all well and good but as our flight was 7am that next morning we had to leave our valuables in our packed cases ready to be picked up at 4am by coach . As this was our last evening we no choice but to leave our cases in our locked room .after having our last meal out and a great last night on holiday we returned to our room only to see a stranger emerging from our room and running away down the balcony . All our money and other valuables had been taken .as the reception was closed we call the police only to be told that they would not come to our apartments and if we wanted to report the break in we had to go to the nearest police station thank god we had insurance .the police where great and gave us all the paper work we needed to make a claim.but we where all in agreement including the police that this was an inside job and that they knew that we where leaving that night and we would be packed to leave .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guinea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Apartments

Address: Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guinea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guinea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guinea Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Guinea Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinea Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.