We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL LOCATION FOR THE BUDGET TRAVELLER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guinea Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guinea Apartments to your Saves list
Guinea Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
accrington lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“IDEAL LOCATION FOR THE BUDGET TRAVELLER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of june for 11 days and i have to say for the price it was superb value for money.Great location, clean , comfortable . sea views and slap bang in the middle of this action packed resort. Yes some noise from the younger population and a few late night pool parties to contend with . But hey if you are on holiday who cares.Fantastic little kitchen with microwave and family sized fridge freezer large terrace with sea view and rooms cleaned daily to a very good standard.Guy on reception was the most helpful guy i met in such locations when out toaster packed up on a sunday morning we had a replacement within half hour.Dont go if you want peace and quite. Dont go if you are offended by the gay and bixesual community and dont go if you want to be tucked up by midnight. However if you want fun and be near to the action ideal for children say over 11 who wont be in bed early and a 5 min walk to the beech then book now .

Room Tip: high floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
30
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had the worst stay I've ever had ANYWHERE. The rooms were adequate, to be fair. However, the cockroaches were intolerable. The noise of a night was, again, intolerable. The people who stayed there - for the most part intolerable. Lack of aircon... Yes, intolerable. We had to complain persistently about the lads who kept throwing glasses/bottles form the top balcony into the pool area, and they were eventually removed. The lack of staff presence was a problem. The same group of people antagonised everyone else. It was a relief to leave this hotel. I would only return if they attracted a higher caliber of guest and brought in aircon. They need some staff to have a look around every now and then too. The surrounding area isn't particularly pleasant either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Guinea apartments are basic but are very clean and very central to the beach and strip and not a far walk to the yumbo center. Stayed from 25-6 to 2-7 and cleaners were around everyday except Sunday which we didn't mind. Wouldn't recommend these apartments for someone who isn't a party animal as they are suited to younger people. The 2nd day we were there electricity went out in the whole street and surrounding apartments. Few hours later was sorted but this was not Guinea apartments fault. Not a lot of hot water but Playa del Ingles is so warm a cold shower is heaven! I would def stay again if I was to go to Playa del Ingles!The man on reception, Hector was very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed from the 17th june 2013 - 24th june 2013.
apartments were very clean and had everything you needed for the stay. Only went to the pool 2 times as it was full with people reserving their sun loungers with towels. :( WIFI you needed to pay for and a deposit for the tv remote also.
Its was very noisy at night time with people playing music till 4:00am. the security staff had to tell people to turn the music off. the walls are very thin. Best to have an apartment right at the top so you don't hear people above you banging around. the bar is small but cheap for snacks and drinks, the bar says its open from 9am but it's usually a bit later than that. and closes at 7pm Towels were changed every time the cleaner came we just requested them to be changed. overall the guinea apartments are good value for money and situated in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: when leaving the apartments turn right not left as you will end up in kasbar with touters all over y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just arrived back from these apartments on 20th June. The apartments are clean, although I was bitten several times but that could have been when out and about. The towels and bedding eh were changed regularly. The pool bar was ok for snacks and cheap but you do need to be down to get a bed early or reserve it with a towel!

The apartments are very noisy at night in particular and full of Spanish and Irish groups. One of the nights the security were around to tell them off for going into the pool late at night. Between the rooms was also very noisy and you can bear every move.

The apartments are great value for what we paid however they could be doing with someone on the reception all day and night to try keep the place under control. The receptionist on arrival was very cheery and helpful also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our group was 2 adults and a sixteen year-old boy. We stayed in room 509 on 8/6/13 to 14/6/13.
The rooms were clean, with just minor signs of age showing if inspected closely. All rooms appear to overlook the pool and the higher the floor, the better the view over the resort/sea. the 5th floor being the lowest for any view of the sea.
Linen was changed twice. Our shower was superb, 'stinging' power and no shortage of hot water. The bath is 3/4 size but the Bidet was a nice touch
The kitchen facilities were good, if a little cramped, a decent fridge, double hob, microwave, toaster and plenty of crockery, glasses, cutlery, pots and pans etc. Apt's come with a coffee maker, request a kettle if that's your preference.
A small charge and deposit is payable for a safe key (a must) and for a TV remote (a film and 2 news channels in English, a couple of German and the rest of course, Spanish)
The Bar/Restaurant opens late (10am, if the guy who runs it is not late) and appears to close early (by 7pm, although we did avoid it after our first visit). The menu is very limited, the food is poor, the coffee is diabolical. This facility is run by a separate business, so don't expect apartment management to be too interested in complaints.
Hektor(sp) on the front desk is very helpful with requests, but is limited by his working hours (10am-1pm & 4.30pm-7pm).
The apartments are very well situated with several shopping/restaurant venues within a short walking distance (5 minutes or so to the biggest (Yumbo)), once you work out the shortest route. Not easy with the road/cut-thru layout). The beach and a Bar/Restaurant/Shopping area is located just a couple of hundred meters away via a substantial set of steps. The closest shopping centre had to close whilst we were there, as there had been a fire overnight, in which a restaurant had burnt down .
The pool is perfectly adequate, just be aware, the sun-loungers tend to be 'reserved by towel'. There appears to be no control over this, so when in Rome . . .
The apartments are popular with young people and as such, the noise levels after 10pm and into the early hours can be very elevated, with 'hi-jinx' in the corridors and pool/area. An off-site call-out security service is available but i don't think it has any 'teeth'. One young lady we spoke to (and it IS the ladies who are noisiest) had security at her door 3 times in one night!
Unless you are a heavy sleeper or have experience of psytrance festivals, you are likely to lose sleep.

In all, the Guinea Apartments are good value for money, well situated, and despite the shortcomings mentioned, we would return.

Room Tip: Highest floors for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

just bk from 1 wk here,apartment was spacious and very clean,good value for moneTy and next to everything.The only down side to these apartments are the noise at ngt wit the youngs ones drinking an playing music till all hours........so u want some where quite u pay for it...................
over all it was enjoyable an will return.......:::)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guinea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Apartments

Address: Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guinea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Guinea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guinea Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Guinea Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinea Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.