We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guinea Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guinea Apartments to your Saves list
Guinea Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“2 couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

very clean idea spot if u wanna go for walks close to beach, and shopping centres take ur own kettle and hair dryer pool was cold but that didnt bother us had a lovely holiday rooms were comfortable
DOWNSIDE: the pool bar and restaurant are down a flight or stairs under the pool
but it wasnt open all week we were there

would reccomend for couples only

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool but ask for a HIGH FLOOR for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
30
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good Value. Clean, Pleasant staff, Brilliantly located for beach and all apartments face the sun until about 4pm (february). Didn't have a kettle and that was quickly resolved and I was informed the scandinavians who usually frequent the hotel prefer coffee. Close to shops (3min walk) and restaurants. Downside 2 bedrooms = 4 single beds. Not the end of the world but a double would have been nicer. Mattresses could have been more comfortable - felt inexpensive to lie on!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just been for christmas had a great time the apartment are great the pool is good god it's cold in December . The only criticism is the room / pool door was not very secure and bed room window but loved the location of the room and very close to the beach

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location-wise the hotel is spot on: only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and also to the nearby shopping center. One could think that due to the location the hotel would be noisy and restless. One would be wrong: we spent a week there and music bothered us only once, on the first evening (as we were travelling with a 11-year-old we did go to bed embarassingly early).

The apartment itself was quite roomy (two bedrooms, livingroom + open kitchen area, bathroom, spacious balcony) and well equipped (fridge, freezer, stove, toaster, coffee maker and, yes, even a microwave, not to mention assorted pots, pans, dishes etc - the TV set required coins to operate though, but we didn't find this a problem since we didn't use it). Safety box was located on one of the bedrooms and you could rent a key for it from the reception. Basic stuff.

The rooms & the balcony had basic furniture; nothing flashy & somewhat worn but totally acceptable for the price bracket. The rooms (except for one of the bedrooms) & the balcony also got a fair amount of sunlight which was very nice. The balcony itself was quite large and well placed, so much so that we pretty much split our waking-hours hotel-time between the balcony and the pool area. The rooms were also quite warm and not at all damp (as so often is the case on seaside resorts).

Housekeeping was totally adequate: the trash got taken away & the floor was swept daily, the towels were changed twice during the week. Even the dishes were washed once, even though the posted info sheet said that they would't be. No complaints here.

We did have a slight problem with the kitchen water heater which was leaking and short-circuited the electricity cutting all power in the room. Mentioned this to the receptionist and 30 minutes later the whole heating unit was replaced with a new one. No more problems during the rest of the holiday. Good show.

The pool area was roomy and - most importantly - received a decent amount of sunlight for the most of the day. The pools (there was a small & shallow one for the smaller kids and a larger one for others) were clean and the whole area was cleaned every morning. What was especially nice was the fact that some of the rooms were rented by (semi-)permanent residents. In practise this meant that the pool area was never crowded and one could always find a free deck-chair; none of that infuriating "I'll-reserve-this-chair-with-my-towel-even-before-sunrise-and-raise-hell-if-someone-so-much-as-touches-it" -stuff. OK, I admit that the water was rather cold - but as I understand, heated pools are few and far between in the area.

As mentioned in other reviews the reception was open only on certain hours and there was no restaurant at the hotel. We didn't find this a problem: we really didn't need the receptionist for much of anything (except the water heater -thing) and there were enough restaurants to choose from within a few minutes walk.

All in all: we were quite happy with the accommodation and would recommend it for all like minded budget-conscious and self-reliant travellers.

Room Tip: All balconies face south/south-west. Sunlight-wise apartments on and above 2nd floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The only fault i had the entire week we were here was i would have loved a Kettle.....but thats only because im irish and i really was feeling lazy...but other than that it was perfect....Reception closes at split times, it opens in the morning at 09:00 and closes at 14:00 and then re-opens at 14:30 and closes again at 21:00...if you are arriving after that there is a sheet stuck on the wall to the right of the reception desk that has a list of all the arrivals and names and when you get to your room your key will be in the door for you. there is also an emergency number while you are there.

the rooms are cleaned every second day and to be honest one of the days i told the lady it was fine because the rooms are so big we were all just hanging out in the living area so we cleaned up ourselves. there is enough of everything in the room...(plates, cups, cutlery, pots, pans, cleaning utensils, glasses)....dont forget to plug the fridge in when you arrive though. you also have to pay for the T.V but the only time we watched it was in the morning when getting ready and its about €1 for 2 hours so the change from the night before came in handy.

EVERY review ive read complains about the pool bar so ill clear this up for yee...it opens 11-16:00 roughly.....if there are people around she will leave it open later. she as an absolutely lovely woman and it was the only place while we were there that gave us Black Pudding with breakfast.

other than that the place was perfect. and if you need directions just go out and left to get to the Kasbah, right will take you to the Beach. and if you get lost get a taxi, make sure to ask the rough cost before you get in so you dont get ripped off.

AND MOST IMPORTANTLY.....when the reps are asking you to go on booze cruises and pub crawls....DONT, they are just a RIP OFF and to get them to leave you alone just tell them you are heading home in a few hours...

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was surprised at for the money how nice the hotel was. The living area was big, so were the rooms and bathroon, and the kitchen area had everything you need (fridge-freezer, plates, bowls, cutlery, glasses, cups, saucepans and frying pan and toaster). There is a coffee maker that we used to heat the water or we used a frying pan. The wardrobes were big and there was a safe in the room. The balcony was big too. The beds were a bit hard though.
The pool was lovely too. Overall the hotel was nice and we would definitely book there again.
There was a pool bar and restaurant which never opened while we were there. The manager said it is run by separate people and they have no control over when it opens. The reception is only open part time but it was fine for us and we had no issues.
The location of the hotel is great. The Kasbah centre is a minute walk and you cant hear it for noise at night, the beach is very close and it was a 2 euro taxi ride to the Yumbo centre.
I think you could stay at a 1 star and a 5 star hotel and have annoying guests elsewhere in the hotel!!! A few nights it was noisy for ignorant selfish people coming back drunk after a night out which was frustrating, but thats not the hotel's fault, hence why not marking the hotel down for it.
We loved gran Canaria, and loved the Yumbo Centre even more. You must got Rickys and Sparkles Cabaret bars, they were amazing.
Being a Euro country I was concerned for the prices for things (1.22Euro to a pound). Going to the supermarket to get bread, milk and sarnie fillers for the fridge in the room for breakfast and lunch was what we did and best value. Restaurants varied depending on quality. They have restaurants where a steak and chips were 8e and places that were 20e.
Alcohol was a bit dear. A vodka and coke was 4.50e but the measure was beyond a quadruple measure!! A pint of lager was between 4 and 4.50e.
Overall we loved Gran Canaria and can not wait til October next year to go again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

rooms filthy,staff rude,beds not changed unless you keep asking,lots of the apartments are privately owned so dont expect to get any sleep till after 5 am,but the constant police presence should make it feel safe but it dont . no reception between 1300 and 1630 or after 1900 few sunbeds only 3 parasols bar never open no entertainment lots of germans and spanish.

Room Tip: 7 floor best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guinea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Apartments

Address: Calle Helsinki 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guinea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guinea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guinea Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Guinea Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinea Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.