We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Buenaventura Hotel to your Saves list
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ganigo 6 - Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Favourite Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My family (nine adults and three children) stayed AI at the IFA Buenaventura for 11 nights in November / December.

Having read lots of conflicting reviews we really didn't know what to expect. Thankfully the reviewers allaying our worries were right!

Our spotlessly clean room was large enough for four of us to sleep comfortably. We had a nice big bathroom with a decent shower. Extra pillows and extra towels were promptly provided when i asked our lovely cleaner Victoria (Morrena i think?) who cleaned our room every day we required. I would have loved air conditioning but it was bearable (just) at this time of year. I wouldn't go anywhere in the summer months to a hotel without air con...

The hotel and the hotel grounds are well kept and there are plenty of staff available when needed. The reception staff are always keen to help, check in/out were quick and efficient.

There are three pool areas at the hotel, a busier pool which held activities throughout the day, a quieter pool which had some more relaxing activities and a tiny babies pool which was next to a little play park. We spent lots of our time around the quieter pool, not because we didn't want to join in the livelier activities, but because our kids were safer and enjoyed the smaller 'bubble' pools in this area. The two main pool areas have bars which you are able to get drinks from. The water in the pools is cold but you soon get used to it :)

When you check in you are given a time slot with which you can go for dinner. Three slots are available, 6.30, 7.30 and 8.30 Our hour was 8.30 which was too late really with kids, but we were able to change our slot to 6.30 when we asked at reception. Getting seats at mealtimes is a bit of a struggle but you always eventually get somewhere. Some people queue from 6 which causes more queues at the food counters and you do have to have a little bit of patience....at the end of the day you still get a table and still get food. Having fussy eaters for kids, it did get a little bit monotonous for them but they always ate something and were happy with being able to eat what they liked without Mam and Dad moaning! For us adults who enjoys meat, fish, pasta, salad, fruit etc etc, the food is pretty good. It was a bit samey what can you expect? There was always something I liked :)

Breakfast was served till 11am, then a snack bar opened from 11ish, and then nibbles were always on offer then it was dinner time!! You could all day if you really wanted!!

When we were at the IFA, there was one all inclusive bar which was closed, but there were three other AI bars available. One pool bar (Banana Bar) was open till 6pm. Antonio seemed to serve here most days and at first you'd think he was a grumpy sod, but once you got used to him, he was a grumpy sod who could have a laugh too ;) The other pool bar (Honolulu) was a good bar to have a few early evening drinks. This was open all day and night. One evening we spent the night chatting and having fun with Anthony and Radu, the barmen. Anthony was a wannabe magician and Radu, in his own way a funny guy. The main AI bar is Bar Freddy's which was a large bar near to the large pool. There are plenty of staff who are eager to please. If you like you can get drinks brought over by the friendly waiters, every one seems to be happy in their work (this is true of the ladies in the snack area and the restaurant staff) and will stop and chat and share a joke....just remember to tip occasionally. Unfortunately i can't remember the names, but they are all great! There is a bar near reception which we didn't go to which wasn't all inclusive, this had entertainment on some evenings but wasn't our thing to be honest. The other bar, again not all inclusive, was the British Bar. This was open late evenings and had a singer on, Bryan. He was a good singer and it was worth it to pay for a few beers and to stay up a bit later for. Daisy behind the bar was lovely too. Most footie games can be watched here as can be throughout the hotel if you wish.

The entertainment team were excellent! They put loads of effort into everything they did and always with a smile. As a group they compliment each other so well. Yunior (crazy), Marina (great dancer & gorgeous), Anna (hardest worker & gorgeous), Giovanni (super friendly & gorgeous), Mike (fun but left now) and the German DJ (sorry, name escapes me) are all excellently kept in check by Kitti (the boss & gorgeous)! Just help them out and try to join in their games and activities! The evening entertainment was good, especially the Queen tribute we got to see. The shows put on by the entertainment team were great fun too, especially the horror show which i swear is the only time my son sat still!!

The hotel is mainly German people, there weren't many Brits. Now, i'm not for stereotypes, but....there were a lot of old naggy Germans who wouldn't know fun if it smacked them on the nose. Let them have the best sunbeds right up to the edge of the pool and let your kids splash them when they jump in. Just try to ignore the horrible ones, try to involve them (as i did), talk to as many as you can because you will find some lovely ones too (as i did).

In summary....we had a lovely holiday, in a lovely hotel at a lovely time of the year. We met lots of lovely people who made our holiday memorable, especially the entertainment staff! We never go back to the same place, but this could be a hotel we may return to....even more so if air con was installed and the entertainment staff were still there!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Sexdick,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor and for the high valuation you have given to us. We are very pleased to read you spent a very relaxing and peaceful holiday among us in December and also that you enjoyed the selections of our buffets, Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Pool Bar, the room and the room location, the pools...Our entertainment staff will be very proud to read your nice comment about their friendliness and service; this positive feedback is the strongest motivation for all of us! .

We send you warmest regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    612
    314
    99
    59
See reviews for
378
583
58
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family (nine adults and three children) stayed AI at the IFA Buenaventura for 11 nights in November / December.

Having read lots of conflicting reviews we really didn't know what to expect. Thankfully the reviewers allaying our worries were right!

Our spotlessly clean room was large enough for four of us to sleep comfortably. We had a nice big bathroom with a decent shower. Extra pillows and extra towels were promptly provided when i asked our lovely cleaner Victoria (Morrena i think?) who cleaned our room every day we required. I would have loved air conditioning but it was bearable (just) at this time of year. I wouldn't go anywhere in the summer months to a hotel without air con...

The hotel and the hotel grounds are well kept and there are plenty of staff available when needed. The reception staff are always keen to help, check in/out were quick and efficient.

There are three pool areas at the hotel, a busier pool which held activities throughout the day, a quieter pool which had some more relaxing activities and a tiny babies pool which was next to a little play park. We spent lots of our time around the quieter pool, not because we didn't want to join in the livelier activities, but because our kids were safer and enjoyed the smaller 'bubble' pools in this area. The two main pool areas have bars which you are able to get drinks from. The water in the pools is cold but you soon get used to it :)

When you check in you are given a time slot with which you can go for dinner. Three slots are available, 6.30, 7.30 and 8.30 Our hour was 8.30 which was too late really with kids, but we were able to change our slot to 6.30 when we asked at reception. Getting seats at mealtimes is a bit of a struggle but you always eventually get somewhere. Some people queue from 6 which causes more queues at the food counters and you do have to have a little bit of patience....at the end of the day you still get a table and still get food. Having fussy eaters for kids, it did get a little bit monotonous for them but they always ate something and were happy with being able to eat what they liked without Mam and Dad moaning! For us adults who enjoys meat, fish, pasta, salad, fruit etc etc, the food is pretty good. It was a bit samey what can you expect? There was always something I liked :)

Breakfast was served till 11am, then a snack bar opened from 11ish, and then nibbles were always on offer then it was dinner time!! You could all day if you really wanted!!

When we were at the IFA, there was one all inclusive bar which was closed, but there were three other AI bars available. One pool bar (Banana Bar) was open till 6pm. Antonio seemed to serve here most days and at first you'd think he was a grumpy sod, but once you got used to him, he was a grumpy sod who could have a laugh too ;) The other pool bar (Honolulu) was a good bar to have a few early evening drinks. This was open all day and night. One evening we spent the night chatting and having fun with Anthony and Radu, the barmen. Anthony was a wannabe magician and Radu, in his own way a funny guy. The main AI bar is Bar Freddy's which was a large bar near to the large pool. There are plenty of staff who are eager to please. If you like you can get drinks brought over by the friendly waiters, every one seems to be happy in their work (this is true of the ladies in the snack area and the restaurant staff) and will stop and chat and share a joke....just remember to tip occasionally. Unfortunately i can't remember the names, but they are all great! There is a bar near reception which we didn't go to which wasn't all inclusive, this had entertainment on some evenings but wasn't our thing to be honest. The other bar, again not all inclusive, was the British Bar. This was open late evenings and had a singer on, Bryan. He was a good singer and it was worth it to pay for a few beers and to stay up a bit later for. Daisy behind the bar was lovely too. Most footie games can be watched here as can be throughout the hotel if you wish.

The entertainment team were excellent! They put loads of effort into everything they did and always with a smile. As a group they compliment each other so well. Yunior (crazy), Marina (great dancer & gorgeous), Anna (hardest worker & gorgeous), Giovanni (super friendly & gorgeous), Mike (fun but left now) and the German DJ (sorry, name escapes me) are all excellently kept in check by Kitti (the boss & gorgeous)! Just help them out and try to join in their games and activities! The evening entertainment was good, especially the Queen tribute we got to see. The shows put on by the entertainment team were great fun too, especially the horror show which i swear is the only time my son sat still!!

The hotel is mainly German people, there weren't many Brits. Now, i'm not for stereotypes, but....there were a lot of old naggy Germans who wouldn't know fun if it smacked them on the nose. Let them have the best sunbeds right up to the edge of the pool and let your kids splash them when they jump in. Just try to ignore the horrible ones, try to involve them (as i did), talk to as many as you can because you will find some lovely ones too (as i did).

In summary....we had a lovely holiday, in a lovely hotel at a lovely time of the year. We met lots of lovely people who made our holiday memorable, especially the entertainment staff! We never go back to the same place, but this could be a hotel we may return to....even more so if air con was installed and the entertainment staff were still there!!

Room Tip: Room 261 was above the livelier pool and a generator at the back of the hotel seemed to be on all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for your kind review posted on Tripadvisor. It is a great satisfaction for all of us to read that your visit to our hotel fulfilled, all your expectations. We highly appreciate your comment regarding our buffets, entertainment, staff, pool areas etc ; be assured that your kind words about Radu and Antonyius and of course about our animation staff will be shared with all them. Thank you again for your time and, of course, we count on a 2nd visit as soon as possible. Warmest regards from the whole Hotel IFA Buenaventura familly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked a break here through Travelsoon in October. The room was clean and spacious and the reception and hotel staff were always happy to help. I’ve read about fights for sun beds but we didn’t have that problem (maybe time of year) but to me that would be a minor issue and it is easy to assign sun beds. We haven’t got any plans to come back but that is because we like to explore different places but would recommend this hotel for a break in October. We flew from East Midlands and didn’t have any issues with the flights or with the travel agent so all in all a good time was had.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Scott B:

Thank very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you spent overall relaxing holidays with us and that you relished our reception and hotel staff as well as the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel very soon and we send you sunny regards from Gran Canaria!

We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We (a group of 4 adults) booked an 8 night bed and breakfast stay in here in late August through OnTheBeach. We had two rooms on the 8th floor (the top floor) looking over the quiet pool - great rooms. Rooms were spacious, bathroom was all in good working order. The lack of air conditioning was a bit of a pain but as we were high up, we were able to leave the patio doors open all day. There wasn't any issues with noise, but if you are overlooking the noisy pool, you will have entertainment blasting out until about 11pm.

Two pools were both great - quiet pool had more children around compared to the noisier one. Although we went for a quiet holiday, we preferred the louder pool because a) it had more hours of sun and b) you could take part in activities as and when you wanted. Sunbeds were a bit of an issue. They were locked up each night but people would be outside waiting for them to be unlocked at 8.30 each morning. We would be out and sitting on them by 9.30am each morning so you could get them then, but be warned that people do reserve them!

The animation team were great, they always asked us if we wanted to do the activities - in the week I was there, I did aqua gym, yoga and shuffleboard.

Breakfast was more than sufficient with a range of cooked food, pastries, cereal etc. We only went bed and breakfast so I can't comment on dinner. There are plenty of restaurants nearby - the italian restaurant next to the supermaket was particularly good, as was the mexican a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the quieter pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Good morning,

All the staff of the IFA Buenaventura family would like to thank you for your commentaries about our hotel.

We are very proud to hear that our hotel is being appreciated for its facilities and services.

We do hope that in the future we may continue counting on your loyalty and be able to welcome you again very soon.

Cordially yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent holiday. All staff friendly and helpful particularly reception. Lack of air con wasn't a problem although I was dubious after reading previous reviews. Also, didn't find hotel noisy despite being on the first floor. It was a battle for the sunbeds although we always got one at all times of day and no different to any other hotel I have stayed in. Overall, an excellent holiday and the entertainment was great. Particularly Halloween. My daughter said it was the best Halloween she has had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear 573Michelle,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor and for the high valuation you have given to us. We highly appreciate your praise towards our reception service and entertainment and we all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible. We send you warmest regards from the seashore of Playa del Inglés!

We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

When we arrived our first impressions were good , check in went fairly smoothly all happy faces on reception staff, we got key to room 667, on entering room we got a smell of damp ,we went in further mildew on ceiling grouting black sink yuck. Went to reception[no happy faces] told them of the problem said sorry no rooms they where full. No air con, no fridge but could hire one ,well that was fine 5euros a day ,until they brought it to our room battered and dented and filthy in the extreme, bought some anti bacterial wipes cleaned it up only to find the water was warmer inside the fridge than out, needless to say we sent it back .Public areas of the hotel very clean dining room very clean, .. all the staff except the reception very nice and hard working, the reception very poor . And yes full scale battle for sun beds ,some people say the poor reviews are not founded but this all depends on the levels of cleanliness you expect from a holiday, you can only be your own judge . The room, lack of air con, lack of a fridge, added to the noise[even though we on 6th floor] made this holiday a poor choice we would not recommend it and we would not return

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms on the entertainment side of hotel noisy 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Good morning,

From the IFA Buenaventura Hotel we would like to let you know that we appreciate and thank you very much for taking the time to transmit us your opinion.

Suplou_22 We do regret that in your case it seems that we have not been able to come up to your expectations and we are really thankful that you have sent us your commentaries about our hotel’s reception staff and the room where you were accomodated.

We accept your opinion without discussing it and we would really like to welcome you again at our hotel in order to be able to show you that day after day we are working on our improvement. In any case, if you come back to Gran Canaria again, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can greet you personally.

Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a fantastic week at this hotel. Great friendly staff, gorgeous food, spotlessly clean. Bit of a fight for the sun beds but added to the fun! Great location. Read previous negative reviews but needn't have worried. Would recommend it to anyone.lack of air con didn't bother us in October but might be a problem in high season.

Room Tip: We were on 8th floor. Was quiet with good views. Good efficient lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Helen,

We are happy that you have spent a great time with us. Hope to see you soon again.

Best wishes from Hotel Ifa Buenaventura and all our Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Ganigo 6 - Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Buenaventura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.