We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Buenaventura Hotel to your Saves list
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ganigo 6 - Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
preston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just arrived back from a great holiday at this hotel. There were 7 of us, my husband and I, my two daughters and partners and my 6yearold grandaughter. we went on a jet 2 allinclusive weeks holiday. our rooms were lovely, large and very nicley furnished, the downside, and it was a downside was there was no aircon. we did end up sleeping with the balcony doors open, and my daughters hired fans, but all in all great room 626 , 621, 622, quiet pool view. It was one of the best all inclusives we,ve had. the drinks were better than great, the cocktails served in proper glasses, orange and cherry just that little extra touch. the snacks were amazing, There was a good selection of food in the diningroom to satisfy the fussiest eaters, wine and beer to accompany lunch and dinner. the dining room did get very busy at times,and you did feel a bit crowded, we did manage to get an outside table on a few occations and it was better. we thought on the whole the entertainment was good. whilst we were there dan had a birthday and we had told no one yet a bucket of ice with cava and two glasses were sent to his room, must have flagged up on his passport, what a lovely surprise and a nice touch. we would certainly go back, i would be a little hesitant at recommending to friends, only because of the lack of aircon, which could make sleeping unbareable, what a shame 4*easily

Room Tip: high floors 626' to avoid view of palms right outside balcony. this room i think excellent. no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear halffullPreston,

We would like to thank you for your kind opinion written on Tripadvisor after your stay in our hotel. We are very glad to read you had a very pleasant stay among us thanks to our room and our location on the quiet area. We are pleased our All inclusive service was to your full satisfaction as well as our entertainment. The whole IFA Buenaventura staff looks forward to welcoming you at our hotel for your next “sun break”!

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    549
    276
    89
    50
See reviews for
338
505
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was here September 2013 and had such a great time. I am a frequent visitor to Gran Canaria but is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. We booked half board where as we normally go self catering, and I must say I cant fault the food. Some nights its was nothing special, but overall I would say it was good. The location was ideal for the type of holiday we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Charlie B:

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor and for the high valuation you have given to us. We highly appreciate your praise towards our half board service and we all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible. We send you warmest regards from the seashore of Playa del Inglés!

We Hope to see you very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is our second time at this hotel, we arrived at hotel, mike greeted us and kept apologising because he could not find us on the system , he then went off to speak to manager who after 10 minutes she came back. I asked if there was a problem, she replied with a smile "No Problem" we were then asked what type of room we wanted which was all sorted for us! after 2 days we were asked to go to reception, only to be told that the company I booked the hotel through had gone bust, which meant our hotel had not been paid for! the hotel now wanted £900 for the weeks stay(only paid £800 for the whole package) we spoke to a few members off reception staff who were really helpful, after a little bartering with hotel manager he gave us a big discount considering the circumstances! which we were really pleased with! the hotel is really big so you need to make sure you request a room on lower level .The food is really good. The cleaner is amazing, the entertainment staff our great, and all the staff behind the scene do a brilliant job, we will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Anthony C:

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that your recent stay among us was to your full satisfaction and specially relished by our reception staff.Nice to hear that they were very helpful all the time that you need it and that they could solution all your problems. We will be looking forward to welcome you the soonest possible!
Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

JUst returned from a fortnights stay in this hotel. We are a family of 4 - two adults, 2 children 11 and 4. Children enjoyed the night time entertainment and the shows following were average. Drinks from the bar were fairly priced 3 euro for a pint of the local beer, 2 euro for a soft drink. The room we stayed in was a twin room so therefore we had to make use of a bed settee which wasn't the greatest. Maid entered our room on a daily basis but the beds are only changed once a week. Breakfast food was nice and plenty of choice however the bacon was danish and a bit poor. Evening restaurant was nice food however must say after a fortnight it was a bit predictable there was always a choice of pasta and pizza, choice of salad, fish and meats were always served with chips and a choice of vegetables with a different special every day. The only real down side to the restaurant during our stay was the varying rules, our first week stay was good we entertained during the day and came to the restaurant between the opening times of 6:30pm to 9:30pm depening on our arrival time back to the hotel and always entered the restaurant no problems (apart from once wehn we had to change in to t-shirts from vests). However the second week we were notified that we could only enter the restaurant at our designated time slot of 20:30 to 21:30. We did request to change this to an earlier time which was done but it was starnge that the rules seem to have changed from one week to the next or enforced. Anyhow overall this was a nice clean hotel however I must say that we were in the minority of English people and in the majority of German people. I would be a little put off by this to return to Gran Canaria at this time of year. Beach was about as ten min stroll however it can be quite windy on the beach and quite strong waves there are bays which you can walk to which are sheltered from the big waves which was better for our 4 year old but there is 128 steps to walk up or down to access. Good beach though when the wind is low.

Room Tip: If you are a family ensure a family room is booked not a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
- Dear Rachel G,

Thank you for feedback published on this important webside that is Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation.

We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff and management, and look forward to your next visit perhaps the next 2014 :)

Sunny regards,


With our best regards from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review poolside at this hotel, coming to the end of our holiday and don't want to go home :-(
Everything about this hotel is amazing! You don't go more than 15 minutes without seeing a cleaner somewhere, and it shows because the hotel is spotless!
The food is very good, always plenty of choice and the snack bar is also excellent, don't understand how people can complain about the food!!
The rooms are spacious and again spotless, the beds are very comfortable, I slept very well here!
And finally, the animation team, all I can say us what a hard working group of people, they work so hard all day and always have a smile! And as one review said, yes they do mime to the music in the shows they put on but come on, they are amazing!! Can't fault them at all!!
So over all, this was our first visit to this hotel and we are already planning our next one! AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Den1772,

Thank you very much for your nice word about the Hotel and staff, the animation team, the food and also the cleanliness

Our guest satisfaction during their stay at the IFA Buenaventura Hotel motivate us to work every day with major enthusiasm trying to fulfil all our guests’ expectations and needs.

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon specially as i saw that this time you did not want to back home :)

Cordially yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

For our first trip to Gran Canaria , we read up on all the reviews we could , this hotel was coming back with quite good reviews, so we thought we would give it a try ; we were not dissapointed , the hotel grounds ,and hotel itself ,and toilets were spotlessly clean, and kept that way all the time we were there by the very hard working cleaning staff, the maids never seemed to stop, and were always available if you needed anything extra in between your room clean: The hotel is very well positioned ,being just a nice leisurely stroll from the beach , or there was a regular free bus that you could take from the hotel; The swimming pools in the hotel were very good , and again ,kept very clean by the staff , Drinks in the bar were very good , with all kinds of spirits readily available , both local, and imported , the measures were , as you expect , large to extra large ; ice was bought -in , and not made from " tap " water ,so was very safe to have , ; The meals in the restaurant were very good ,and you always had a wide choice of cooked meats ,fish , or vegetarian options , with a mountain of salad stuff , you would have to be very hard to please not to find something good to eat there ; all served piping hot ,fresh made ,( never warmed up ) , same with breakfasts , all across the range from continental, to a " full English./.Irish " ...good bacon .!!! , Eating away from the hotel was good as well, lots of cafe' restaurants around the area : Entertainment on site was good , with the animation team offering lots of activities, and various competitions throughout the day, and putting on a show at night, or different acts coming onto site , singers ./. groups etc , all in all ,very good ,: If I had to make any negative comments , they would be , no Air-con in the rooms ( not even an option )and the Wi-Fi is very slow ( but free) or you can pay to use a computer in the reception area , this seems a little bit faster , and if you have a low ./.ground floor room ,your view out from your balcony will be very badly obstructed by the very mature palm trees , you need to be above level 5 to have any kind of view , The hotel overall was very very good , much more plus points than minus ones ,I would not hesitate to book another holiday there again , they catered very well for all kinds of holiday makers ,from young teenagers ,to young families , to people of my age 55+ yrs ,.

Room Tip: Go High !!! , vision is blocked by mature palm trees ,on any level from 5 to below , many lifts ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Lavinia58,

We want to thank you for choosing our Hotel IFA Buenaventura to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.

Always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality for service to our customers.

We we argue that our apartments quite liked them and all have been enjoying the cleanlinnes service, the food and the staff work, we promise you we will pass your comments also to our recectionist Elena.

We hope you come back soon and visit us and have the opportunity to enjoy unforgettable days again among us.

Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned back tonight from a weeks stay at this hotel....it was lush. The food was lovely something there for everyone. Animation team fab worked hard all day and until you yourself work long hours like they do and come out with a smile no matter what time of day should keep quiet. Pool area is lovely and no bother to get a sunbed just have to get out your pit. Fab fab stay didn't want to come home

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Joney B:

First we want to thank you for choosing our Hotel IFA Buenaventura to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
Always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work.In your case that positive comments about our food, animation team and the pool area. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality to our customers.
We hope you come back soon and visit us and have the opportunity to enjoy unforgettable days again among us.

Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Ganigo 6 - Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Buenaventura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.