We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eugenia Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eugenia Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de Gran Canaria, 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our two weeks in this hotel ... (I'm sorry this review is so late! )
Best to ignore the out-of-date prices, but this is what we found:-

A large and very clean room and a great view from the balcony:
Also luxuriant, manicured gardens around the pool. which must have been the LEAST COLD I have found in all the Canaries!
The hotel has been built to protect you from the strong prevailing winds. Even though there must have been 600 to 800 guests we always got sunbeds.
A good selection to choose from in the restaurant:
Free chilled water with your meal and also freshly-squeezed orange juice at breakfast. I recommend you try the delicious "cooked" meals, for example the chicken in wine sauce.
Reasonably priced drinks except during happy hour each evening when they were unbelievably low!!
Free chilled water around the pool.
Free internet café all day with plenty of PCs.
Free trial of the beautiful wellness centre. No-one tries to sell you anything! I recommend some crushed ice to rub over your skin when you emerge from the saunas! Press an underwater button when you are in the pool and see what happens!
Free bus to the beach several times a day. We took the last one at 3.15pm to avoid sunburn and came back by taxi for a few Euros.
Free entertainment:
Daytime stuff is low-key, crazy golf/archery/darts/waterpolo.The Animation team were good fun and professional.
Evenings were either budget shows indoors or dancing to a singer-musician outdoors.
Small supermarket and plenty of bars/car hire etc. more or less next door.
What was wrong with the holiday or the hotel? Nothing important really. The (eco-friendly) rather dim lights in our room and the décor in the public spaces (clashing colours/types of marble/mirrors) took some getting used to, but it was all clean and all the staff took the lead from their manager. Cheerful, helpful, respectful. A good hotel that was nearly/completely full with lots of people from all over Europe enjoying themselves... they must like it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    329
    110
    42
    13
See reviews for
219
397
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Have just come back from a wonderful week at this hotel. We found it slightly daunting when we first arrived and realised there weren't many english people and we were also two of the youngest guests there. Most of the guests were German and easily 60+ (we are in our twenties). This turned out to not be a problem as they were all very polite and all the staff spoke fairly good english.
The staff were extremely helpful and there was always someone available if you needed anything.
The food at the hotel is fairly basic, pretty much what you'd expect from a buffet stye restaurant but it was adequate enough and had a few variations each night. I particularly enjoyed the desserts! Also, drink prices at the hotel bars are similar to what you'd pay in England.
The room itself was spacious, clean and modern. Fresh towels given every day and three english channels on the tv but you only get given 1 pillow each.
I'd recommend the wellness centre which is incredibly relaxing and lovely if you have an overcast day to kill but be aware that there are a number of nudists at this hotel!
The rooftop terrace is very relaxing with a lovely view over the pool area and a jacuzzi but again, there is a nudist area. We didn't find this a problem but was still a shock!
Entertainment at the hotel is average. Live music late in the evenings is good but isn't on for long and the shows earlier in the evening are shockingly bad but would be entertaining for young children.
We would highly recommend a restaurant called Guarapo's which is next door to the hotel on the left. Brilliant service with a friendly feel.
We also enjoyed Mackers for an english feel, Rimini Restauranti Italiani and down by the beach is a good restaurant called Roma which has a brilliant Michael Jackson impersonator on twice a week.
Would definitely stay here again if i went back to Gran Canaria, the hotel accommodates for every need!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have just returned from a week stay on all inclusive terms at this hotel. I was initially dismayed when we arrived to see that it had a 3-star rating, but it is worthy of 4.5! The receptionist seemed genuinely pleased to see us on our arrival and this friendly and professional service was indicative of all the staff. The staff seem proud to work here and happy to serve you. Nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious and modernised to a good standard - although the corridors and bathrooms needs similarly updating. The maid service is perhaps a little substandard, with cleaning somewhat perfunctory rather than thorough. The towels have seen much better days! A fridge is available without additional charge.

The food is no better and no worse than your average hotel buffet. Except perhaps for the dessert table which is very mean, with meagre portions of the same limited choice. This is however more than made up for by a wide choice of ice creams and a very good cheese selection.

You can fill bottles up with drinking water very freely - I wasn't allowed to do that on my last all inclusive hotel - and get milk and other supplies to make tea or coffee in your room (I tiook a kettle).

There was no pressure on sun beds and the sun terraces are extensive. The undergoround spa is worthy of a five-star hotel. There is also a state of the art gym and an internet area with more computers than are needed, and free wi-fi.

The bars are good, and you can get most brands on the all inclusive tarriff.


Enough of the xenophobia and ageism expressed by previous correspondents! I think most of the recent correspondents are mistaking their Deutsch for the Dutch, who were predominant when I stayed here (5 - 12 March). Our friends from the Netherlands were a delight to be with. If people only want to mix with British people then I suggest that they don't go abroad. And yes, it was mainly 40+ - if you want younger people go in the school holidays or on 18-30 holidays!

I've stayed in many hotels in Gran Canaria over 25 years and this is one of the best - I will return again and often.

Room Tip: High floor on the north side if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Having stayed at the Eugenia for one week we will never be returning. The food was terrible, most of it look like it had been served for more than one service, the other residents were mainly German, which didn't bother us at first but we found them extremely rude and very ill-mannered! The hotel rooms are very basic, ours had a broken plug socket and no air conditioning at all, I would never stay here in high season. Our bed linen got changed once, which is fine but it was on our last nights stay which made no sense at all.
The good points are the beer is good, the staff were very friendly (apart from some of the women on reception on occasion we felt invisible) and polite and the Wellness centre, which made the hotel much more bearable and is the main asset to the hotel.
Overall our experience has put me off all inclusive holidays for life and I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here in feb 2012 and would never go back as think it should come with a rude and obnoxious 'german only' warning!! Plus unless you are 60+ dont even think about staying here!! Hotel was well aware before our arrival that this was our honeymoon but sadly this was of no importance to them and we didn't receive any special treatment whatsoever even when we asked to move rooms from a very noisy double room (well double mattress on single bed bases so not at all comfortable!) which had next doors bedroom window opening onto out balcony and the bathroom drains were very smelly; the only other choice was to a dark, little less noisy room, with 2 single beds just to get a good nights sleep!! The bedrooms are all located next to the main, badly carpeted and drafty corridors, so beware noise levels and foot stomping big problem!! Food ok but again catering for german tastes mostly! Bar staff friendly but often ignored unless tipping or german!! The Ala carte lunch bar and spa were only good features and Zanda one of the many reception managers! Gym equipment mostly old and out of order when we stayed! Weather was cold sadly too so rooms very drafty! A huge disappointment due to the sheer rudeness of the ill mannered Germans and a dark, dated hotel in need of TLC! Re the area: Playa del ingles didn't have much to offer and eating out in Yumba was disappointing and like being in a tacky backstreet market with shops mostly selling bad copies! A night at sparkles drag bar was amusing though! BEWARE of street scammers too saying youve won 5star prize!! BIG CON! Due to cloudy weather did lots of sight seeing (and to escape hotel) and thought Puerto Rico and Puerto Mogan were nice! Bus ride to mogan market was a scary one on mountain roads tho!! Even Maspalomas (a 20 min walk)was nicer and in faro it was amazing to watch sunset and for genuine designer shopping! I love canaries but will never go back here and will stick to fuerteventuta from now on!!!one last thing felt vey let down with Sunsavers our holiday bookers/recommenders so beware!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was our third trip to Gran Canaria and probably our best. We had stayed in 4* hotels the previous two times. Even though this was a 3* hotel we would say this had more to offer than the others. So much so we are returning in September for our fourth time and have booked this hotel again.
When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly face and explained everything in detail. We were very pleased with the size of our room. There was a large bedroom area with ample storage for your clothes, good sized bathroom and large lounge area with modern TV. You could convert the sofa into a double bed (which we did for most of the week) and there is a seating area. You also have a fridge which is ideal for keeping water cold. The balcony area is also ample size with all the balconies over looking the pool area.
The food was fairly average but plenty of choice throughout our weeks stay.
The Wellness centre is a must with loads to do and all free to guests.
The top of the hotel has a fantastic area for sunbathing and it's very quiet. There are two sections with a sectioned off nude section on one side. Me and the wife used this on several occasions and it never got too busy. I would definately recommend the nude side to anyone, even shy people like us gave it a go (it's not as if you'll see these people again and it's not just the older generation that do this) as something to do before you die. So liberating! There is also a jacuzzi in the other section of the rooftop but unfortunatley you have to have your clothes on to use. It's a shame the hotel doesn't have the whole of upstairs as a Nude area?
There is also a modern gym for your use. I never found the motivation.
The location of the hotel is great for bars and nightclubs. It is also in easy reach of the beach which is a must and there is a free bus to Playa Del Ingles beach. It is worth walking from Playa Del Ingles Beach all the way to the Lighthouse in Maspalomas. Just be warned that you may see the odd Nudist sunbathing. You could always hide amongst them and join in? The Dunes of Maspalomas are an adventure but make sure you have some water for those hot days. Not recommended for people who can't walk long distances or up and down hills.
Nightlife is good at the Kasbah but doesn't normally get going until after about 1030pm.
Looking forward to another great holiday at the Eugenia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

excellent food and hotel rooms all staff always happy wellness center free to all staying at hotel and good pace for a rest from the sun

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eugenia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eugenia Victoria

Address: Avda. de Gran Canaria, 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eugenia Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eugenia Victoria Hotel is one of the most popular 3 star hotels in Playa del Ingles and offers something for everyone with multiple attractions, sport and leisure. It has one of the largest SPA center of Playa del Ingles, with free access for clietents of the hotel. It also offers a free shuttlebus to go to the beach. The hotel has many modern facilities and a wide range of cuisine what make the Hotel Eugenia Victoria the ideal place for a pleasant and relaxing holiday. From a privileged location in Playa del Ingles, the Hotel Eugenia Victoria has excellent facilities and spacious gardens that help to make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. Playa del Ingles is the best known of the island of Gran Canaria tourist area with a lot of shopping malls and leisure facilities, great entertainment during day and nighttime and with a good public transport connection to all directions. There is a free parkingplace on the side of the hotel and wi-fi is free of charge and available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Eugenia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles
Eugenia Victoria Gran Canaria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eugenia Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.