We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Playa Del Ingles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles to your Saves list
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Playa Del Ingles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasn't expecting too much, but I was very pleasantly surprised with this accommodation. It's centrally located, the pool is lovely, the rooms were adequate, the solarium terrace was absolutely super.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    116
    120
    74
    119
See reviews for
82
147
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice simple hotel near the sea, few minutes walk to the beach. Great view to the sea from the upper floors ( 8-14 floors). Small kitchen with cups and plates and pots. I make my own breakfast, because I sleep late.

Near action and night life. Near Yumbo shopping center. There is a small food shop downstairs.This hotel is good value for money.

You can also eat in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast is 5 euros and dinner costs 11 euros.

Friendly stuff. Clean rooms. I always come here for 4 weeks in December from cold Finland and go home tanned.

Room Tip: Upper floors rooms have sea view. Rooms to south have more sun. One bed room room was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from the Corona Roja hotel. Much better than expected. Food was good most of the time there was something that we wanted to eat. Room was a good size with a balcony and always clean.

The swimming pool was nice but cold. This was possibly because it was early in the year. I have been to Gran Canaria four years ago stayed at a different hotel and pool was warmer although don't think it was heated.

Found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, especially Antonio, Carlos and Kay in the bar and Alex on reception. Thanks to all of them for making the holiday a good one.

The only bad point I would say was the entertainment or lack of it. A guy on a guitar and bad karaoke while eating dinner was not my idea of entertainment. Should be more varied and start later. Generally a very good holiday and would go back to this hotel .

Room Tip: Better views from top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just had & wonderful days at the Corona Roja, I had read some of the reports on this site after booking the holiday and was expecting the worst, reception staff very friendly and helpful, hotel tired looking in some areas but improvements in progress. food good but a little basic, pool area and gardens very impressive and clean. the only criticism i have is that you have to rent kettle and any other electrical items that other hotels have as standard.

Room Tip: If you intend using the beach, as a minimum there are 71 steps to go down, or use the back entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for a week. We arrive at the reception and were asked to print our booking paperwork off straight away we just assumed that if we were on their system it would and been fine like every other hotel we had been too....but they were making use this computer that u had to put thirty cent in a little slot but it kept saying it couldn't print so by the time we actually printed the papers we had spent about four Euro! The staff behind reception were extremely unhelpful and arrogant! .... WHAT A LOVELY WELCOME.the room smelt awfully strong of bleach and was extremely out dated... we had no balcony either. On our stay we were also accused of taking one of their tiny green towels! By a horrible arrogant Spanish man who worked behind the desk! The maid hadn't given us one towel back so my boyfriend told him that we hadn't been given it back and he said the maid said its gone! Which my boyfriend replied I having stolen it! when we left Here we got no good bye or thanks for staying it was more like a hostel than a hotel... pool area was nice so we spent most our Time here but the smell from the kitchen was like hospital food so we didn't try their food appart from a cheese and ham toastie that was awful..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I have been in several all inclusive holidays but this has got to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. All inclusive and I use that term very lightly. The food choice is very minimal the staff in the resteraunte are very arrogant and unhelpful. Alex on reception was excellent. This hotel catered for Germans mainly. The hotel is in a fantastic location but there are many others in the same area. I would never return to this hotel even if it was free. I have come here with 5 friends and unfortunately it was their first time at all inclusive so the impression they got wasn't good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

DON'T GO. I should have read more reviews. We paid the cheap price thinking it was because of the time of year. We arrived and were given a room that was probably for staff. Small window, no balcony and overlooked the bins etc which were emptied in the early hours. No sunlight at all. NEVER BEFORE had to put money in a TV to whatch it in an hotel. Very very dated. Ask for a better room but nothing available for 4 days. Large hotel but seems that most is privately owned. When we were "upgraded" the room was only slightly better. Food was edible but we gave it a miss a several times as it looked totally unappetizing. Even leaving food and eating out. I assure you I am not a fussy eater but on holiday I want to be spoiled a little. MOST staff were friendly. Hope this helps as you don't want to be disappointed as we were.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Address: Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.