We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles to your Saves list
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here may last year. With 3 friends hotel was nice was basic but nice room was clean bathroom was spacious. Balcony was massive. Would defo stay here again in the near future. Pool I was dirty and wouldn't go near it but luckily our two mates was stopping in the koka Apartments so we used there pool everyday but apart from that was a lovely stay and would go back again. There is a nice little supermarket underneath as well as a perfume shop and few other things but supermarket was great could get anything you needed out of there.

Room Tip: Higher floor better views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    116
    120
    74
    119
See reviews for
82
147
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

having booked this hotel back in feb it was only afterwards i thought of checking out some previous reviews of this hotel on tripadvisor and was quite shocked to see the pictures of previous guests but as the old addage says u get wot u pay for oh well booked now was my thoughts as it wis a lads holiday we wernt looking for 5* and thats exactly what we didnt get what we got was a surprise the room was not ready upon our arrival so we put our luggage in the luggage room which had no locked door anyone could wander in and just take ure luggage so we headed out to eplore for the hour or so before the room could be made up we came back expecting the worst having seen the photos of previous guests we made our way up to our room wondering what we would see upon opening the door to our surprise it wasnt one of the rooms like in some of the photos but a clean if sparten 1 bedroom apt large the bedroom was small but wat more do u need from a crash pad the living area was quite large with a kitchenette for self catering purposes but as theres barely a pot n a few utensils its pointless as theres thousand places to eat out from the cheapest to expensive so why would u eat in the couch/bed is not the most comfortable place to sleep it had a bed underneath it without a mattress so couldnd use thatjust as well ther was only the three of us in the oom the tv is pay as u watch metered costs a euro an hour with limited english channels the bathroom was fine it done wot it had to do the pools a disaster wouldnt go near it and it ends up in the shade freezing u have to get to it through the bar restaraunt arae so must dry before going through the restaraunt is based in the indoor pool area stange arrangement

Room Tip: u get wat u pay for so dont expext much think we got lucky with our room 1311 it was on side of bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Me and my mum stayed here for a weeks holiday in may 2013. the room we got given was clean and had a fridge and a balcony. we stayed half board. I WAS HAPPY IT WAS NOT ALLINCLUSIVE because the food was not great very little choice at both breakfast and evening meal. also you had to pay if you wanted a drink with your evening meal. No entertainment hardly at the hotel so would of been very bored if I was all-inclusive here. also the pool area needed work, it had chipped tiles and looked abit dirty. overall for the money I payed I got what I expected. playa del ingles is a great area try a different hotel maybe?? or stay here if your going self catering and intend to leave the hotel most days anyway. The hotel is in walking distance of the shops, bars and places to eat also the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just got back from gran canaria. We booked 9 nights at the corona Roja which is advertised as a 3x. All inclusive.we also requested a ground floor room when we booked.
When we arrived it seemed strange being the only people getting off the transfer bus. We went to the reception and we were given a room on the 15th floor at the very top. We went to the lift and couldn't get our 3 cases and 3 people in the lift. Wanting a drink after the travelling we thought we could have a cuppa when we got to the room, on getting to the room we found no kettle even though we read that it had a full kitchen. We found the smallest of saucepans you could ever get. Luckily we had taken tea and coffee with us as there was none there, we had got water and milk from the supermarket just outside the hotel on our arrival. The cooker in the room was a basic 2 ring hot plate which we managed to figure out how to use.
We went for dinner that night and I was appalled with the food. You had the choice of fish or chicken which I don't eat either, there was no veg, then there was rice or chips. My sis in law and husband both eat fish and they tried it and said it was disgusting, no flavour so they tried the chicken, same thing, no flavour. So we had to pay to go out for food.
Looking forward to going to bed again disappointed, the beds were like slabs of wood to sleep on and we had wind howling in the room all night so not much sleep.
We went to breakfast the following morning and we were shocked. We had a choice of a sausage or boiled egg. That was the all inclusive breakfast. The juice tasted like glorified water.
So again we ate out. Going to the restuarant there were pictures of full English breakfasts being advertised but not what you get.
When we went to see what they were doing for lunch it looked like the leftovers from the dinner the night before.
When we went to see the receptionist about our complaints she just held her hands in the air and told us it was 2x.
We spoke to some of the workers and they told us that the all inclusive side of the hotel was crap.
Good points of the hotel.
The view from the 15th floor.

Bad points of the hotel.
The food is not fit for humans, I feed my dogs better food.
Comfort of the room. There is none.
You pay 1euro for an hour of tv.
If you want a kettle, iron etc in your room you have to pay a deposit and then pay to hire them.
You have a pool in what they call the restuarant but you can't go in there wet.
There is no entertainment whatsoever.
The pool outside is dirty so we didn't use it.

The only thing this hotel would be good for is people who want to go out and get drunk every day and don't realise what the place is like.
We paid to be moved to a different hotel after being there for 2 nights.it was a choice of moving, jumping off the balcony or coming home as we could not take any more after 2 nights.

I would never recommend this place to anyone not even my worst enemies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuressaare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Did not enjoy this hotel. The pool was in the shade, the rooms smelt, the ceilings were leaking, there was cockroaches. :( Put if you going only to sleep for, then you don't die ... Ask room with a palkony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carloway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Before attempting to book this Palace of Horrors, please read the review by Abby E further down, because nothing could be closer to the truth, this is your worst nightmare...

We're a couple in our 60's who went with out daughter, son-in-law and their baby for a week self catering. There was no kettle, grill facility or micro-wave to cater with, but the appliance items could be "hired" at a cost. FFS. The door to our apartment (circa 200 sq.ft.) couldn't be opened from the inside without the key (Additional key deposit €10) because the release-lock was broken. The cupboard doors either didn't open or wouldn't stay closed, hence allowing you the chance to whack your shin off a press door....

It gets even worse, alarmingly so...We were on the 3rd. floor. Flushing the toilet was a gamble.
You pressed the button and prayed. I was practically sweating as the bowl filled and filled and swirled and finally sank back to a sustainable level. Frightening...
Mercifully we weren't on any kind of "all inclusive" package and having been warned about their quality, by means of a random enquiry in a local pub called Cheers, avoided any further horror.

The Management and staff (cleaning personnel excluded) are dour, un-helpful and totally lacking any concept of empathy or customer relation. I wonder do they have any relations at all, because I wouldn't bring any relation of mine there, even on a freebie...

I might send a sentenced distant cousin there in-definitely, a fate worse than death...

Fawlty Towers meets Auswitch....I kid you not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Did not enjoy this hotel at ALL. The pool was in the shade, the rooms smelt damp, the ceilings were leaking, there was cockroaches everywhere and i had a strange feeling there was gnomes watching over me!! I think it would be a good hotel for witches and other mythical creatures to stay in, not people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Address: Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.