We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value apartments!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles to your Saves list
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic but good value apartments!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my friend in September and we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had read pretty bad reviews for this hotel beforehand and were worrying about what to expect! But our apartment was lovely and clean, had a modern little kitchen and bathroom and everything you could need for a week's self catering. Yes it was basic but we knew we wouldn't be spending too much time in the room so that didn't bother us. The only complaint we could have had was we didn't have a balcony so the room got really hot but we had large windows that we could open wide. The pool area was clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds and room to swim. Also the pool bar served cheap priced drinks all day compared to the prices in other bars along the strip. The reception staff were friendly and helpful if you needed to ask them anything so we couldn't complain!
If you are looking for luxury then I definitely wouldn't go here but if you want a good value, sunny holiday then I would say go for it and ignore all the bad reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    116
    120
    74
    119
See reviews for
82
147
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me & my partner aged (22-25) have just returned from a week in playa del ingles we arrived @ 9pm were given the keys to room no. 200 opened the door and were horrified the room was like prison cell 2 wee single beds pushed together not even enough room to swing a cat in not even a balcony only 1 small window above the beds....marched right back to reception said we weren't happy with the room & was told to come back in the morning when the manager would be in...following morning I spoke to the manager Antonia said I'd like to changed room with a balcony I wasn't caring what view it had to my surprise I was told they could move us to another hotel at no cost which I didn't hesitate in taking....we were moved to the Green Field hotel 10mins up the road which was very clean, bright & we were given a room with a balcony from here we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our holiday.

Anyone looking to book this hotel please don't you'll only be wasting your money!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

11 of us have just returned from this hotel, we had 3 two bedroom apartments and yes they are very tired and in need of updating, but the rooms were cleaned 3 times in 4 days and the beds were clean, they are very basic but if you want 5 star luxury then you have to pay the price, dont go expecting everything to be luxury and you wont be dissapointed. the food was basic but edible and the staff were lovely, we didnt encounter one grumpy face and they always tried to help you, the supermarket on the complex has most things you need. there are plenty of sun beds round the pool there are a few tiles missing but was kept clean, the pool area does lose the sun early though due to other high rise hotels around it, but the beach is only a two minutes walk and sunbeds there are 2.50 euros for the day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in these apartments in November this year. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I was with two friends of mine. We were all inclusive and we took full advantage of the offer. In all honesty I wasn't overly impressed with the range of culinary delights, particularly the breakfast as I was usually stumbling in from some reputable dark room within the jumbo centre at 8am. However my sensible friends made up for me omitted that front. They inform me, whilst I was helping keep the lovely bar maid Kay busy, that for the price, the food was fab. Free drinks from 11am until 11pm......OMG! Well I can barely remember after having consumed my body weight of Bacardi and cola within the first two days. It was probably a blessing in disguise that it had only dawned on me, on our final day, that the sangria was free also. Great atmosphere, great service and a wonderful 'break' was had. K now resume my recovery position back in soggy old England. Gould blesh em all! Xxx

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from Gran Canary, and I am so shameful that I booked this hotel. They offered us a room without shower !! This is in 2012! The lowest class I ever stayed in. How is this possible?

Everything costs there, like Internet and even ordinary TV-channels !! Please stay away from this building. It is not worth beeing called a hotel.

Room Tip: Not a single room here is worth a penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not worth a single penny you would spend to stay here!
Room was tiny and clammy and smelt like sewage. Ceiling tiles were falling down, bed was broken, and flies were in the bathroom. Stayed in a room on the lower floors and generally felt really unsafe. One morning was woken by someone trying to get in the balcony door from the outside!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel really in need of updating, rooms small, walls paper thin,food not good, very little choice. Restuarant situated by in door swimming pool, very poorly laid out. Breakfast was even worse very little choice if anything left at all. Sun loungers very uncomfortable and majority broken.Would not stay here again but would return to island but find better accommodation. Weather super.

Room Tip: Go for a standard not studio. If going self catering be prepared to pay for kettle, microwave etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Address: Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.