We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit even better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Servatur Barbados Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Servatur Barbados Apartments to your Saves list
Servatur Barbados Apartments
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av de Tirajana 17 - 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2nd visit even better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Visited for a 2nd time this year and have to say it was even better than the first time!

Apartment was clean and did the job! Nice and cheap, very local to all the bars and clubs of the Yumbo Centre!

Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
23
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We travel a lot to Gran Canaria, each time 5 to 9 people, and this apartment is quite the answer to our accomodation needs, both by price and location. Free parking is not a problem as well, close to the appartment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Really enjoyed 5 days at the Barbados Apts. Brilliant location for local nightlife, and a few good bars within couple of minutes walk. Wifi a little patchy, but not too bad. Pools good with plenty of sun loungers. Definitely book there again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

tired and basic apartments supposedly for 6 people but that would be a nightmare, definatly no more than 4 people. have stayed here twice 4 years apart and little if any change during this time. no refurb, upgrade or modernisation done. no air co and it is almost unbearable when trying to sleep it is cleaned daily though and the location is ideal for the yumbo centre but there are better apartments very close by

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here in November. The hotel is in a good location and the apartments have two good sized bedrooms with plenty of wardrobe space. Large sitting area and well equipped kitchen with 4 ring halogen hob,full size fridge/freezer, toaster and kettle.
Considering its location I found it very quiet compared to many other hotels in the area(I was in Barbados2)
2 separate pools sharing one well run and well stocked pool snack/bar. I found the staff friendly and the gardens/pools are all well kept. Supermarket next door and plenty of bars and restaurants close by.
The only things that let it down for me were the very hard beds and horrible pillows which are just stuffed with cut foam and also the sunbeds which were hard plastic with no give in them at all and were as comfortable as sunbathing on a concrete floor.
If they changed the beds I would use again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

1st time styed in these appts and def look at again! Great location for Yumbo, local restuarants and beach easy walk. They are 2 blocks appts I think Barbados 2 where I stayed are the better block - just personal pref really! Well stocked pool bar run by the fabulous entertaining Becky! god size pools in both blocls pleanty sun beds too!
Appts well laid out nice size too! Cleaned 5 out of 7 days. Friendly reception staff 24 hour.
One slight thing though there is no free wi-fi there. You can buy it from reception - works out cheaper the longer you have it for but reception isn't great there anyway! Lots bars/restuatants nearby have free wi-fi!
Def look at styaing again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friends of ours stayed at Barbados last Christmas and we found a good deal with Travel Republic so thought we'd try it. We were on the first flight out of Gatwick so arrived in resort just before lunch. We hadn't booked a transfer but got the 91 bus from outside the Departures desk on the first floor of the airport for ���3.50; it drops you outside the Yumbo centre which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

As we were so early we asked if we could leave our bags but were pleasantly surprised to be told that an apartment was ready so we could check in there and then. A safe was available at ���18 for our 10-day stay plus a ���6 key deposit. Keep the key safe (no pun intended) as the charge for a replacement is ���180. The safes are located in reception which was a little annoying if you didn't want to take your safe key out with you.

The apartments are in 2 blocks next to each other. There are lifts to each in reception or you can walk from one to the other via bridges on levels 1-4. At either end of the floors are lifts and staircases down to the 2 swimming pools, you can also get out through a door to street level here (but you have to come back in via reception as the doors lock behind you).

The room was clean and spacious with a balcony, seating for 4 and a well-equipped kitchen with a microwave, kettle, toaster, 4-ring electric hob and a brand new fridge freezer. There were plenty of glasses, crockery and cutlery. The bathroom was clean as were the two twin bedrooms.

The apartments are cleaned 5 days a week (housekeeping staff have Thursday and Sunday off). I was a little amused by the fact that our bedding was changed on day 9 of our 10-day stay and not before then but the housekeeping staff were very friendly and efficient and the apartment was always clean. Whilst on the subject of staff the reception team were also all very friendly and welcoming, particularly Catarina (or Catalina?)

There's a bank with a cash machine immediately under the hotel, a well-stocked Spar next door and several restaurants in the vicinity, but I'll review those separately.

So far, so good but the reasons I haven't awarded a higher rating are:

I was reading a review on here that mentioned the lift not stopping on the 1st floor, then noticed that review was over a year old, and the lift still isn't fixed. Whilst you can get the lift up to the second floor and walk down the stairs, or get the lift in the neighbouring hotel and walk across a bridge, it shouldn't take over a year to fix a lift.

There's no air-conditioning. This was just about bearable in October, but I wouldn't like to stay here in the middle of summer.

Finally, the WiFi is truly abysmal. I was unable to connect for longer than 5-10 minutes at a time, and most of the time was cut off after 45-90 seconds. It then takes 15-20 attempts to reconnect. My friends' connections all dropped at exactly the same second so it's clearly a problem with the network. If the WiFi was free then I'd put up and shut up but at ���6 a day this is completely unacceptable, and incredibly frustrating. This happens morning, noon and night. The only thing that worked was losing access the second the period you had paid for expired: give it a wide berth!

All in all, if you feel the cold and aren't concerned about the WiFi then this is an amazing hotel. If these things worry you then you could still find a lot worse, and this is an above average budget hotel to which I'll definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Servatur Barbados Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Barbados Apartments

Address: Av de Tirajana 17 - 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Servatur Barbados Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The establishment has 91 apartments, all with two separate twin bedrooms (1-5 persons), lounge with sofa-bed. Fully equipped American kitchen and balconies overlooking the gardens.Located in the heart of Playa del Inglés, a few meters from shopping centres, restaurants, bars and discos. Thanks to its location, this complex offers the possibility to enjoy a great variety of services and activities taking place in Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Servatur Barbados Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Barbados Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Hotel
Servatur Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servatur Barbados Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.